We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scrovegni Chapel

Scrovegni Chapel
Book In Advance
More Info
$228.71*
and up
Padova, Asolo and the Venetian Villas Day-Trip from Venice
Ranked #1 of 369 things to do in Padua
Certificate of Excellence
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Absolutely breathtaking! Don't forget to book in advance. Well worth a visit. There is a night visit as well. I didn't do that but I just might go back for that!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank fcfeijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,993
    502
    97
    47
    48
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Historical, and may not be here forever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

When we arrived we had to wait an hour for a viewing appointment but we toured the museum while waiting. (You can book online.) Lots of paintings, mostly religious and some quite wonderful.
You get an overview in a video before your viewing of the chapel, and it is essential to understanding the context and the times.
The chapel was wonderful and your 15 minutes seem to go by so quickly. ( you have to leave then) There are many individual frescoes and I would have loved to have a personal guide. Especially interesting as it is in more pastel colours than most medieval works, and also some of it is deteriorating after 9 centuries. Sad. Well worth it overall.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overwhelming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

You are only allowed 15 minutes to view all the frescoes on the walls and ceiling of this chapel. It is not really long enough but you can get more out of it if you arrive earlier than your entrance time and go to the multimedia room which is out past the café, to your right and down stairs. They show films in different languages, using the words of Scrovegni to explain why he built the chapel and why he chose Giotto as the artist. The film and supporting exhibits introduce the art so that you know what to look for when you finally get into the chapel. There was noone else in this room when we there; so I think it is easily missed.
The art in the chapel itself is stunning.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bumsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You can visit without booking in advance.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Even if you didn't book well in advance (as they say you should) just show up and ask if you can visit. Ticket seller told me to come back in 20 minutes without reservation. Try to show up early.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“heaven on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

If there were the 7 wonders of art then this chapel most be one of them. All Giotto's masterpiece are in this chapel. You will miss a lot if you dont visit this chapel once you're in Padua!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirab H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scrovegni Chapel also viewed

 
Padua, Province of Padua
 

Been to Scrovegni Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing