We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most amazing ice cream sold here!”

Gelateria La Romana
Ranked #1 of 55 Dessert in Padua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Romana gelato parlour was born in the heart of the historic centre of Rimini in 1947, receiving the name of the founder's daughter. A few years later Vito Zucchi, progenitor of the family, took over the enterprise. Thanks to his fervent creativity and the use of a few ingredients then available, he created a wide range of high-quality flavours which are still made in our stores today. For this reason, we offer traditional flavours made exclusively with selected products, following old recipes of the past.
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The most amazing ice cream sold here!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The ice cream sold here is beyond belief it's simply fabulous! It doesn't matter what time you visit it's always busy and the flavours, well you would have to go and see for yourself!
There are a lot of Italians that buy ice creams here and family's out for a stroll. the staff are very friendly and offer 'tasters' if you are not sure what you would like.
We were in Padova for four days and had ice cream here for three of those days .... don't think our waistlines would have coped if we had been there any longer!
Do visit if you are in Padova, it is a little more expensive than other Gelateria's but boy it's worth every Euro!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mirfield2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,051
    313
    72
    37
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Padova
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Can't get enough!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Since its opening, I am pretty sure that I've tried all the flavours available! In my opinion "Biscotto della Nonna" and "Croccantino all'amarena" are definitely the best, but I also like Dark Chocolate and Mint. All flavours are soooo creamy and tasty...slurp!
The atmosphere is nice, there are about 20 seats inside and the staff is welcoming and offers you free samples if you are not sure of which flavour to choose. It's a little bit more expensive than other gelaterias, but I think it's worth it.
And do not forget to try the crêpes and the Sicilian-style granitas!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Helena82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best icecream without any shadow of a doubt”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I went to the store in Rome during my week stay as it was nearby my hotel. The store was full of customers every night and the clientel was mainly Italians with the occational tourist popping in once in a while during the evening.
The first time my travel companion and I went in, we ordered 2 scoops each and it was heaven. The next evening we ordered a small box where would can have three flavours and the evening after that, we ordered another small box with three new flavours, every flavour superior by far compared to the other galaterias in Rome we went to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteffenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best ice cream in the world!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Ou my ou my! There is a line of people every evening to get the best dessert/ice cream ever! Taste pistacchio, yogurt, 1947, lurpslurps! I am ice cream lover and this is really the best I ever have eaten! Gogogo, go there to have the best ice ever!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank media2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Warning - it's addictive!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

A local recommended this gelateria to us. My partner, a former gelateria owner was skeptical of the rave review but agreed to give it a try. He walked out smiling. The price is a bit higher than one would pay at any of the more ordinary spots but not over the top and worth it. All of the gelato is homemade with top quality ingredients. I tasted the dark chocolate (sublime) the pistachio (real pistachio!) and the Sicilian cassata (unforgettable - do not miss it if it's available). A truly memorable experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viavaleria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria La Romana also viewed

 
Padua, Province of Padua
 

Been to Gelateria La Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing