We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel with scrumptious breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Padua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great hotel with scrumptious breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

stayed at the grand'italia for one night and it did not disappoint! very conveniently located (just steps from the train station), nice staff and clean/quiet rooms, with good wi-fi... some travelers may be a little disconcerted by the riff-raff hanging around in the vicinity of the hotel, but that's a train station issue, not a hotel issue! the breakfast was wide-ranging and copious! 4 out of 5 stars

Room Tip: our room overlooked the street but the windows are good and thick so there was no street noise whats...
See more room tips
Green Features: seemed environmentally-friendly to me! towel replacement only when necessary, etc.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LHS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    246
    92
    25
    13
See reviews for
71
215
57
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel is very conveniently located across the street from the r.r. terminal. There is a tram stop nearby. But this is not the best tourist location. The area near the former justice palace would be better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trustme1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letbridge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and i stayed at the Hotel Grand Italia in May for 4 nights it was our first time in Italy. We were not disappointed the location was good opposite the train station the room and breakfast were very good. The only problem is when you first arrive the area outside the hotel might look a little seedy but we never had any problem at all. It is only 25 minuites by train to Venice and 1 hour 15 minuites to florence. Would recommend this hotel to others no problem.
Gwyn an Sylvia Hughes

Room Tip: All rooms were good
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel appears to adhere to enviroment concerns all rooms are climate controlled.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I dont give a positive review that easy. This was very nice stay. The reception was very good. Any one who wants to go around Venice, cannot afford the price in venice and decide to stay in Padova, stay here. Just opposite to train station. Was very much impressed by the location. The staffs were super! Helped beyond what was necessary. If I happen to go to that area, will be staying there.

Room Tip: I have stayed only once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sathish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

To be honest While I could stay around 25-30 hotels a year ( the just-finished Italy trip had 12 hotels in 21 days...) , writing review isn't my normal practice... and I have already left the review at the website I booked this hotel. But I promise the hotel staff to review here in Tripadvisor, and so I keep my words!
While a lot of claimed 4 star hotel in Europe are rather questionable!! I can see how many hands have raised up! Grand'Italia is a real deal. Property is well kept in every way, friendly staffs ( not just one but several of them). And I weigh the rating also by details, It uses all fluffy "real towels", while some Europe hotels are using " cloth sheet". Again "real scramble eggs" at brekky, even makes some 5 star hotels ashamed. And with the very reasonable rate I paid. This is a highly recommended hotel in Padova.
IF there is any flaw? Its ultra-close to Central Station locatio somewhat needs 10-15 mins walk to historical centre. BUT easy fixed by a bus or tram ride, and the hotel staffs are delighted to help you figure out ( my experience).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxwellL517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

It’s always a toss-up as to the efficiency of a city centre hotel vs. one a few miles away, as there is a balance between convenience and cost. And of course there is a bit of a risk when staying outside a major city and planning on public transport to get you around on a timely fashion. I suppose we should have remembered that Italy’s first World Cup match was coming soon and realised that some malady would befall our plans to travel back to Padova from Venice by train. Sure enough, a few hours before the match, the Regionale train workers went on strike for 24 hours - enough time to enjoy the match, celebrate and sleep. But barring that, our decision to stay in the Hotel Grand’Italia was surprisingly good.

The hotel was a bit difficult to locate, but a call to the front desk helped direct us to a set down area next door. There we were met by a member of staff who helped with our baggage then went with us to the nearby secure car park to assure we found it easily. This is a pleasant hotel, located conveniently just across the street from Padova’s central rail station, with comfortable rooms at a reasonable price. In fact, even after paying our €9 daily return ticket to Venice and a modest parking charge, we came out well ahead from anything in Venice.

The rooms were good size with everything we needed at hand. There was reasonable storage and everything was clean and functional. Breakfast was plentiful, and service from the front desk was excellent. But this hotel is all about convenience, and once you have located it, you could not find a better spot for either Padova or Venice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SavvyTravelerReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We needed somewhere close to the railway station and to the Scrovegni Chapel (just across the street from the railway station, and maybe 10 minutes to the Chapel), for which this place is just perfect. it is also thoughtfully managed, with kind and courteous staff; has clean, comfortable, freshly decorated - if perhaps not exciting - rooms with attached bathrooms with bathtubs and plenteous hotwater, and provides a fabulously generous breakfast - (ask for espresso if the 'Americano' coffee provided doesn't suit, and they will make it gladly and happily) - with the added joy of market-fresh cherries. We really liked it - and don't trouble about the 'newly arrived Italians' - and they will surely not trouble you. Indeed, smile at them, and they will perhaps return the smile.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank fishangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Padua hotels
1.1 mi away
Belludi 37
Belludi 37
#1 of 51 in Padua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maritan
Maritan
#2 of 51 in Padua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Padova
NH Padova
#3 of 51 in Padua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Patavium
Hotel Patavium
#6 of 51 in Padua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Padova
Crowne Plaza Padova
#4 of 51 in Padua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Galileo Padova
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca

Property: Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca
Address: Corso del Popolo 81, 35131, Padua, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Padua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Padua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian-style 4-story Hotel located on a corner in city's historic center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Italia
Grand Italia Padua
Golden Tulip Padua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing