We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Venice experience - if you have the feet for it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa dei Pittori Venice Apartments
Ranked #115 of 482 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My review contains both praise and some reservations.
We arrived in Venice on a cloudy afternoon and were met by a smiling and helpful Francesco from the Casa dei Pittori. He led us to the apartment and gave us some good hints about the local restaurants and shops. Even before we arrived, we got answers to our questions through e-mail.
The apartment met all our expectations, and we had everything we needed there. It was fun to watch the gondolas and boats on the canals from our window. The house was definitely not so easy to find on your own, but we quickly learnt our way. The whole house is impressive, and particularly the doors towards the canal were exotic!
The apartment was clean and spacious and we even had a lovely fresco on the ceiling. It was nicely renovated, with warm wooden floors in the bedrooms. It was better heated than we expected and there was always hot water, which was nice as the weather was not very warm. However, I felt a bit cold in the night, and there were not too many blankets available. The bed wasn't so great but I slept rather well nevertheless. The rest of the furniture was ok but a bit shabby. There weren't any English channels on the tv but that was not necessary either. We could also find all the necessary services and shops nearby. The Campo S. Giacomo was our favorite place as we could see local families shopping and spending their leisure time there with their children.
My reservations about the place are not related to any problems within the apartment, because everything was just fine. They are related to getting to the apartment. I had not expected the walk from the vaporetto to be quite so long and with so many bridges and steps - I travelled with my elderly mother, and she had trouble with all the steps, and having to carry a suitcase didn't help. The closest vaporetto stops are about a 10 minute walk, but with an older person it all takes longer. Also, I would not recommend this apartment for those who need to push a baby's tram or who sit in a wheelchair - but the whole Venice is challenging for these groups anyway.
All in all, I'd recommend this place warmly to people who have no problem walking and who do not carry heavy luggage.In either case, staying here may be a bit challenging, and you'd be more comfortable staying closer to a vaporetto stop.

Room Tip: All the apartments face the canal as far as I know, but I would recommend the higher floors as the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimono-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 144 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here with our two daughters in and we loved this place. From meeting Francesco at the bus station (including his great tip for the bakery which we got our breakfast from each morning), to the walk to the apartment and spending a memorable four days in Venice. It was very cold during our visit (heavy snow on the first day) but the apartment was always warm with lots of hot water. Great to have a kitchen and not have to go out all of he time and we had all the home comforts we needed. Wi-Fi was very fast, much better than many expensive hotels I have stayed in!

Francesco also pointed us to the supermarket in the square which has everything one needs including a great little deli - all very reasonable to.

We loved this part of Venice, quiet but only 15 minutes from Rialto. Plenty of restaurants within a ten minute walk.

Our apartment was on the ground floor, right on the corner of the building so we looked directly over both canals, amazingly interesting! A little (boat) noisy from about 7.30am but I am a light sleeper and it didn't worry me!

All in all a peaceful and relaxing apartment in a super location. Francesco is very friendly speaks excellent English and runs a great business. We cannot commend the apartment highly enough!

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sowbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We are a family of four and we loved the antique atmosphere of our spacious Dimora Canaletto apartment, with its original paintings, high beamed ceilings and balcony overlooking the canal. During the first morning it was a bit disconcerting to see a school full of pupils across the canal, but the girls gave me a friendly wave. Francesco was very congenial, and we found a supermarket and a couple of excellent restaurants nearby. Plus my sons discovered how cheap good wine was in Venice. All in all, a memorable stay!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We love this place - the location in the thick of Venice - the staff - Elena and Francesco are fantastic - and the apartment - kid friendly with a terrace on the canal - watch gondolas and all watercraft from the amazing terrace - I felt really spoiled and loved this place - live like a Venetian!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tattmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were absolutely blown away by this apartment and its beautiful location. We had high expectations for our trip to Venice and Casa Dei Pittori lived up to every one of them. We asked our travel agent to help us find accommodation and she found a 1 bedroom hotel for $500 a night! No way! So we took it into our own hands and found this absolute gem! It is much cheaper and the Ca Guardi had 2 bedrooms with a big living area, Venetian feel, with a balcony and every window looking out onto the canal. Gondolas went past all the time! Francesco met us at the station and from the start he was very helpful. He then walked us to our apartment and chatted to us on the way. The Santa Croche area is amazing... a lot less touristy and cheaper, more traditional food. It also fairly close to the vaporetto so you can get anywhere. Do yourself a massive favour and book here. We loved it!

Room Tip: Get a vaporetto 3 day pass to help you get around. If youare under 30 you can by a 4 euro rolling ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mg121209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This apartment was clean and spacious for our family of four. The kids (and adults) loved watching the passing canal traffic. The air conditioning was just what we needed during some very hot weather in Venice. The wifi was very good, but we had some problems with the tv reception. Stefano met us at S. Lucia station, which is a good service as it is very to get lost in Venice. The only problem we had was the power going off when we ran the washing machine and the air conditioner at the same time. We rang Stefano who fixed the problem in about 30 minutes. We were on the first floor and there was no elevator. We would recommend this apartment.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdelaideAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at the Ca Guardi apartment, which was beautiful. Very spacious 2 bedroom apartment with a fully stacked kitchen and a small terrace overlooking the canal. The location is truly wonderful -- it is in a great neighborhood, away from the touristy craze of Venice, but close enough to the restaurants, a supermarket, a bakery, and about 10-15 min. walk to a vaporeto stop.
We enjoyed the apartment itself -- very quaint building, nicely decorated apartment with wooden beams on the ceiling, chandelier in the living room, nice carpeting.
The only reason for 4 stars and not 5 is the bathroom--pretty small, problems with water temperature/pressure, and finally -- towels. They are washed and rewashed and pretty small. No big deal, but when you look at the whole package, it's the details that matter.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#22 of 387 in Venice
926 reviews
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#59 of 387 in Venice
933 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca' della Corte
Ca' della Corte
#74 of 482 in Venice
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Corte Nova
Corte Nova
#78 of 482 in Venice
243 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Warm Hospitality Apartments
Santa Croce
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
#148 of 482 in Venice
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa dei Pittori Venice Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa dei Pittori Venice Apartments

Address: Sestiere Santa Croce 1032 A | S. Croce 1032 A, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 482 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $171 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa dei Pittori is a late eight century palace, located in the hearth of Venice. The building consists of seven amazing apartments, every apartment is top class certified and results ideal for both short or medium-long stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa dei Pittori Venice Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dei Pittori Venice Apartments Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing