We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Predominately a bar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Merca

Al Merca
Ranked #15 of 1,409 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Polo
Scotland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Predominately a bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Cool little bar on the edge Rialto market. We happened across it and I remembered reading about it on TripAdvisor - when we saw it I thought we'd try the cicchetti but as it turns out they are quite small we kept walking to find a restaurant for lunch then came back fora one of the famous Spritz.
The Aperol Spritz is stronger than I had anticipated, and not all that sweet - however for only €2 each this was the place to try it - standing in the markets square with a large wine glass in hand is a great way to explore the market.
There was no food left by 3pm, so it closes when Rialto market starts packing up.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BMcC24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    243
    35
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tupale, null, Serbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Trip Advisor reviews suggested this restaurant would be better than just ordinary. Unfortunately it rated less than this. Service was OK but food quality was poor. Overcooked meat and cold pasta appeared to be the order of the day. The highlight was it is located near a good gelato store.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great place to stop for a bite to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

It is an amazing place to stop and have a quick bite to eat. Sandwiches were amazing and the staff were lovely. You got the food and then you could stand outside of the rialto market. Very reasonably priced too!

Helpful?
1 Thank catherinedinsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
231 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Perfect Saturday treat after visiting the market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is where the locals go. It's only a little hole in the wall, but the spritz is fantastic and their little cicchetti are delicious! While having both, watch the locals chatting, laughing and doing their grocery shopping in the Rialto market.
Love this space!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zorro7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“OMG! so good!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I was recommended this little bar by a friend who recently visited Venice. We actuallt stumbled on it by accident after visiting the Rialto Market last Saturday. It's in the corner of a little square just as you leave the market, having walked right the way through the stalls. They sell little sandwiches (ham, cheese, spinach) and italian meatballs. There is a generous selection of wines and Prosecco on offer on a chalk board on the wall. You just queue up and buy, then stand around in the square whilst drinking and eating. What a fantastic atmosphere! There seemed to be tourists and locals alike (it was Saturday) who were enjoying the surroundings. The prices were extremely reasonable. We visited at lunchtime, but my friend suggested to go after 6pm when it would be a bit quieter.Although the fact that it was busy added to the hussle and bussle. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank netsBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Merca also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Al Merca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing