We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Canova

Canova
Reserve with
Canova is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #429 of 1,425 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $56 - $78
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: San Marco
Description: Canova restaurant in the superb Baglioni Hotel Luna in Venice is an exclusive, sophisticated place to enjoy award-winning cuisine. The Hotel itself has history in spades – it was once home to the Knights Templar and has been an albergo since the Middle Ages, reputedly the first hotel in Venice. Sited near the Piazza San Marco at the mouth of the Grand Canal, few hotel restaurants enjoy such a superb setting. The dining room is a haven of soft, Venetian classicism, with wood paneled walls, exquisite table settings, neutral, plush upholstery and fleet, unobtrusive service. The menu is a mixture of Venetian specialties and international favourites. If you are hosting a meeting or private event, the hotel is fully equipped to assist you in every respect.
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel made the reservation for us and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent. I am officially in love with truffles. Just a 2 minute walk from the hotel.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Savytraveler32136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Canova, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Savytraveler32136,
Let us thank you for sharing your experience at the Canova Restaurant. Our aim is to highlight the territory and the season flavors opportunity so as the continuous research of the ancient doges’ recipes. Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    16
    10
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Average...beautiful atmosphere”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Since we were staying at the Hotel Luna Baglioni, we figured we would eat in their restaurant Canova one night.

Having eaten in other highly recommend Michelin Venice restaurants, this one did not stack up.
The atmosphere is beautiful like the rest of the hotel. Presentation, old world style on a rolling cart.

Food....average...and even higher priced than neighboring 5 star restaurants and hotels.

Would eat next door at Grand Canal restaurant....or, the best restaurant, by all reviews of Venice, is Osteria Da Fiore.

If you are tired of going from your hotel....Canova is nice. Too many other good and lesser priced restaurants in Venice to eat there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank awinrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Canova, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear awinrm,
Let us thank you for posting your review since we do value feedback from guests though thank you for expressing criticism. Please let us reassure everybody that our rate are right in line with our competitors. We all hope to have the pleasure to introduce our chef Cosimo and his revised recipes of the Doge’s time. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Good deal! I found this place is the best value I found in this area! Go for the set menu and they had a promotion on for free bottle of wine!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinTwinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A good Italian menu”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The restautant is located inside Hotel Luna Baglioni. The atmosphere is formal but not stuffy. We went here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. If anything, I ordered too many courses because it all looked tempting. We had excellent service.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lindylouVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SY5 9EP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Ate here on a tasting menu during a recent visit to venice and the meal, food and service were superb. Not cheap, but we felt it was worth very penny.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcherrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canova also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Canova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing