We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic traditional Venetian fare” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ca D'Oro alla Vedova

Ca D'Oro alla Vedova
Ranked #238 of 1,409 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Authentic traditional Venetian fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The building & decor are priceless/timeless so personally i'd recommend a visit here for the cichetti & a drink.

The service was surly & not terribly helpful, it's easy to understand why, particularly when you hear some diners, still moving on ..

Vedova is famed for it's meatballs but i didn't rate them as highly as Russell Norman does in his book "Polpo" which was how we came to visit.

I was very hungry so took on the anchovies & wholewheat pasta which is heavy on the anchovies, but fortunately i like them a lot so it worked for me, cooking doesn't have to be subtle all the time.

The spaghetti alla bursara which regrettably i hadn't chosen was good with a light tomato sauce but i was less keen on the sauce that dominated my octopus, a really punch tomato, fishy affair that was just ott for me, though i dont doubt it was authentic.

So it was curate's egg like evening for us.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frank_alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    635
    234
    107
    123
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“AUTHENTIC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place is a wine bar that does food. Their standard "nibbles" are home-meade meatballs. We were staying close by and wanted somewhere agreeable. This was it.

Booking was tricky - at 12 hours notice they would only offer a table between 7 and 8.30. Fair enough. We arrived. We were seated at a table - the menus arrived, the food and drink was described in great detail (by waiters who spoke several languages).

We wanted only one course each. I had the shrips and polenta; my wife the octopus. As there is no wine list, we asked for guidance and chose a Merlot from Veneto. It was excellent - as was the food. The meat-ball starter and a biscuit/sweet wine pudding rounded off the meal. And, for the first time in Venice we found that we had not been taken for a ride when the bill came.

And we realised that the owner - quite by chance - had been eating the previous evening at the Fiaschetteria Toscana.

Book ahead and go there. The place was humming with locals. And some tourists, of course, but you did not feelin that you were in a tourist trap.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spaddockuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We enjoyed the place and the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Make sure to make reservations - we didn't and had to wait for a very long time. Meatballs - good. Shrimps with polenta - unique and good. Spaghetti with Clams - was very good. Seafood salad - very good. Small portions. Prices - fair. Service - good. We enjoyed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the trouble!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had trouble getting into another resturant that came highly recommended. We searched sites for other recommendations and Alla Vedova recevied high marks. We went by the previous day to make a reservation, but they made a mistake and had us down at the wrong time when we returned. It was our las tnight in Venice and terribly disappointing. They were kind enough to seat us anyway and the food was absolutely amazing. Their meatball appetizers were delicious, plates of them kept going by us and we understood why. Cannot recommend it highly enough. It is very popular - reservations are a must!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda5118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Polpette in town! Great atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We found it by chance and we loved it. You can enjoy the italian bar/restaurant experience, people eating apetizers and drinking wine, standing up, talking and having fun. The polpette, the fish and vegetables were wonderful. We also dinned one evening, we ate pasta with vongole, and venetian liver, the food was good but we had better in Venice and cheaper.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkpulp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ca D'Oro alla Vedova also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ca D'Oro alla Vedova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing