We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Hotel Toscanelli
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Padua
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“not very welcoming”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

No serious complaints but found the reception very distant. We complained about the light in our bathroom that kept constantly turning on and off. We were only there for two nights but though we were told something would be done the light remained the same. Staff for breakfast very friendly and helpful. Very noisy the first night as students celebrating in café opposite our bedroom.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    131
    59
    17
    9
See reviews for
35
93
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benton, PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Unfortunately, our two-night stay at Hotel Majestic Toscanelli was disappointing. Each problem we encountered was small, and each time was greeted with “Oh no, not another one!” – but when combined they made our stay unpleasant. If I had to identify one overriding problem it would be lack of customer service. I say this after coming from two very customer-oriented hotels in Milan and Verona, and renting two apartments in Venice and Rome. In each place, the managers made the guest feel welcome. I didn’t get that feeling at the Majestic Toscanelli. I don’t know if there are other four-star hotels in Padua, but I do not recommend the Hotel Majestic Toscanelli.
PROs: The lobby was very nice and there was a nice sitting area; the breakfast was good and plentiful, although you had to pay for it, which was not indicated (see Cons below); the room was clean and provided a lot of natural light, although my wife thought the sheets and furniture were worn; very good location and easy to walk to all the sites; our room overlooked a piazza (however, there were two bars outside which were noisy—you may not mind that), I believe you can request an interior room.
CONs: There was no friendly greeting upon arrival; the lights in the room are controlled by a smart card, about which we were not told (I thought we had no power when I entered the room); the directions for the safe were in Italian only making it very difficult to operate; the WiFi did not work and no effort was made to accommodate our computer needs; because there was no WiFi, I could not make reservations for the Scrovegni Chapel—the front desk clerk did no offer to help until I begged her to make a call for me; the water took forever to get hot; when I asked where the breakfast room was the front-desk clerk told me, but failed to mention that there was a 10 Euro charge per person per night, when I questioned the charge at checkout she said that was the way it was—a letter of inquiry after the trip was not answered.
My wife and I loved our visit to Padua; the sites are incredible and the city is enjoyable. If these inconveniences are corrected, the Hotel Majestic Toscanelli could be a nice hotel, but until then I would not recommend it. Your priorities may be different.

Room Tip: Request a room that does not face the piazza
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moycullen, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. It's very central to all that's great to see in Padua on a quiet street (apart from a few noisy revelling students outside, but then it is an old university town). The room was very spacious and clean, with a fantastic bathroom. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front may be noisy owing to a bar opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Majestic is very conveniently located in the city centre and, as a consequence, there is no shortage of nearby restaurants. The hotel's style is rather traditional, so don't expect anything too hip or contemporary, in particular in the bathroom. However, interiors are rather pleasant and fittings not tired at all. Rooms are not really oversized and even the Junior Suite is closer to a superior or executive room. Staff are friendly and efficient both at check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our family of four stayed in this lovely hotel for a couple of nights.
The location is standout anthe rooms had that old world Italian charm but with modern facilities.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were excellent

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent 6 nights last month at this wonderful hotel. It is in a great location - close to lots of restaurants and the famous St Anthony's Basilica. It is about 20 minutes' walk to the Padova Train Station. Our room was amazing, the hotel decor, the friendly staff and the magnificent breakfast made our stay in Padova unforgettable. The Weilands (Australia)

Room Tip: The loft was great - maybe not so if you are very tall. It is in fact an apartment and has everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEZZAMARIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte- Brazil
Level Contributor
233 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Location is excellent, inside historic center, close to all attractions in historic center and 15 minutes walking to Basilica of St Anthony and Scrovegni Chapel (Cappella degli Scrovegni. Both places are a bit retired from historic center, so is impossible to be close to all). Breakfast is very good with assorted breads, cheese, fruit, etc.Helpful staff.Free internet.Room is big enough, with tea-coffee makers, safe.I heard some noise from hotel, but very weak noise.So, I am not sure if romms are completely sound proofing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRANCISCO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Padua hotels
0.4 mi away
Belludi 37
Belludi 37
#1 of 46 in Padua
1,012 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca
0.3 mi away
Albergo Verdi
Albergo Verdi
#16 of 46 in Padua
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa Padova
Hotel Europa Padova
#29 of 46 in Padua
318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritan
Maritan
#3 of 46 in Padua
977 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#19 of 46 in Padua
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel Toscanelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel Toscanelli

Property: Majestic Hotel Toscanelli
Address: Via Dell'Arco 2, 35122, Padua, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Padua
#10 Business Hotel in Padua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Hotel Toscanelli 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Majestic Hotel Toscanelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Padua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing