We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“attacked”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ranked #40 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked this hotel for our 25 th wedding anniversary first night there we were attacked in the reception area by two known drunkards from the area my wife was hit around her head as the night manager did nothing to assist I suffered 7 stitches to a wound on my hand as the attacker struck with a vase on display in the lobby no assistance was given during Or after the incident and it was apparent they were more concerned about the hotels reputation before the water ambulance or police turned up they had put a new vase and flowers back on display so as to give the appearance nothing had happened we came home the following morning and even then no assistance was given to get cases on water taxi and not even an apology was given my verdict hotel crap staff crap Venice poor not impressed

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

This report is completely INCORRECT. The Guest got in trouble with a drunk person outside the hotel, in the square. The hotel staff gave full assistance to the Guests calling immediately the policy and an ambulance, offering a first aid medication and a glass of water to the lady. We spent lot of time to find them a flight to go home with no thanks! We are not in the position to apologyze as the bad situation was caused by the guest with a drunk person. The hotel is completely alien to the situation giving the full assistance anyway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 505 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have just returned home from a wonderful stay at the Ruzzini Palace Hotel. It is very central for Rialto bridge and St Marks Square and stands in its own square, which is very pretty with a few gift shops and eateries. We had a standard room, which was more than adequate for our 2 night stay. Breakfast was of a good standard and the waitress was very efficient and polite. Our room, 407, overlooked a canal and bridge, and, although the decor was a bit dark, it did make it very atmospheric. The bath was deep and filled quickly with lovely hot water, ideal after a day of pacing the island . The whole place was immaculate. The staff were polite and helpful and our room was tidied whilst we were out. Unfortunately, on our last night another couple of hotel guests had an incident with a local couple who had clearly been drinking heavily, and this resulted in them following them into the hotel foyer and assaulting the hotel guests without provocation. The man had a cut to his hand, the police and ambulance arrived, by water of course! It was all very unfortunate and quite frightening for guests and hotel staff. This being said, I would readily recommend this hotel in a heart beat. Thank you for making our first wedding anniversary and Venice trip a memorable time.
Mandy and Phil Harris xx

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank themand1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Sirs,
We wish to thank you for your signed review, for all the nice words for our Hotel staff which made your stay so unforgettable. We thank you also for the comprehension you had for the bad experience another couple had with some drunk locals, which ended in our Hotel lobby. Wishing you’ll be back for another special occasion...don’t forget us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Ruzzini Palace is an amazing place to stay. Although Venice is an expensive city and this may cause you to question the value for money when staying here, it is overall a great hotel. The concierge were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. They offer private water taxis to and from the airport which is professionaly and efficienty run, private gondola rides, they make bookings at restaurants for you. They organised us an emergency taxi to the airport at 4:30am. They packed us little breakfast bags when they found out we'd be leaving before breakfast.

The rooms are small but classy and clean, we had an amazing view of the square. Very royal feel. Beds are a bit hard and not very big/soft duvets. Excellent location as well, about 5 mins walk from San Marco square.

Overall I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
We wish to thank you for your kind words for our concierge who helped you during your stay with us. You’ll be always the most welcomed...hoping to see you once! Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

What an excellent hotel. We stayed end the of June weather was perfect. Water taxi took us to the back door so no dragging your bags through the streets, staff very friendly and extremely helpful they will tell you what's best to do and what restaurants are the better ones to eat at and which shops to buy your leather from. Our room that we were sharing with our 15yr old son was large overlooking the square and traditionally decorated. Hotel was far enough away from the hussle and bustle but close enough to walk everywhere. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank LloydMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
we are glad that you really enjoyed your stay in our Ruzzini Palace and especially its position, which is definitly very central. As you said (expecially on arrival), the best options to reach us are by water taxi or transfer service. You can always ask assistance for this to our concierge concierge@ruzzinipalace.com Hoping to have once the pleasure of seeing you again....best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had 3 deluxe rooms. Two of them were excellent, but our room (405) was below the two others standard. More over airco was not ok and TV broke down twice. On the 4th floor rooms are different from the other floors, so avoid this floor.
All the rest is of excellent quality: situation (very central) breakfast and the reception ( always friendly and helpful)
Without the room it would have received an extra star.

Room Tip: Avois standard rooms and the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andre_verbeemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanking you for your time to write your experience in our Ruzzini Palace, we regret that you didn’t like our room 405 (DeLuxe double) compared to the other accommodations your friends had, because different.
In fact the rooms on the last floor (mansard) are mostly modern furnished, while the others on lower floor are modern & classic. Probably you didn’t like that style. But, in the meantime, we wish to draw your attention to the kind of view you had from that room, which is something spectacular. In fact you can see the San Marco Cathedral and the Tower bell and all the roofs...
Many thanks for your kind words for our staff that you found very helpful and kind. Wishing to have the pleasure of welcome you once....kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The water taxi dropped us off at Ruzzini's back door! The staff welcomed us graciously and made check-in a breeze after a long day of travel. The room we stayed in had a unique design and the bed was very comfortable. Sandro was working the front desk and set us up on an amazing (and affordable) sunset water taxi tour of the city. So much better than a gondola ride!! A typical gondola ride is 35 minutes around your neighborhood for 100-150 euros. This private tour was an hour around the entire city for 140 euros. He also got us on a free water taxi to Murano the next day to learn about glass blowing. He was so helpful, friendly and fun. He really made our stay special. The entire staff had a great sense of humor. You are essentially paying for the location because its perfect! It's in a spacious campo with tons of great ristorante's and shops within 1 minutes walking distance. San Marco Square (the most magnificent piazza we visited in all of Italy!) was only a 5-minute walk away and the Rialto Bridge maybe 7-minutes. When we come back to Italy we will definitely stay at Ruzzini Palace again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YoginiMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A fabulous find in the heart of Venice. The staff were extremjely helpful and the room was very comfortable and above our expectations. I has visions of a tiny room. We were allocated Room 2, which was on the ground floor and a diabled room. Whilst adjoining the alley outside and the canal, I was worried about street noise. I heard none!!!!

The breakfast was excellant and set us up for the day, thus avoiding the need for too many expensive restaurant visits.

Well done, I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jb51_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#70 of 385 in Venice
1,031 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,891 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,472 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#22 of 385 in Venice
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruzzini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruzzini Palace Hotel

Address: Castello 5866, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Venice
#23 Business Hotel in Venice
#28 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#29 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $116 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruzzini Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ruzzini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruzzini Palace Venice
Hotel Ruzzini Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing