We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was centered out because i was dining alone.”
Review of Trattoria Casa Mia

Trattoria Casa Mia
Ranked #185 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I was centered out because i was dining alone.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have never felt so unbelievably embarassed. I got there and i said just for one, the man(who i believe was the owner or manager). Rolled his eyes at me and said something in italian under his breath while walking away...

I than was given the menu and made my selection. He returned for my order and i asked for a water and beer, he was having trouble understanding becks and aqua, so i repeated myself. He than speaks extremely.loudly which caught everyones attention in the surronding area, "this isnt a bar you cant just drink here"and i said "if you let me finish ordering you would know i was here for.the food."

I asked him for a napkin, never seen it. I waited 15mins for a desert menu. Decided that other places deserved the cash more. Since he couldnt be bothered with me.

Absolutley the worst service i have received while in italy for three weeks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank brandie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    202
    44
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Service Required!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stumbled upon this place and decided to give it a go. Not impressed! Being out if season it wasn't that busy and we were seated straight away. It was another 10 mins before we were asked if we would like a drink. They even got that wrong! Not the best start! We skipped the starter dishes and went straight for the main. Pasta and Lasagne dishes were ok but nothing special. We then sat there for another 20 mins before anyone came over to ask if would like to see a desert menu. We eventually gave up and asked for the bill. The prices were low but I would choose a better restaurant next time! They didn't get a tip after adding 10% service charge!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pete3lions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level Contributor
87 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not so typical / not so good”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a dinner there with my wife in january, it is an average restaurant, nothing more nothing less.
The gnocchi were tasty, but the Fegato alla Veneziana and the fried vegetables were not so good.
You should avoid the dessert, it's frozen, not homemade.
The prices are fair for the quantity/quality.
Good for a rapid meal, not for a good evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThomasK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One word: AMAZING”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This restaurant was only a 2mins walk from our hotel so was perfectly located for us. The food is amazing and the price even better with the service being quick and also polite.

We had lunch here on our day of arrival - we had 2 (very large) pizzas at €8 each with 1 litre of house red wine for €10! House red anywhere in Venice is lovely but particularly here, we loved it!

We also had dinner here too - mussels to share to start with unlimited bread, steak for main with chips, I had the bolognese, then a tiramisu and a lemon posset for dessert plus 1/4 litre of prosecco and 1 litre house red wine. Cover charge and 10% tip was only €60! Bargain!

Please go to this place for excellent pizza and a quiet low key lunch or evening and I promise you will not regret it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauren1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our highlight of Italy”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stumbled across this little trattoria down a small alley on a Sunday evening and aren't we glad we did! The service was fantastic - all of the staff were extremely friendly. Our waitress was very patient with me attempting to speak Italian (even though we didn't need to). The food was the best that we ate in Italy - we looked all over the country for anything remotely similar but to no avail. Prices were extremely reasonable as well, great value for the food and service that we received.
I cannot recommend this place strongly enough - it was amazing and if I ever go back to Italy I'll definitely be returning!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jessieq28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Casa Mia also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Trattoria Casa Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing