We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive Restaurant in Dorsoduro without a View”

Al Casin dei Nobili
Ranked #1,098 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Attractive Restaurant in Dorsoduro without a View”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Conveniently situated near the popular Campo Santa Margherita this restaurant seems to have attracted some rather uncomplimentary reviews of late. I can only say that when we visited the place my wife and I were so impressed we returned for more and it became one of our favourite eating places during our four day visit to Venice.
The main restaurant gives the impression at night as being under cover while actually you are eating in the open air as the room has a large sliding roof. Some reviewers have mentioned there is a nice view but sadly this is not the case, and I feel they are confusing this place with another restaurant that does have a canal view and a very similar name.
This restaurant has a very lively atmosphere and is nicely decorated with lots of photos and paintings. The menu is extensive with many interesting Venetian dishes as well as a variety of pizzas. We chose a delicious starter of carpaccio of pineapple with prawns – a dish I had never seen before. For mains I had sea bass and my wife chose sea bream and both were of excellent quality. On another occasion we chose a steak which again was well cooked and delicious. The menu contains some quite unusual dishes that are not to be found in other restaurants of this type as well as a variety of excellent pasta dishes.
My only minor criticism concerns the service. The staff appear to be rushed and under pressure, which at times due to the numbers of people they are serving, they obviously are. They are a little unfriendly although I have to admit they were efficient and didn’t keep people waiting.
The prices were very reasonable for Venice with a good house wine at €13. A three course meal cost us around €40 a head which we felt was excellent value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    211
    127
    70
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

the resaurant has a large menu, with nice fish dishes. We ordered the mixed fish antipasto which was excellent, and the Orata filet with almonds, which was nicely done and delicate. I also took a seafood pasta with broccoli.I thought the broccoly was much overcooked, but on the whole it is a very good dish too.
They also serve pizza but only in the evenings.
The ambience is a bit too loaded with photos, pictures and decorations of many sorts, but interesting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yossi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX,USA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Giid seafood and garden”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Was staying at the Palazzo Stern and was looking for a quick dinner, nearby. I ordered the mixed seafood salad and the spaghetti with ink sauce. The salad had a variety of pickled fish and octopus mixed with potatoes on a bed of arugula- nice. The ink sauce had a subtle flavor that complimented the al dente spaghetti. My son and wife enjoyed the Margarita and Diavola pizzas. After dinner I was presented with a complimentary grappa. I'm not a grappa expert, but this particular variety was reminiscent of tequila-interesting.

Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerWantabe
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“It's become a tourist trap - avoid”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

When we first came to Venice several years ago, this was a favorite spot - lively setting, nice atmosphere, welcoming staff, good solid food. Our latest trip there was very disappointing. The wait staff was not welcoming at all. The atmosphere in the place was boring. The food was inconsistent - I had a good piece of fish, but my wife did not like the way her food was prepared and let the wait staff know, and they didn't even try to help us. I would not come back, and would not recommend you go, either.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Another tourist trap - sadly”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I think rhis place has changed hands. It ued to be good. Its still a great location but the food is very mediocre and the choice is very limited.
And everything is too much triouble so dont ask for separate checks or tomato with your cllam pasta. These things are straightforward elsewhere in Venice but not here. This is thevrestaurant that likes tp say No. Stay for the views if you like or go elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank BrianJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Al Casin dei Nobili also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Al Casin dei Nobili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing