We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants in Italy”
Review of Vecchio Falconiere

Vecchio Falconiere
Ranked #18 of 1,042 Restaurants in Padua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We have been to hundreds of different restaurants in Italy from south to north but this one is very special!
I must admit I don't eat red meat at all and my husband doesn't mind it but not a great fan neither. We were a bit sceptical about this restaurant as it is mainly a red meat restaurant. As we were hungry and there was nowhere open at 9.00 on a Sunday, we decided to try it. Very glad we did!!
Very atmospheric, charming, old fashioned lay out and what a nice welcome from the staff!
Menu is in Italian but our waiter (maybe owner?) did his best to explain to us. When we said we don't like red meat he went to kitchen and tried to sort something out instead of refusing us.
We had a lovely plate of antipasti (the best we ever had), homemade pasta (i am a pasta expert and it was perfect!!). Then he cooked us duck with potatoes in tomato sauce. It was so tender and delicious.
He was such a lovely man taking pride in his cuisine and doing everything to please the customers. He cooks the dishes right in front of you and serves it while it's sizzling.
If u like meat you have to try this restaurant.
We thought it would be expensive after all that we had but it was very reasonable!
Excellent vine and beautifully fresh bread! Can't wait to eat there again one day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Countmypearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VecchioFalconiere, Direttore at Vecchio Falconiere, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013
Google Translation

La ringraziamo per la sua visita al nostro ristorante e per la sua opinione importante per poter migliorare il nostro servizio. Ci auguriamo di rivederla nel nostro ristorante. Le porgo i nostri più cordiali saluti. Ristorante il Vecchio Falconiere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 191 of 2,367 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Been here almost two weeks. Walked by here several times. Dropped in early for Italy. Half we did. Friendly, unique, high quality. Excellent values. It loaded up with locals on a Wednesday night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LanceChaswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VecchioFalconiere, Direttore at Vecchio Falconiere, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013
Google Translation

La ringraziamo per la sua visita al nostro ristorante, la sua opinione è molto importante per poter offrire un servizio sempre migliore. Sperando di riaverla come nostro cliente, Le porgo i nostri più cordiali saluti. Ristorante il Vecchio Falconiere.mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I am a world traveller and I have to say Mr. Mohammed served me the best meat I've ever had, and it's cooked on the plate!!!
If you're in Padova it's a MUST TRY!! I can't wait to go back!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 701JohnA701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VecchioFalconiere, Direttore at Vecchio Falconiere, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013
Google Translation

La ringraziamo per la sua visita al nostro ristorante, la sua opinione è molto importante per poter offrire un servizio sempre migliore. Sperando di riaverla come nostro cliente, Le porgo i nostri più cordiali saluti. Ristorante il Vecchio Falconiere.mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

They have an original way of preparing meat, cooked directly in the dish.
Never tried a better way of cooking meat. It was extremely good, very soft and very tastefull.
We just spent the sylvester night, it was amazing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VecchioFalconiere, Direttore at Vecchio Falconiere, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013
Google Translation

La ringraziamo per la sua visita al nostro ristorante, la sua opinione è molto importante per poter offrire un servizio sempre migliore. Sperando di riaverla come nostro cliente, Le porgo i nostri più cordiali saluti. Ristorante il Vecchio Falconiere. Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I went back to this restaurant twice while on business in Padova and it still has my vote. The first night I was with clients and the place was just packed, doing table changes almost 3 times during the evening. Even though they were super busy, I still thought the service was fine after all, when things are busy are the times to judge a place not when it is slow. The food was fantastic, the wine and the meat of course was the best. We had a tris of pasta and that was wonderful, risotto served out of form of parmigiano. Fresh made pasta with cinta pork ragu - fabulous! Two nights later we returned, it was not as crazy busy but still busy and we had the best meat ever. I had chateaubriand, which was so tender it melted in my mouth. My partner had a fiorentina steak and that was superb. The owner is always attentive and cuts the meat and prepares it for each table. His hospitality is the best. So, for the negative comments remember, if you go to this restaurant, order what it is famous for and, when there are art shows or trade shows, this place is packed because locals get priority over tourists so have some patience, make reservations, be patient if the table is not ready, have a glass of prosecco and enjoy the hospitality of the Veneto.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank snowwhiteMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VecchioFalconiere, Direttore at Vecchio Falconiere, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013
Google Translation

La ringraziamo per la sua visita al nostro ristorante, la sua opinione è molto importante per poter offrire un servizio sempre migliore. Sperando di riaverla come nostro cliente, Le porgo i nostri più cordiali saluti. Ristorante il Vecchio Falconiere. Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vecchio Falconiere also viewed

Padua, Province of Padua
Padua, Province of Padua
 
Padua, Province of Padua
Padua, Province of Padua
 

Been to Vecchio Falconiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing