We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful meal and experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aciugheta

Aciugheta
Ranked #1,119 of 1,409 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Castello
Level Contributor
165 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal and experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I had several restaurants on my list to try. I showed my list to The concierge at the hotel. He said this was the best one. We had a nice relaxing lunch and enjoyed people watching. The food was amazing and fairly priced. We went back to the hotel and met a couple also visiting Venice for the first time. They were looking for somewhere to go to dinner, so we ended up taking them to this lovely restaurant. We all had different meals and everyone's was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PLTmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    271
    227
    145
    192
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Right Place, Right Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

There is nothing better than desiring a certain type of meal, finding it on a menu outside s traditional Italian restaurant and then it being delivered to you perfectly. It was our last day in Venice, it was slightly warm and we were all looking for a specific dish. A tuna salad for two of us, with slight additions requested and a Margherita Pizza for the youngest of the diners. The staff were very obliging with our requests and promptly delivered three simple but beautiful, meals. With 100's of tuna salads on offer, their attention to detail, right down to the crispy and varied lettuce leaves put this in a different class.

The Aciugheta is located in a small but nice palazzo behind the Palazzo Ducale, not far, but far enough from hustle and bustle of San Marco in the Castello district.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurenceBGiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK food and so so service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stopped here knowing it would be touristy but not having much choice (we had a concert in an hour, and this seemed like the cheapest food near it). Ordered pasta, calamari, and some salad. The service was not great; they paid almost no attention to us and we waited a while for food. When we finally got some, the pasta and salad were OK, but the calamari (which we were about to cancel because we worried about missing our concert) was outstanding and lifted our spirits. It was on a nice square near St. Mark's, but the staff almost seemed ready to get rid of us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VermontFamilyOfFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
653 reviews
476 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Keep on walking unless you just want pizza”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

A local recommended this restaurant for the pizza and it was OK. If that's all you want to eat, you might be OK - otherwise pick somewhere else. Bread was not fresh and caprese salad was passable. One of the ladies restrooms was out of service and the other had a puddle that would have required standing in it - so it was basically unusable too. Our small meal was a disappointment and we wished we had eaten elsewhere.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eat-Sleep-Walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“"Could not seemed to get any food here"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Maybe it was an off day but it was not welcoming for a woman dining alone. First I tried indoors and then outdoors. Although I got a menu, I could not get anybody's attention. I was asked to move to a smaller table outdoors even though it was empty. Therefore, this is not a rating of the food but of just one less than desirable experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank classicalmusictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aciugheta also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Aciugheta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing