We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food, nice outdoor eating area.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Al Giardinetto da Severino

Ristorante Al Giardinetto da Severino
Reserve with
Ristorante Al Giardinetto da Severino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #168 of 1,409 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Castello
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good food, nice outdoor eating area.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I ate here twice, lunch and dinner, this trip. We tripped across it when we were wanting to go to the nearby Al Vecio Canton on its closing day. The food and service was very good. I especially enjoyed the spaghetti al vongole and seafood risotto. The only surprise from a restaurant with such good food and good service was to find out that the bathroom in the garden area only had a squat toilet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VespaRossaPiccola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    301
    117
    62
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“tiramisu to die for - but the rest, not sure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Firstly, I hope I've got the right restaurant as there are several in the area with similar names .... so fingers crossed ......

We were pointed to this place on a bank holiday Monday night by our concierge who said he often ate there.
It's certainly not the most pre-possessing place from the outside, and had we not been advised, I'm sure we would have walked on. Nevertheless, having poked our heads round the door, we noted what looked to be a very nice courtyard garden, but it was far too chilly for us, so we contented ourselves with an inside table in a room that was not for the romantically inclined.

Our somewhat Falstaffian waiter lived up to his appearance, so that was a good start.
The food wasn't anything to get particularly excited about, though my 1970s escalope milanese brought back happy memories, and of its type was very good indeed.

The highlight of the meal was the tiramisu. This is not something I would normally choose, but I'm very glad to have done so, for it was light and alcoholic without being overpowering - and frankly almost worth the visit on its own.

Overall, I suspect it is a much more convivial and thus satisfying place when it is warm enough to sit outside, so I'm very undecided as to how well to recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank veloiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good days and bad days”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by the desk staff at our hotel. So went early in the day to book and asked to be seated outside. We were disappointed on our arrival later that evening to find we were plonked in a corner in the restaurant.
We had to make our unhappiness known more than once before we could be reseated outside.
The food was delightful the chef really had his work cut out dealing with over two hundred covers that evening.
Shame the had no Verve Clique champagne as we were celebrating a special occasion, although it was on the wine list, however my biggest disappointment was our waiters very obvious dissatisfaction with our €15 tip in cash!!!
Lovely food though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThomsonFamily100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Great, local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent an inordinate amount of time trying to avoid tourist trap restaurants while we were in Italy, so we were pleasantly surprised when we wandered into this place. It was a real Italian menu with fresh items befitting a restaurant in a seaside town like Venice.
We ordered the house Cabarnet, which was a local Treviso red. It was an excellent choice and went well with our meals.
We sat in the open air garden in the back and had a great atmosphere. Our server spoke English well enough for us to communicate, but it was not a tourist trap. No upselling, nothing that wasn't authentic and fresh.
We both ordered largely based upon our server's recommendations and we were very pleased with everything. The monkfish was very good and the ravioli (for the first course) was great.
The gnocchi was obviously homemade, fresh, and delicious.
The service was fantastic and you won't be disappointed by this place. If you are there during peak season, you may want to stop by earlier in the day and grab a reservation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ColaSCColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
289 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Buonissimo!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Beautiful interior, attentive and professional service, and tasty dishes made me like this place right away. One of the ways to judge a good restaurant is by its rizzotto. I had a fantastic one with asparagus, cooked perfectly.

I recommend Il Giardinetto!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank France-Pellicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Al Giardinetto da Severino also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Al Giardinetto da Severino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing