We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Anthony strikes again!”

Basilica di Sant’Antonio - Basilica del Santo
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.12*
and up
Semi-Private Giotto and Galileo Day Trip from Venice
More Info
$462.57*
and up
Private Padua Walking Tour
Ranked #2 of 372 things to do in Padua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Basilica where the apostle St. Mark is buried and which contains the largest bronze works of Donatello.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“St. Anthony strikes again!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

St. Anthony is the patron saint of lost articles and sure enough, a member of our group lost a package in the church but found it, certainly with the help of St. Anthony. It didn't matter that she was Jewish, he apparently is non-discriminatory in offering his assistance to find lost articles. It is a real pilgrimage site, so tourists should be sure to be respectful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,580
    909
    141
    26
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Statesville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Incredible Cathedral”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Words can't describe this cathedral with it's multiple chapels and of course the Tomb of of St. Anthony. Unfortunately, it is being renovated at this time, but still a great site.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kagatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Ingles, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A suprise”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The most visited church in Italy for pilgrims. The tomb of St Antonio, who was from Portugal, is unique.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank canaryfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A stunner”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

A lover of churches this one is up there with the best. Even with all the restoration it is peaceful and there'splenty to look at. Very beautiful and tranquil.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
490 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Its not Disney Land”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

To get there we took the train from Mestre on the fast one in the morning 8:12am 4 Euros for the express 1st Class cheap. so it too about 14 min. then you go to the Magazine place and buy a trolley bus on tracks round trip I think the stop is Santo but just to make sure you ask a nun and she'll practically take you there very nice people not chatty friendly tho. You walk towards where you were going and around the corner turn left and a Kodak photo you just walk. eary is good to avoid the tour groups. Enter the left enterance and keep going stay along the wall so to speak. and at the furthest point there is the display of I don't what it is but they say St. Anthonys tongue and all that is in there. There was a jaw thing, I don't like that kind a thing if I did I'd be a doctor. The gift shop was ok we bought whole bunch of magnetics and a DVD We wanted the Photo book but its only in Italian.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica di Sant’Antonio - Basilica del Santo also viewed

Padua, Province of Padua
Padua, Province of Padua
 
Padua, Province of Padua
 

Been to Basilica di Sant’Antonio - Basilica del Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing