We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central and Moderately Priced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barababao B&B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Barababao B&B
Ranked #79 of 467 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Central and Moderately Priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The owners were incredibly friendly and helpful. The Bed and Breakfast is perfectly located in the center of the city. And for me and my husband, first time visitors of Venice, we appreciated that it was right next to Ponte Rialto, since signs all around the city direct to the famous bridge. So when we got lost, all we had to do was find Ponte Rialto and then we could find the B&B. The rooms were nothing fancy, and there was some paint coming off the wall. But they were clean, and comfortable, with some nice venetian touches (hand made glass light fixtures, for example). The air conditioning, WiFi, and hot water all worked well. The room was equipped with a mini fridge, and the breakfast in the morning was good with typical biscuits and toast. I wouldn't have spent the price on this particular hotel in any other area, but for Venice (where everything is marked up to nearly twice the value), I think it was an excellent deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willsie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    41
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
67
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teesdale . Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Owners could not be helpful enough , family run , family hospitality,room had everything for a couple , free breakfast,free wifi, room was spotless with toilet and shower, close to everything , was difficult to find but ask for Barababao restaurant , entry is next door.We booked 1 month before visiting Venice and owners welcomed us by name , happy to give positive reviews for this accommodation.

Room Tip: Room with ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayson108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very conveniently located, helpful and friendly staff and overall good place. They had free wi-fi and we old access it in our room.

Only problem was that when we arrived there on 8th May, it was quite warm and they did not have the Air conditioning working. When we spoke to the landlord, he told us that they connect the air conditioning only by mid may and that this was the first hot day of the season, so no air conditioning. We asked him to at least provide a portable fan, but he did not have that either. We had to sleep with the windows open and got bitten by mosquitoes , not to mention the constant noise from the restaurant under the window.

So would have been a pleasant stay if only the air conditioning was working.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pkante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

The location is very central. The room was a bit smelly. It took a day to bring us a second towel. NO WIFI, even if they claim they have it. No reception. When the restaurant is closed, difficult to find someone to help. When the restaurant is open, you don't feel comfortable to ask for help. Bottom line - the stay was OK. Next time in Venice we will look for a different place.

Room Tip: The rooms are not all same. Check which one you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and I have never had such bad service in all my years of travelling. When we arrived, the person behind the counter totally ignored us. He was making coffee and wasn't interested in even talking to us. After standing around for 10 minutes, my husband wandered into the kitchen and found someone who begrudgingly showed us our room. The rooms are small, basic and clean but the biggest problem was the noise. The restaurants below don't close until about midnight, so you need to be out until then or you won't get to sleep.

The breakfast was ok.....a croissant, .hard rolls, no fruit...they even forgot to bring us yoghurt after offering it to us, but then we are not big breakfast eaters anyway. Maybe the owners are just tired after a long season.

Either way, you can find better value and service than this in Venice and having stayed near St Marks first, I would recommend you try a B&B on that side.
The vaporetto was always full at Rialto and when we left Venice, it was a real squash to get our bags on. When you stay near St Marks, the vaporetto is always empty as all the tourist disembark there.

Room Tip: Check whether your accommodation is above a restaurant. Rooms must have airconditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LladroCochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a bad experience trying to find this place....arriving at night and being told by several locals different directions. It took 3 hours with heavy suitcases to eventually find this place. Its confusing because it is the name of a restaurant downstairs and the B&B is quite hidden. When we arrived, there was 1 towel for 2 people. The room we were given was directly above the restaurant so it was quite noisy. The shower was tiny and we had the unlucky experience of having no hot water. It was difficult to get service as well. Think this place is overpriced for the quality of the experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelRoxT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soddy Daisy, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a great location in the Cannaregio section of Venice! Just a short walk north of the Rialto Bridge, Barababao is across the alley-way from the historic church of San Giovanni Grisostomo (in English: Saint John Chrysostom, found in your guide books and easy to find by it’s tall bell tower). The street level of Barababao has a restaurant and the rooms are upstairs. Happy people who made us feel at home greeted us. My wife is gluten, dairy and seafood intolerant making our restaurant and food choices a real challenge. But, the folks at Barababao served up our first meal meeting all her needs. The room was spotless, efficient and looked over a small courtyard of other restaurants. In the evening the sounds of accordion and guitar accompanied by singers serenading the customers drifted up to our windows and was a pleasant surprise.

I had thought that the name Barababao was the Italian for the biblical Barrabas, but instead he is the character of the boogieman in Italian folklore. So, you will see many phantasmagoric images of Barababao and his cohorts on the walls of the restaurant. Breakfast is a traditional continental one with cornets, yogurt, strong coffee, etc. If you are looking for a good bargain that is convenient to everything in Venice then, this is the best choice for you! It is just a few blocks north of the Rialto docks and the Rialto Bridge. (Walking directions: Walk down the Rialto Bridge or off of any of the 3 Vaporetto Rialto docks heading east just to the main street and turn left/north and walk two blocks, over two small bridges, and look for the Church of St. Giovanni.)

We were there for the Regata Storica held on the first Sunday in September and Barababao’s owner recommended that we rent chairs north of the Rialto Bridge and it turned out to be a perfect viewing section right on the Grand Canal!

And, not far from B&B Barababao a wonderful selection of GF and DF stores and restaurants is found. Mea Libera Tutti (just steps off of San Sofia which is on Corso Nuovo, find Calle Priuli near the Irish restaurant…or take the Vaporetto to the dock of Ca D’Oro and walk straight ahead towards the Grom and turn left, then, a quick right at the ancient well. Mea Libera Tutti is a GF store with everything from pasta to candy to cookies. The owner’s son has Celiac and she keeps everything you might want. And, Grom Gellateria is right there, also, next door to McDonalds. Grom has undoubtedly the best Italian ice cream and its GF and DF! (There is another Grom in the Dorsoduro section of Venice at St. Barnaba Square near the floating fruit and vegetable barge.) We ate twice at Vecia Cavana on Rio Terra and SS. Apostoli, also close by, because they serve wonderful foods with GF pasta and breads. They have a superb wait-staff careful with non-cross-contamination in the kitchen.

Room Tip: Location, cleanliness and friendliness are the three guidelines I go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank beverly_diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
#23 of 467 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
San Marco
Ca' Leon D'Oro
Ca' Leon D'Oro
#39 of 467 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Cannaregio
Al Portico Guest House
Al Portico Guest House
#69 of 467 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Guest House Al Milion
Guest House Al Milion
#325 of 467 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Castello
Oceano Mare B&B
Oceano Mare B&B
#64 of 467 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
San Marco
Locanda ai Bareteri
Locanda ai Bareteri
#22 of 467 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barababao B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barababao B&B

Property: Barababao B&B
Address: Cannaregio 5835, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 467 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Barababao B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Barababao B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barababao Bed And Breakfast
Barababao Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing