We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Zucca

La Zucca
Ranked #45 of 1,409 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Polo
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
284 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,049 helpful votes
“Excellent choice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Menu is in italian but the friendly staff speaks good english and is ready to explain everything. There are many vegetables options.

We ordered "Flan di zucca com ricota stagionata (10 Euros)", "Tortino de papate, zucca e scamorza affumicata (7 E)", "Coperto/bread basket (4 E)", "Water 1 liter (1,5 E)" and "Mousse de Limoncello (7 E)"; Total (29,50 E). The flan di zucca is their signature dish and was really good.

Don´t forget to book in advance because this place is always busy. La Zucca is very popular among locals.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,399
    656
    149
    48
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
300 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“All the reviews are spot on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Eat here when you are in Venice. Delicious mostly vegetarian. Small cute restaurant. Reservations essential. On a small street off a small canal in Santa Croce. Quiet neighborhood.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkNYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
516 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 917 helpful votes
“Amazing place in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Thank you tripadvisor!
Much searching in advance of travel and we chose La Zucca for our first night. Our hotel (Antiche Figure) called this place almost a week before we arrived to confirm our reservation.
On arrival there were lots of people waiting for a table, our table for 6 was ready for us!
A cracking small old building. Many of us tried the beef chilli which was just great. Different to anything we have tried before and such subtle flavours. My wife had the lasagne which was also lovely.
Very highly recommended as well as booking in advance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing food, friendly service, really cute restaurant such a gem in Venice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

What a good find in Venice when most restaurants (even top rated ones in trip advisor) are not great - food wise. Ordered pumpkin flan as a starter which was superb must try if your there it's their signature dish. They don't do any seafood on menu which is refreshing as we tried many highly recommended seafood places on trip advisor and they were less than average and over priced. Wines here are excellent. Bill is reasonable compared to most places in Venice! We ate here on last night-if we could do it again would eat here every night as all other restaurants we booked were disappointments. Am very fussy with quality and taste if food and this place did not dissapoint. Make sure you book restaurants in Venice a few weeks ahead and do your research because it's not a city you can stroll around a pick a restaurant on the night if you want decent food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great Staff, great setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

A menu with unusual and delicious vegetables options, great pasta - both traditional; spaghetti al sugo, and new - some pasta pie with eggplant which name I forgot. The staff was friendly and helpful and a welcoming decor with wooden panels in the walls. The three deserts we ordered ranked number one, two and three on our two-week long trip in Italy. A must go.

Helpful?
Thank Dmani1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Zucca also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to La Zucca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing