We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tasty and inexpensive lunch-stop”
Review of Al Merca

Al Merca
Ranked #20 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: San Polo
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A tasty and inexpensive lunch-stop”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had visited Al Merca two years ago, knew what to expect and were not disappointed. A small glass of prosecco and two cichetti each filled a space and it was very good value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crossstitchgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    260
    37
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Great atmospheric bar, in the heart of the Rialto market. The staff are full of personality and the beverages are superb! We amples Prosecco and a beer, they also offer small finger sandwiches for €1.50 which are great snack to have with your tipple of choice. No seating, but just stand and enjoy the square!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sheknewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An Outstanding Scene”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A great, young crowd, standing around the square and enjoying the drinks which are served out the storefront. You won't find a place to sit, but you won't want one -- you'll want to mingle. Get a delicious spritz, or an Augustiner (from Munich) hell on tap -- probably one of the best beers in the world. Go after 5, when the crowds have dissipated, and it's just the bar and its patrons.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The advent of my Spritz addiction”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stumbled across this place on our way to the Rialto market around noon and the whole square was packed full of people enjoying drinks and mini sandwiches, so we decided to stop and see what made this place so popular. I ordered a spritz for 2,00 and thus my addiction began! After here, I'd tried the drink at many other bars in Venice and Rome and none came close to how tasty this one was. I have been since obsessed with perfecting the ratio in my own recipe.
The gorgonzola & speck sandwich was probably the best, but many were tasty. It was a wonderful little break to walk around the square and enjoy refreshment on a sunny afternoon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mizuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good pit stop for local product”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice local place, for local wine and local food. Genuine place to share a quick snack with a glass of wine. Try it and enjoy

Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Al Merca also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Al Merca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing