We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and excellent food”
Review of Sempione

Sempione
Ranked #964 of 1,448 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Marco
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and excellent food”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We found Sempione when walking about to our hotel from St Marks. It's a bit hidden away next to a bridge but my girlfriend and I are very glad we did.

The staff spoke conversational English and they had a translated menu. The food was fantastic (as I said to our waiter it was better than some of the food on our cruise we'd just come off), and the setting was lovely sat to a small side canal. They also happily served half bottle of wines which was a nice touch to avoid drinking too much!

Price was reasonable, especially compared to other Venetian restaurants.

We both had a sea food risotto with panna cotta for desert. Fantastic!

We would definitely go back to Sempione.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank alexmunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    114
    83
    54
    118
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All About the View”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

My sister & I enjoyed a nice dinner at Sempione during or stay in Venice. The absolute best part of the visit was being seated at a lovely, open-air table overlooking a canal. Throughout our dinner gondolas passed by outside, which provided a wonderfully stereotypical Venice experience. The food wasn't exceptional, but it was good. The service was as attentive as any we received in Italy. Overall, the meal was very enjoyable.

Helpful?
Thank Kellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Thank goodness for Sempione”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

For us it was a challenge to find a tasty restaurant in Venice. Thank goodness we found Sempione. It was recommended by a gondola man. When we first arrived I did not find the waiters particularly friendly. However after two days of disappointing meals elsewhere, we returned to Sempione as previously we found the food was to be delicious. This time the same waiters recognised us and were delightful. We were now family. Again the food was fabulous, a great wine selection and they also offer half bottles. If you can get a seat at the window it overlooks water and its rather romantic.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hip2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Little jewel”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is the second time we went to Venice and went right back to Tratoria Sempione. Tucked away by a small bridge, this little restaurant is wonderful. We had the butter fried John Dory and a beautiful fillet of sole. Unbelievable! It is by a small canal and you can see the gondolas gliding by from the window. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gc914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not worth it if on the tour”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I had dinner here last night as a part of the falling in love in venice tour, by gartours.

Following our lovely gondola ride we had a 5 course dinner here. The service was very ordinary and they definitely made us feel like poor people on a voucher tour.

The service was very fast as if they were in an effort to rush us out of the door. My entree of lasagna was nice, this was folowed by some very dry salmon with what tasted like reheated packet roast potatoes. There was some lovely gorgonzola cheese served, followed by a very ordinary creme caramel which reminded me of cheap custard yoghurt. The complimentary bread was so stale it was hard to rip open and was very tough in the centre. Luckily we had a lovely bottle of red wine or the whole meal would have been a disaster.

We noticed those who were not eating there on the tour had different menus of which the food looked quite nice. Hard to say however as our dining experience was far from good.

This is not to mention the cranky female Manager/owner who watched everyone eating and refused to give us a nicer seat.

Definitely would not r

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy_Amelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sempione also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Sempione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing