We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel marred by unnecessary frugality and suspicion”
Review of Hotel Giotto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giotto
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Padua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Good hotel very close to the old center, moderate prices, comfortable rooms, and decent (though not exceptional) breakfast. I would have given this hotel 4 stars except that the experience of staying in this hotel is marred by unnecessary frugality and suspicion, and overall, the staff (desk, bar) fail to project hospitality and friendliness.

On the second day I asked the desk for another street map (this is the single-sheet free map that is funded by advertisements and of which the desk had huge supply), because I gave the first map to a couple of lost tourists the day before -- and was refused! I had to literally pull the map from the receptionist's hands!

The free Internet connection required a password. However, whereas in most places you enter the password once and then are re-connected automatically whenever you enter the hotel -- here you must reconnect whenever your computer goes to sleep (on top of this, the connection interface on an iPad is buggy and connecting is a maddening procedure). Moreover, the password expires every 5 hours or so, and you must ask the desk to issue you a new password again and again and again. The CIA could learn network security from this hotel. Because I rely on the Internet to plan the rest of my trip, this was a major headache.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kloomnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 608 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

We used the hotel for an overnight after a tour of the Italian lakes as it is about 30 minutes drive from Marco Polo airport.Rooms are a decent size and most importantly had air conditioning! Staff were friendly and the rooms were clean. Car parking is a little awkward as you have to loop back through a one way system to get to it from the hotel entrance but at least the hotel had it. Breakfast was a fairly sparse affair though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjimcanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is by far the best hotel we stayed in This month of july . The rooms are large and very clean. They always change your towels every day. The bathrooms is sparkling clean as well. The air conditioning worked well . Staff Hotel we recommended a great small restaurant we really enjoyed and They responded to each and every request in a gentleman and prompt manner. Thanks!!! Keep up thegreat work!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnisih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I chose this hotel from TripAdvisor when my husband and I visited Padua last November. My husband was visiting the AutoEpoca classic car show and I spent the time sightseeing. Padua is a wonderful city to visit and this hotel is such a find. It is located in a residential suburb, and is served by a bus, so don't be put off by the fact that it's not in the town centre. It's very good value, has modern comfy rooms, serves a great breakfast and has a restaurant next to it which is used by all the locals - always a good sign in italy. So, when you come back to your room after a hard day's sightseeing, there's no need to go into town again with such a great restaurant on your doorstep. We had a delicious meal there.

The staff in the hotel and in the restaurant are friendly and helpful. We will definitely use this hotel again when we next visit Padua, and would recommend that you do so too!

Room Tip: room 102 in front s. antony!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeck s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

After 2 hours that we leave hotel we realize that we forget our jackets. When we call hotel they confirmed our jackets are in our room (202). Also they told us that they will send us our jackets.
Strange was that they ask us to provide with name and address since they have it in from reservation and from our passports. I send them since then 5 mails confirming that I will cover all transportation cost ( I ask them to choose what is most suitable way for them) and asking to send us our jackets. NO REPLY! This is really poor from their side.
+ Room was clean and large enough for Italian hotel, location of hotel
- breakfast area is very small , just few tables and space between is also very small, small drawer, Price ( check you can find cheaper hotels within same level as this one)

Room Tip: I can recommend room we stay in, 202 located above the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pierluigi_mazzucato, Proprietario at Hotel Giotto, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Gentlemen, Thank you for writing a review for the hotel giotto. But it seems only right that things are such as they really happened. The jackets you forget were immediately found. You have asked to send them with a courier and you asked us the courtesy to inform us the shipping cost, we informed and the cost was Euro 220,00 and then expecting an answer from you on what to do. But of course there have never responded and now you write that we have never sent your jackets. So let us know if you send a courier you or would you prefer that we do for you. We are always available to help solve the unforeseen events that happen to our customers, but there are costs that the hotel can not 'charge for things that do not depend on the hotel. Thanks again anyway for the opportunity you gave us to say how really went the facts. Sincerely. Hotel Giotto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Unfortunately, we left our three jackets in the cupboard in our room and only realised such a few hours later, so we were too far to turn around. We called the hotel and the day receptionist answeredin a very unfriendly manner and didn't assist us in the least. When we called again to ask them to please check the room we were told nothing has been found. Well, someone is the lucky new owner of expensive leather jackets. It happens, sure. Our mistake. But it could have been handled in a professional, friendly manner, which it wasn't.

Room Tip: Rooms are fine, beds comfortable and bathrooms really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liv777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pierluigi_mazzucato, Proprietario at Hotel Giotto, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Madam, we are sorry that you wrote a review not real. Things for our readers have gone this way: you have forgotten three jackets in your room, when you were called was not yet been found and recorded in the forgotten objects, were found just after we contacted you by phone for so many days and then we have sent you an email, but you never responded. The proof that the objects were forgotten by us is kept demonstrated that when yesterday July 12, 2013 you are returned to the hotel, the three jackets there were immediately delivered. In addition, we have also helped us to call the shipping company that you have indicated where you say you have forgotten a hat. This shows that for our part we are always very attentive to customers' problems and help them to solve them, contrary to what you claim. Thanks again, especially the possibility of being able to write how things really went. Sincerely, Sante Russo commercial director, Hotel Giotto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

nice hotel nice city nice people nice room,nice hotel,nice city,nice people,nice room, nice city, nice hotel,nice people , nice room, nice breakfast, nice city,nice hotel,nice room, nice people,nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obolg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Padua hotels
0.2 mi away
Maritan
Maritan
#3 of 45 in Padua
1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Padova Casa del Pellegrino
0.3 mi away
Belludi 37
Belludi 37
#1 of 45 in Padua
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Galileo Padova
0.9 mi away
NH Padova
NH Padova
#2 of 45 in Padua
1,763 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Padova
Ibis Padova
#17 of 45 in Padua
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giotto

Address: Piazzale Pontecorvo 33, 35121, Padua, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Padua
Price Range: $67 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giotto 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giotto is in a historic building 300 metres from the famous Prato della Valle, charming square in the heart of Padua. The Basilica is also nearby. The rooms offer free wired internet. Giotto Hotel is family run. Professional and multilingual staff can provide tourist and travel information. All rooms are air-conditioned and soundproofed. Each features a private bathroom with shower. The hotel is 400 metres from the nearest bus stop with connections to Padua Train Station, 2 km away. The Azienda Ospedaliera di Padova hospital is a 5-minute walk away. Private parking is available. Private parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Giotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing