We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Pizza in the Square !”
Review of La perla

La perla
Ranked #497 of 1,425 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Pizza in the Square !”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Took a wrong turn, and ended up circling back to this square. Decided to sit down and rest legs. Three of us had pizza, which was good, and another had a steak. The food was good, but if you fancy holding on to your cash, do not ask for beer with your food. 14 euro for a litre of beer, which put the price of the meal at 143 euro ( 3 pizza, 1 steak, 3 litres of beer, and 2 pints of beer ) Stick with the local vino, or take some beer in your bag :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcOMaoldomhnaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    78
    24
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ok for a rainy day”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We were getting lost in a different part of Venice and it was raining so we decided to stop here for lunch. Shared a pizza and a side salad. Food ok. Service from male owner a bit rough not bad just not friendly. Bill at end included cover charges and a service charge which added almost 4? about 20% of a simple lunch. Not unusual in Italy but this was more noticeable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good choice of large and excellent pizzas.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was around the corner from my hotel and I ate here twice during my stay. Both times I was served large sized, very good pizzas, reasonably priced, with attentive staff. The drinks prices and cover charge pushed up the bill somewhat, but, even after this, it remained good value for money, especially for Venice. The decor was fairly simple, but pleasant and the menu offered a lot of choice. I would certainly recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect pizza!!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

There were 5 pages of pizza to choose from the menu and the 4 we experienced were all fantastic!

We are here for dinner then again for lunch and both times it was simple, tasty and easygoing not to mention cheap.

For dinner my boyfriend and I had a pizza each (they are very very big), a dessert each, a litre bottle of house red wine, cover charges and a 12.5% service charge and the bill was €37.

This isn't a beautiful restaurant where you wine and dine, it's a nice pizza place with a good local atmosphere and lots of interesting wall coverings of film stars. It's simple and cheap and perfect for an easygoing couple or family who don't want to spend a bomb. We loved it, I'm sure you will too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't come if you have small children!!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had dinner here last night and couldn't wait to leave. The manager was rude and unforgiving of our 20 month old who was a little unsettled, and had messed up one of the table settings at another table and who had put finger prints on the window ( god forbid!). That being said the pizza was good but I wouldn't reccomend the spaghetti which was some of the worst we have had (even in Australia).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La perla also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
City of Venice, Province of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
City of Venice, Province of Venice
 

Been to La perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing