We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ristorante Vecchio Falconiere /The Old Falconer) Padova”
Review of Vecchio Falconiere

Vecchio Falconiere
Ranked #18 of 1,042 Restaurants in Padua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed November 3, 2013

With my wife we decided to spend few days in Padova, Italy over the period of 1st of November ( All saints Day). Being in Italy the restaurants have strange working hours - they operate over lunch, and then close until 7PM and in between you can almost starve. The same was the story of th Veccio Falconiere. BUT, the wait was worth wile... The environment was classy without being overdone. The staff fantastic. The owner attended to us (we were the very 1st guests that evening) listened to us about my wife's dietary requirements and than proceeded to organize the diner. And that was a surprise...Antipasto (entree) included steak Tartare (one of the best I ever tasted) followed by grilled local sausages (very flavorsome without being sharp). The wine served was vintage 2011, local produce Cabernet-Sauvignon, in a word - excellent. Then suddenly the owner/chef appeared with a trolley on which were slabs of beautiful pieces of meat. Angus beef as well as some local beef. The meat was sliced very thinly and placed on extremely hot dinner plates and actually the plates were so hot that the meat was done on them to the perfection to individual's liking. The mixed fresh salad was served as well. There was the option of grilled vegetables which we declined. This was followed by a delicious serve tirra-missu . And the total cost for two was only Eur 65.00 including coffee. To think that we drank the full bottle of lovely wine, I have to say the best value in a many a day that we came across. In fact the meal was so good (accompanied by friendliness of the staff) so we came again for dinner the next day and repeated the menu from the evening before...Reservation is almost a must , particularly if you want a table on Saturday evening...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ganara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VecchioFalconiere, Direttore at Vecchio Falconiere, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013
Google Translation

La ringraziamo per la sua visita al nostro ristorante, la sua opinione è molto importante per poter offrire un servizio sempre migliore. Sperando di riaverla come nostro cliente, Le porgo i nostri più cordiali saluti. Ristorante il Vecchio Falconiere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 167 of 2,366 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

That's it. The Owner ask me: do you eat meat? this is a place where you eat meat! i said 'ok'...

So good. Simple, tasty, and interesting cooking technique.
Crowded so be patient. Around 23h is half full. Perfect for a protein base before drinking:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ivan602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VecchioFalconiere, Direttore at Vecchio Falconiere, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013
Google Translation

Gentile cliente, La ringraziamo per la visita al nostro ristorante e per la sua testimonianza della bontá della nostra carne.Ci auguriamo di rivederla nel nostro ristorante. Le porgo i nostri più cordiali saluti.
Ristorante il Vecchio Falconiere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

It was almost midnight and not many places still open.
The owner himself welcome us and was friendly and smiling.
The best of the place is handling of meat.
They are "cooking" the meat in your table - it is cooked on hot plate
and served sliced exact to your test.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DGSmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VecchioFalconiere, Direttore at Vecchio Falconiere, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013
Google Translation

La ringraziamo per la sua visita al nostro ristorante, la sua opinione è molto importante per poter offrire un servizio sempre migliore. Sperando di riaverla come nostro cliente, Le porgo i nostri più cordiali saluti. Ristorante il Vecchio Falconiere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I ate at this restaurant two days in a row and each time I not only had an excellent meal but an evening of pleasant service.

What made a difference was the owner's presence and personal involvement in the diner's meal. There was a special touch - sometimes more than one - at each meal.

On my first visit I was immediately given a glass of Prosecco - complimentary. Before the pasta course they brought a house dish of toasted bread and sausage - complimentary. I ordered a primi of pasta and a secondi of Fillet with Green Pepper Sauce. I also ordered the Grilled Vegetables.

Both dishes were cooked perfectly. The fillet came to the table sizzling. The grilled vegetables were plentiful and exceptional.

I had the house wine where they bring a bottle and you pay for what you drink.

On my second visit I ordered bruschette but the owner brought me a lovely plate of proscuitto - very nice - complimentary. There was the house toasted bread and sausage. My main course - a large cut of t-bone prepared perfectly. Cooked in the kitchen and finished at the table. I also had a mixed salad - the dressing was prepared by the owner.

Bottom line. Personable service and good food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VecchioFalconiere, Direttore at Vecchio Falconiere, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013
Google Translation

La ringraziamo per la sua visita al nostro ristorante, la sua opinione è molto importante per poter offrire un servizio sempre migliore. Sperando di riaverla come nostro cliente, Le porgo i nostri più cordiali saluti. Ristorante il Vecchio Falconiere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had walked past this restaurant many times and resolved to try it. We were at a loose end one day and decided just to pop in for lunch. Good decision! Wonderful lunch! We had been intrigued by the idea of the risotto in the hollow parmesan wheel, which we ordered. O.K. so it comes out of the kitchen on a trolley, it's a couple of feet in diameter and there is a thick rim of cheese still all around the inside. Your risotto is in the middle and chef will shave cheese from the rim into your risotto which then gets served to you on plates. Wonderful! We also had the house speciality, the mixed beef plate which is served from the trolley at your table . Clearly, the owner takes great pride in this dish and with good reason. He is personable, welcoming and speaks English. A bottle of good red was only 12 euros. All in all, well worth a visit if you are in Padova.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DougYWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VecchioFalconiere, Direttore at Vecchio Falconiere, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013
Google Translation

Gentile cliente, La ringraziamo per la visita al nostro ristorante e per la sua testimonianza della bontá della nostra carne.Ci auguriamo di rivederla nel nostro ristorante. Le porgo i nostri più cordiali saluti.
Ristorante il Vecchio Falconiere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vecchio Falconiere also viewed

Padua, Province of Padua
Padua, Province of Padua
 
Padua, Province of Padua
Padua, Province of Padua
 

Been to Vecchio Falconiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing