We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a rare gem of a hotel in a city of many mediocre ones”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ranked #36 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Beautiful, historical building that has been redone as a design hotel. There are no spa or pool facilities, but since when do you go to Venice for that! The location is wonderful - about a 10 minute leisurely walk from St. Mark's and Rialto, but slightly off the beaten path so that you get some quiet and are away from the typical throngs of crowds. Breakfast is simple but adequate - Italy is not known for its breakfasts, so save your appetite for an exquisite lunch or dinner elsewhere. The room was beautiful - old (I assume preserved) woodwork mixed with modern touches, and a completely modern and very clean bathroom. Our room even had a walk-in closet/private changing area - a delightful touch, especially for the ladies with luggage :-)! And if you have some extra time, do explore the hotel! There's a really beautiful sitting room on the 2nd or 3rd floor with gorgeous ceilings and a grand piano.

The staff is very professional and somewhat old-school (in a very good way). They aren't there to chat you up and make small talk, but always ready to help and answer questions and make suggestions. All staff - concierge, hotel, restaurant, room - are very courteous and polite, friendly but discreet, and very professional but warm.

It wasn't the most expensive, but also not the lowest in price. A fair deal for Venice! (Of course, we were there in December during the holiday period, which is the lowest of the low season) Based on prior reviews, we decided to take the plunge and conscientiously payed more for this hotel. And from the first step into the hotel up to now, we have absolutely no regrets in having done so.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heyburdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your lovely review; our hotel and services have been much appreciated.
We do hope to welcome you again at Ruzzini Palace in the future as our valued guests.

Kind regards

Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

919 - 925 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2010

My fiance and I stayed in a standard double room at the Ruzzini Palace, and my brother stayed in a Junior Suite.
All the rooms in this amazing hotel are unique - some are simply more lavish and spacious than others.
The staff are extremely accommodating, and friendly.
The location is excellent - within walking distance of just about everywhere in Venice and close to major attractions and the ferries.
The only minor criticism is the room temperature, which appeared to be stuck on an uncomfortably warm 25C. I suspect that may be due to the in-floor heating. Don't let that put you off staying there - just be prepared for a little extra noise off the square with windows open.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Ragazzi!!!

Thank you very much for everything you did to make our stay in Venice unforgettable!!!! (Porcho cun!).

We look forward to visiting this summer and hope you all have a wonderful season of health and prosperity.

Tantissimi bracioni!

Massimo e Jennifer

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canguy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

We booked the Ruzinni Palace after much time spent on TA on the basis of location, price and reviews, and it lived up to expectations on all three counts.

We stayed here for four nights to celebrate our anniversary, and from the moment we arrived we felt at home. A piece of advice - if arriving from the airport, book a private water taxi - luxurious, but worth every penny, as the hotel is quite far from any vaporetto stops and will be a fair old trek with luggage, but the RP has a rear access directly on to a canal, so you will be from your flight to your room in 30mins.

The place was beautifully decorated throughout, with a well balanced mix of modern and classical styles and decoration, without the overbearing and oppressive feel that seems to be the case when looking at traveller photos of other venice hotels - this was understated luxury.

The room was by far the largest we have ever stayed in and was more a suite than a room, located at first floor over the breakfast room, overlooking the square. Again, the room was beautifully decorated, with a bathroom pod in the centre and enough space around about it to get lost in. There was complimentary prosecco ready-chilled in the room, along with a massive bouquet of flowers (which i had organised with the concierge prior to our stay) waiting as a surprise for my partner - the price of which was excellent value for the size and quality of the flowers - an example of just one of the touches that made this stay so special.

Nothing could have been too difficult for the staff to arrange - they were always on hand and attentive, spoke perfect English and ensured that we wanted for nothing. They even managed to arrange a mobile hairdresser to come to our room for my partner on the night of our anniversary (we had a booking for dinner at Cipriani's - worth it for the meal, but stay at the Ruzinni) on a Monday night when every hairdresser in Venice is closed - this sort of attention to detail that makes this place stand out.

Breakfast was better than most Italian hotel continental breakfast offerings, with bottles of prosecco waiting to be emptied, always a good start to the day. Although the hotel only has breakfast facilities, this is no problem, as there is a wealth of excellent restaurants in the vicinity - we tried Osteria Alle Testiere, again on the basis of the TA rating (#6 in Venice) and the fact that it is 1 min walk away from the hotel (restaurant is delightful but very small, so book in advance) - food was magnificent.

Campo Santa Maria Formosa, the square which the hotel overlooks is picturesque and lively without being a tourist haven and is lively enough without becoming a noise nuisance - try to get a room with a view of the square, as we get the feeling that they are probably lighter (south facing) than other rooms. As for location, it couldn't be better - you are five minutes walk from all the major sights (as long as you don't get lost, but that is part of the fun and romance of the place), but it is not in the thick of san marco and the hustle and bustle of the cruise ship day trippers.

Our advice is spend a day doing San Marco, then lose yourself into Castello or San Polo to get a true feel of Venice, and a day trip to Burano is a must. The hotel even arranges complimentary water taxi to see a glass blowing factory in Murano - bit of a con, but if you know in advance, it works in your benefit, just get the water taxi, do the tour, then if you don't buy, ask to get let out of the back entrance and make your way to Murano waterfront and have a wander, and get the vaporetto to other parts of the lagoon.

Again, TA ratings didn't let us down - RP was #12 at the time of booking, and we're not in the least suprised that it finds itself #5 on the Top 25 Hotels in Italy chosen by Europeans in the TA Traveller's Choice Awards - our city break to Venice was magical, and this hotel was every bit as perfect as La Serenissima herself - stay here if you can

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmaanddan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Ruzzini Palace for six nights over New Year and were delighted with our choice based on Tripadvisor reviews. We were very fortunate to be upgraded to a junior suite overlooking Campo Santa Maria Formosa, and Michele and Mario on reception could not have been more helpful. The hotel is well located (central but quiet) and represents excellent value for money in an otherwise expensive city. We wouldn't hesitate recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlwaysDiscerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Ruzzini Palace in mid January. We used the hotel airport transfer facility and although we arrived in early our room was ready for us.The site of the hotel is excellent as it is in a relatively quiet part of Venice but is close to St Marks and all the main sites of interest. The hotel is a tastefully restored palace which captures the Venice of another era while at the same time providing all amenities associated with a four star boutique hotel. The staff are exceptional in their attention to the needs of their guests. The Breakfast area is very pleasant and an excellent choice of food was provided. I would highly recommend a stay this hotel to enhance your visit to this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazeldenedublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

A cut above anything we've stayed in before and well worth the money. We stayed in the Formosa suite and then I stayed in a double room de luxe. Well furnished very large rooms and bathrooms and everything we needed. All the concierges at the reception desk spoke English and other languages too, and one could ask them anything including train and bus travel elsewhere in Italy, timetables and prices. - Helpful and professional. On offer at breakfast was the full range - fresh and preserved fruits, yoghurts,cereals, croissants, pastries, cold meats, cheeses, bacon and scrambled egg.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazurka34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your lovely review; our hotel and services have been much appreciated.
We do hope to welcome you again at Ruzzini Palace in the future as our valued guests.

Kind regards

Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 387 in Venice
1,956 reviews
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#72 of 387 in Venice
1,056 reviews
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#29 of 387 in Venice
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 387 in Venice
864 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#31 of 387 in Venice
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruzzini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruzzini Palace Hotel

Address: Castello 5866, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Venice
#23 Business Hotel in Venice
#25 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#29 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $149 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruzzini Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ruzzini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruzzini Palace Venice
Hotel Ruzzini Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing