We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for a quick drink - standing only”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Merca

Al Merca
Ranked #15 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Polo
Isle of Wight UK
Level Contributor
183 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Fun for a quick drink - standing only”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

A great little ‘hole in the wall’ wine bar (no seating) very close to the Fish Market, with lots of different wines by the glass – red, white, sparkling and rose – prices start at 2 euros a glass, so very reasonable.

It is very small, but a warming glass of red was welcomed on a cold, wet day! The proprietors were intrigued by our map marked with bar/café/restaurant recommendations written on by us and gave us their approval on several of these! There are also a number of small tapas-style snacks available to buy. Fun for a quick, cheeky glass at anytime of the day!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IOWtravelbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    591
    252
    36
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Lunch/Snack place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

The place is right by the Rialto Bridge on a back plaza. Great sandwich choices to enjoy with a spritz. Sandwiches were all delicious, can't remember what we had. I think for four snacks and two glasses of spritz it came to 10 Euros. So very reasonable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IluvEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Greatest surprise in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Located just next to the Rialto bridge in an area crawling with pub, we arrived to Al Marca almost by mistake but we weren't disappointed, it's easily one of the best place we went to in venice. Great selection of wine at very reasonable prices. No seating available but the you can take your drink for a small walk all over the place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elchibz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Venice Lunch Joint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

After reading a few travel books about Italy, we wanted to find a little sandwich joint in Venice to enjoy with some prosecco. Al Marca was everything we were looking for.

I wasn't sure what any of the sandwiches were initially beside being able to identify the meat (my Italian needs some work), so we pretty much got 6 different sandwiches (variety pack) and 2 glasses of prosecco. We walked about 50 yards and sat along the canal and enjoyed our meal in the shade.

One of the sandwiches (something with Proscutto and Truffles) was so good that I went back there and ordered 2 more to go. I'm still tallying votes...but...definitely was a Top 3 Sandwich of my lifetime.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Cut above the rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

As described by others this hole in the wall is in a great location near Rialto lively but discrete. But the thing that marked it out for me was the great choice of quality, unusual and fairly priced wines by the glass and the delicious elegantly crafted snacks. Very tempting and pleasurable very venice

Helpful?
1 Thank bevandavidrhys
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Al Merca also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Al Merca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing