We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and effortlessly romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ranked #40 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location and effortlessly romantic”
Reviewed October 25, 2010

My boyfriend whisked me away to the Ruzzini Palace in the heart of Venice for my birthday. The hotel is grand looking, clean, classically Venetian and staff friendly and helpful. Our room faced the Square and was nicely decorated with a separate dressing room and bathroom and had beautiful exposed wooden beams on the ceiling. My only criticisms would be that 1) as beams adorned the ceiling, the room had no ceiling light and, as such, was quite poorly lit esp in the evenings and 2) due to the design of and natural slope of the building, when walking close to the windows the floor shook slightly. Even with this in mind, we had peace, quiet and comfort and good breaksfasts every morning. The hotel can arrange most things for guests inc. water taxis to Marco Polo Airport, advice and bookings re Gondola's/motor boats and even run a private complimentary water taxi service to the island of Murano (but be prepared for the hard sell re buying glass and crystal). They also run a return boat service back to San Marco from Murano. If you want to look around the island you'll have to take the public waterbus back. Also for a hotel of its class, I didn't think €4 was a bad price for a decent glass of red wine. What really sells the hotel is its location. Maybe 8 minutes walk to the Rialto Bridge with clear signs and 8 - 10 minutes to the main square. Perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fers1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    264
    46
    17
    10
See reviews for
187
975
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed at the Ruzzini Palace Hotel for 3 nights during our honeymoon. As soon as we arrived at the hotel, we were upgraded to a junior suite, which was beautiful. The hotel, which is a renovated palace, has a very interesting history. The staff was helpful, the breakfast was delicious, and the square in which it's located in is quiet but close to the Piazza San Marco. If you are looking for a cheap hotel, this isn't it, but it's worth a splurge. The hotel bar is also well priced -- a glass of house wine is only 4 euro. Overall, a great stay and I would recommend it!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovelydreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We loved the look of the hotel room - cozy yet modern. There was a little sitting area to have tea and look out of the window. The breakfast was delicious and was the best coffee I had in Italy. My only issue was that the front desk was not helpful and could be rude at times. When we asked directions to a restarant, he seemed annoyed and told us that it's not so easy and it was like "asking how to get to Central Park," to which we responded that, in fact, we can give him directions to Central Park from ANYWHERE in nyc if he wants. They also always stopped us when we entered the hotel to ask us if we were guests. I would think in a small hotel like that, they would start to recognize a guest after a few days. Other than the front desk, we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ariellez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Of all the hotels for this past Italian adventure, the location we most eagerly anticipated, and our final destination was the Ruzzini in Venice. As one who enjoys both traditional historic and also modern hotels, I was eager to experience the morphing of the two styles at one property. When well done, this can be an exceptionally stimulating and appealing environment. The property appeared in some way, a bit “souless” for me (and I really appreciate minimalist modern architecture so it’s not that it was too modern). The hotel photos give the impression that the public spaces and rooms are enormous, which they are not- at first I almost thought I was in the wrong lobby! We arrived early and were treated to cappuccino (gratis) in the bar area and were upgraded to a room on the upper floor (coincidentally the one that I actually wanted from the website) with small windows but a lovely view toward San Marco. The bath was small but adequate by European standards and the overall feel of the room was both rustic and modern which we very much appreciated. Being newly converted, the finishes are all neat and clean as anticipated although there appeared to be some wear on the room carpet. We visited the beginning of December and the hotel was almost empty which may have contributed to a sense of vacuity which the hotel seemed to have for me. The plus side was that we had the desk staff to ourselves and used their knowledge to experience more than we would have been able on our own- not sure if this would be the case in high season.

The hotel has continually increased in its rating and although it is an exceptionally nice property, I can’t believe that it deserves to be ranked so high compared with the other hundreds of options in Venice. For an off-season rate it was a steal (not sure if these deals are available any longer). Since I don’t have a huge breadth of knowledge about the hotels in Venice, I’d say you can’t go wrong, but I wouldn’t fret if you didn’t get to stay here- unless you can opt for one of the giant suites.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Great hotel, great location (but ask at reception for a map, the ones in the rooms are too small), great staff.

Booked here based on the reviews on "Trip Advisor".

Didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred_the_needle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The Ruzzini Palace is the perfect getaway to Venice accomodation. It's small enough to be a gem but looked after like a high end and well reputed luxury hotel. The location on one of the more quiet side canals is perfect for rides right up to the lobby dock (100euros from the airport) or for watching gondola rides go by as you read the morning paper. It has beautiful lounges with rich furniture and decor. Everything is pristine, clean and well taken care of. The breakfast spread is wonderful and there is a small but adequate bar for after dinner cocktails before retiring to your room. The location is a 10 minute stroll to all the action at San Marco and just a few turns from a lot of local boutiques and restaurants. The front desk staff provided us with a map and detailed directions to all the places we were interested in seeing as well as highlighting some restaurants along the way. They also suggested and set up a private boat ride for us in the evening for a complete viewing of the city of Venice by water, as well as a private trip to the island of Murano to check out the glass blowing. We were lucky enough to stay in the Royal Suite which leaves you feeling nothing shy of royalty. The bed is beyond heaven, your own salon for lounging with windows opening on the Plaza and windows over the canals on the other will leave us wanting to come back very very soon. Thank you Ruzzini (and Mario!)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeClaired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellysford, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

My husband and I travelled with anthoer couple and I have nothing but the best to say about Ruzzini Palace. We had a deluxe double room and it was amazing! Spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. The staff were courteous and friendly. The Concierge, Fredrico was one of the best! The breakfast was very good, and had hot and cold dishes. The Bar was great and Michael the barman was real fun to talk to and treated us special!! We would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranmalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 386 in Venice
1,784 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 386 in Venice
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#43 of 386 in Venice
1,184 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#32 of 386 in Venice
2,305 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruzzini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruzzini Palace Hotel

Property: Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Address: Castello 5866, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Venice
#23 Business Hotel in Venice
#28 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#29 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruzzini Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ruzzini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruzzini Palace Venice
Hotel Ruzzini Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing