We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Professional, comfortable and convenient”
Review of Hotel Plaza Padova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Padova
Ranked #44 of 49 Hotels in Padua
Leeds
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Professional, comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I note some Australian tourists have been disappointed by this hotel ! Hmmm. It is important for them and all others to acknowledge that the Veneto region of Italy is high class. People are well educated, well brought up and well mannered. If you want all the false bonhomie of hotel reception staff, then try the Marriott in the USA ! The staff at the Plaza are professional. They are not over talkative and nor do they need to be. This is largely a business hotel but equally a fantastic establishment for tourists. The main piazzas of Padua are five minutes away on foot. There is the most impressive ice cream parlour just opposite. The rooms are very clean as are the superb bathrooms. All my requests and queries were politely and efficiently dealt with by the reception staff. But they are not the type of personnel who will befriend you. They do their job and do it well. Don't be fooled by the rather outdated appearance of the building itself, the interiors more than compensate for this. The only things my room lacked were a kettle and cups, and an iron (but there is an ironing room). The room wifi rate is very cheap. The breakfast buffet is served in a sumptuous setting and is more than adequate. My five days at the Plaza and Padua were memorable and peaceful. I can't rate the location of this hotel enough. Don't be fooled into staying in hotels near the station ie. too far and a bit seedy. If you fancy great Padovan cuisine, then try the Osteria dei Fabbri which is a ten minute walk away. The best way to find the hotel is to take a bus from Venice Marco Polo airport to Padua bus station (50 minutes). Then take the bus into Padua (very short trip). The bus stops about a minute away from the hotel and any bus driver wil tell you where to get off.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views of the back of the hotel ie. not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PierreLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM-PLAZA, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza Padova, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your extremely positive review.
I'm utterly flattered knowing you truly enjoyed the location, the Staff professionalism, the cleanliness and the services we are proud to offer.
I very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

My very best regards,

Gabriele Ioseffini
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    232
    242
    144
    141
See reviews for
161
270
47
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

If you are going to Padua and want somewhere to stay for a couple of nights, then Hotel Plaza is an ok hotel - but the staff at the front reception are very unwelcoming. If you don't care about service (or lack of it) then this hotel is in a pretty good location to explore the city.
We were there during the earthquake in May 2012. We all got woken up in the night (4am) by the after shocks and when I questioned the reception staff in the morning, she looked at me like I had two-heads! (And she spoke perfect English!) So I am unsure what all that was about!!
Nothing was really wrong with the hotel, it was just a bed for a pit stop in Padua.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the main road, so are very noisy as the road is the main vein of Padua
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatNeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradea, Romania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The hotel is located in the center, just a few minutes walk from the old center. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
I wasn't happy about the smell in the room (don't choose room 508, or any room an the 5th floor, it sinks as soon as you step out of the elevator), I left the window opened all day and used an odorizing spray, but there was no improving :(
Another fact was a bit disturbing, the parking of the car. On the site I read that they park the car on the sight... well that is not true. You have to park your car at the hotel, and the staff is taking it to one of their garages. In case you need your car you have to ask for it at least 10-15 minutes in advance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora Erika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We've just spent a week at the Plaza and strongly recommend it as a good hotel, perfect as a base for exploring not just Padova but also Venice and the wider Veneto area. It's a fifteen minute walk from the station and a five minute walk from the historic centre of the city.

The rooms are comfortable, quiet (at the back of the hotel at least) and the air conditioning works well. Breakfast lacks variety but is well presented and more than adequate. The staff are polite and helpful. The dining room (where breakfast is also served) looks good for dinner but if the weather's fine you'll want to walk out in Padova and find an outside restaurant.

I would give it five stars but the hotel is very bland and lacking in character; the public areas are limited and the bar dreary. There's no swimming pool but I think there is a small gym.

We would stay here again - it's good value and there are no hidden extras (except the city tax) - even car parking is free, but you should book it to guarantee a space.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet one and got the back of the hotel; the front is on a busy road and has no view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erskinemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

On the plus side the room was clean & reasonably comfortable. The staff, on the other hand, left a lot to be desired. On arrival, despite having a booking, we were told there were only twin rooms available. We requested that the twin beds be made as doubles and were told this was not possible. It was only after repeated insistent that a grudging phone call was made to housekeeping to arrange this, without any real problem as far as we could tell. This level of reluctant service was present from most of the staff through our stay. For a "4 star" hotel it was pretty poor. A shame really, because we ate the best food of anywhere in Italy on our trip so far in a tiny ristorante not far from this Hotel. I certainly would not recommend this Hotel and would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caesar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Padua hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Perth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Plaza Hotel is located within the historic walls of Padova. It is a reasonable walk from the train station, through beautiful streets so no problems.

The rooms in the hotel were well serviced, extremely clean and large enough to use as a base to sight-see in Padova or heading into Venice.

The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful in recommending places to eat (had the best pizza and pasta at a local hotel with a short walk) and directing us to a laundromat to use.

The breakfast at the hotel is second to none, given it was included in a cheap price, and kept us going for most of the day. One of the best hotel breakfast ranges we've ever had.

We would definitely stay there again, and recommend to all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Europe-travellers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kherson, Ukraine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

The hotel Plaza is not located in the very center of the city but it is close enough for nice foot walk. I got the large room at the last floor. Elevator can not reach the last floor and I should go from 5th to 6th by footsteps - not a problem for a young man like me but if you have problems with your health please take care and ask for lower floor.
I found breakfast rich and tasteful with the presence of my favorite grapefruit juice :-) Shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom were of good quality. Staff was very nice and friendly, especially I would like to mention receptionist Natalya who helped me during my stay. For Russian speaking guests I strongly recommend this hotel because a few staff members speak Russian.
Why did I not rate this hotel as "exellent"? The reason is crazy prices for internet. Everybody knows how cheap is internet in our times and such a politics to get something from nothing could not be appreciated!

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank yurisolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Padua hotels
0.4 mi away
Majestic Hotel Toscanelli
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa Padova
Hotel Europa Padova
#31 of 49 in Padua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Verdi
Albergo Verdi
#16 of 49 in Padua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Padova
Crowne Plaza Padova
#4 of 49 in Padua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Padova
NH Padova
#2 of 49 in Padua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Padova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Padova

Property: Hotel Plaza Padova
Address: Corso Milano 40, 35139, Padua, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Padua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza Padova 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Padova is at the centre of your holiday or business trip. It gives you everything you want with no messing about. 130 rooms divided into four categories: standard, superior, deluxe and suite. Hotel Plaza is in the very centre of Padua, the pedestrian zone is just 300 metres away: just step outside and you are in the very heart of the city! Hotel Plaza Padova is the centre-point of your business trip. You can depend on 3 meeting rooms with WI-FI connection, the quality of the restaurant and the convenience of the private garage. And at the end of the day, enjoy a well-deserved break in the gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Padova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Padova Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing