We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Treviso
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent one night in Treviso. We stayed at the Carlton Hotel which was a great location. Close to the train and bus station. Our room overlooked the Gardens and a bridge. Breakfast was also included and this was a continental breakfast which was plenty for us. The bed was not very comfortable but we were only spending one night so it was no big deal. It was clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelica65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    106
    117
    74
    54
See reviews for
47
94
29
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the third night of our bicycle trip. The people at the front desk are simply not nice or helpful. Only one towel and a quarter roll of toilet paper. Shower designed to make sure more water goes on the floor than you. Hair dryer broken. Pillows so flat that your ears hurt lying on them. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: 311 was bigger than our friends' room. they got a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newfie-Traveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Treviso hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights in early September during a visit to the Dolomites, Veneto towns and villages, and Venice itself. Booking was efficient with email traffic to a friendly reception desk. Our 4th floor room was comfortable with a balcony. although the lift was slow, and the air conditioning was good for keeping the temperature right but a bit noisy during the night. We did find other problems however - the fridge did not work and was never repaired despite reports to reception; the same applied to the room's safe where the bolts were permanently locked and it was never repaired. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful in advising on local restaurants such as L'Incontro which we would not have found without recommendation and direction. The management also helped to get us a drink after 11pm when the bar staff seemed to think they should pack up - and our tour party was about 30 strong and brought good trade to the hotel. Breakfasts were good. The great strength of the hotel is its location close to the rail and bus stations for easy access elsewhere, and also to Treviso airport if you fly there father than to Venice Marco Polo. Sadly the concept of complete customer service has not quite got through to this hotel in this very pleasant town.

Room Tip: Ask for a "comfort room" which will probably get you one on the 4th floor with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardT870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaipeda, Lithuania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The only reason to stay in this old, dusty hotel could be if you have a very early morning train from Treviso Central Station. The short distance to that station is the only positive point of this anachronistic hotel.
It is an astonishing contrast with the beautiful end clean city that is Treviso.
The reception people gave me 3 different timings (6am - 6.30 - 7.00) for breakfast but at the end of the story I learned that it starts at 7am which was to late for me (train at 6.57).
If you do decide to stay there you can have a great Cappuccino and Brioche just across the road in a nice clean Bar open at 6.15am
I CAN'T BELIEVE THAT THERE ARE STILL PLACES LIKE THIS IN A FANTASTIC HISTORICAL CITY LIKE TREVISO!

Room Tip: Room 107 smells smoke!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is not 4 star hotel. The room was outdated and very small with dusty curtains, no glasses, only plastic cups. The door to the bathroom was broken. Refrigerator in the room was very noisy. Staff try to be helpful and hotel is well situated, close to train station and city center. We had breakfast included in the room rate but because of early morning flight we have asked hotel staff to pack some croissants or sandwiches for children. They promised to do this but forgot about our request.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olena_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel by taxi costing only 15 euros from Treviso Airport (Mostly Ryanair). It is just within the historic city walls and a short walk from the centre.
Whist I would agree with the comments about the hotel not being 4 star and a little dated, it was immaculately clean and comfortable; with pleasant and helpful staff. Our family room was a suite of two interconnecting bedrooms.
Treviso far exceeded our expectations being a fascinating mix of history and a wide range of independent shops. It has a number of small fast flowing crystal clear rivers flowing through it and around the city walls.
The hotel is five minutes walk from the station, frequent trains to Venice take about 35 minutes and cost only about 3 Euros.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IEAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotels is rated as 4-star, which is indeed misleading. It's old and worn, and ready for makeover. My room was very small, with space for only 1 single-bed. The batroom offered a faulty sink, where water could not drip off in a timely manner. Shower cabinet too was half broken. The breakfest is very limited, and not recommendable. Dry bread, overcooked eggs, tasteless tomatoes....

Hotel's location though is very central and convenient for staying in Treviso. It's close to the main squares, and train station. Personell very firendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treviso hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#9 of 15 in Treviso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Rovere
Hotel Rovere
#1 of 15 in Treviso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maggior Consiglio
Hotel Maggior Consiglio
#2 of 15 in Treviso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo Il Focolare
Albergo Il Focolare
#7 of 15 in Treviso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Al Fogher
Hotel Al Fogher
#4 of 15 in Treviso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ca' del' Galletto
Ca' del' Galletto
#8 of 15 in Treviso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Property: Hotel Carlton
Address: Largo di Porta Altinia N 15, 31100, Treviso, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Treviso > Treviso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Treviso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Treviso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing