We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fun for a quick drink - standing only” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Merca

Al Merca
Ranked #18 of 1,355 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Polo
Isle of Wight UK
Level Contributor
170 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Fun for a quick drink - standing only”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A great little ‘hole in the wall’ wine bar (no seating) very close to the Fish Market, with lots of different wines by the glass – red, white, sparkling and rose – prices start at 2 euros a glass, so very reasonable.

It is very small, but a warming glass of red was welcomed on a cold, wet day! The proprietors were intrigued by our map marked with bar/café/restaurant recommendations written on by us and gave us their approval on several of these! There are also a number of small tapas-style snacks available to buy. Fun for a quick, cheeky glass at anytime of the day!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IOWtravelbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    213
    28
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Lunch/Snack place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The place is right by the Rialto Bridge on a back plaza. Great sandwich choices to enjoy with a spritz. Sandwiches were all delicious, can't remember what we had. I think for four snacks and two glasses of spritz it came to 10 Euros. So very reasonable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IluvEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Greatest surprise in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Located just next to the Rialto bridge in an area crawling with pub, we arrived to Al Marca almost by mistake but we weren't disappointed, it's easily one of the best place we went to in venice. Great selection of wine at very reasonable prices. No seating available but the you can take your drink for a small walk all over the place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elchibz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Venice Lunch Joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

After reading a few travel books about Italy, we wanted to find a little sandwich joint in Venice to enjoy with some prosecco. Al Marca was everything we were looking for.

I wasn't sure what any of the sandwiches were initially beside being able to identify the meat (my Italian needs some work), so we pretty much got 6 different sandwiches (variety pack) and 2 glasses of prosecco. We walked about 50 yards and sat along the canal and enjoyed our meal in the shade.

One of the sandwiches (something with Proscutto and Truffles) was so good that I went back there and ordered 2 more to go. I'm still tallying votes...but...definitely was a Top 3 Sandwich of my lifetime.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cut above the rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

As described by others this hole in the wall is in a great location near Rialto lively but discrete. But the thing that marked it out for me was the great choice of quality, unusual and fairly priced wines by the glass and the delicious elegantly crafted snacks. Very tempting and pleasurable very venice

Helpful?
1 Thank bevandavidrhys
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Al Merca also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Al Merca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing