We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed Bugs!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Padova Casa del Pellegrino
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Padua
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs!!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The hotel is in a great location. A little overpriced for the lack of comfort and no breakfast. The wireless worked on and off. The staff was great and speaks all kinds of languages fluently. Our entire family suffered from bed bug bites. We thought that they were "Italien" mosquito bites until after we left.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view onto the Basilica of San Antonio
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redpaint302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcasapellegrino, Direttore at Hotel Padova Casa del Pellegrino, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear Ms. "Redpaint",

I'm very sorry and surprised about what you wrote on our Hotel.
According to our customers opinions, one of our best performances is the cleanliness!
What I am wondering is why you did not tell us immediately?!! We would have much appreceated to be aware of such a kind of problem at the beginning. We could have checked at ones, given you a different room and disinfected the mattresses to avoid next customer gets the same bad esperience! This is first in our interest and probably is also the most helpful and fare behaviour towards people reading your reports.
As you have seen, in our property there's a garden with tall trees + a small wood behind the north fence belonging to our neighbours. Green areas, as we all know, bring especially in summer, insects, mosquitos and bugs.
It's really a shame, dear "Ms. Redpaint", that now it's too late to have the pleasure and help you with an upgrading (junior suite), a compensation (free dinner for all family) or a discount on the total bill.
Finally, I dare to suggest you and all travelling people to communicate as more as possible if they are not satisfied of something, because the solution of a disappointing situation is ofter closer than espected. This is the best way to make hotels improoving their services and also to help people coming after you.
Kindest regards.
Daniela Zuanon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    286
    115
    24
    13
See reviews for
171
171
55
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Hotel Casa del Pellegrino is a hotel with a rich history in a beautiful location that has kept up with the most modern demands of current travellers. The staff is friendly, courteous and the hotel rooms are very clean and well maintained (and for those US/Canadian travellers out there, it has AC!). I did not visit their restaurant, but their bar (front of the building) has excellent espresso's and a quick snack/breakfast for a very decent price. Most recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PvL_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed at Casa del Pellegrino for 6 nights. Its name means House of the Pilgrim and our room was very plain, rather Spartan, but was clean, comfortable and had all that we needed. It had ensuite facilities with a shower but no bath which was not a problem for us. The hotel is located across the street from the Basilica of St Anthony and our room at the front had a superb view (see photo). Some people have complained about the church bells but we didn't think they were a problem. Breakfast was 7 euros each per day. It was taken in a large, refectory-type room in a separate building through the courtyard and you must get a ticket from the front desk. Food was adequate and fresh but unexceptional. It's worth noting that the hotel caters for large groups of young people (pilgrims?) and the breakfast room can be very busy. We also had a problem on one night with kids (teenagers) making a lot of noise in the corridors late at night but the management told us it would not recur and it didn't.
Staff were polite and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel's location is ideal for exploring Padua and the city has much to offer - it certainly shouldn't be seen just as a base for visiting nearby Venice. All in all, the Casa del Pellegrino is a basic no frills option, ideally located which offers good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aygeemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I stayed there one night and woke up the next day with many bed bug bites. In addition I think it hitched a ride with me and now I'm in the process of washing all of my clothes in hot water!

I was at the hotel on the 21st of February for 1 night in room 130. They don't have private shower. Each room has a sink in the room, but toilet and shower facilities are in a public area to share.

The hotel overall for 42 Euros (including a breakfast) is a good deal if you don't mind sharing the shower with other people and getting bed bugs, although I'm sure not all rooms have the nasty bugs. Also, keep in mind there is only one shower stall, but I'm not sure how many they have per floor.

Breakfast wasn't very good. It had various breads and some ham, but that's about it and at 7 Euros you're better off going to a local bakery.

Service is great - very helpful with any questions you may have. Internet is free, but terribly slow to a point where I gave up.

I wouldn't stay again even if it was free because of the bed bug incident, but outside of that it's a cheap alternative if you carefully check your room first.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rjspurling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

The hotel has a great location within walking distance of many sights and city transportation.
We had a small but comfortable room facing the beautiful basilica which was lovely until the bells began ringing in the morning...
We woke up one morning around 7 AM to two cleaning women yelling in the hallway. We also had a slight issue when we returned at midnight to find the gate locked; we were then scolded by the man working night duty. We were apologetic yet confused as we'd seen nothing posted and could find no information about a possible curfew/when the gate closed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panders489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

The hotel is across the street from St. Anthony's Basilica and is very affordable.
The rooms are modern and very comfortable. The location is a pleasant walk
to the shopping area.
My complaints....the hotel must have more rooms than I realized and it was
often crowded with people at the front desk. When there were't many people
the concierge was busy doing hotel business. When I asked a question he
wanted to know if I HAD A ROOM THERE. So he didn't know people by sight
and often looked in the computer. We stayed at many a B&B on our trip to
other cities and they knew us by are names...so it was a little disappointing. The restaurant....very big and somewhat noisy. We preferred the smaller quieter places around town for meals.
Thumbs up on clean rooms, affordability, and, location. Thumbs down on service. Unless they hire more staff, service at the front desk is the downside to a large hotel.
When you are in another country service counts!
Recommend? If you want a great modern clean hotel, affordable, and a great location
to the basilica....YES! For excellent front desk service and a good place to eat......NO!
Travel Girl Francine from PA

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgirl6198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Five friends traveling in Italy for four weeks find Hotel Padova Casa del Pellegrino to have great location with service that was outstanding at a reasonable price! Secure parking, was provided, very friendly front desk service, internet service, and rooms with the best air-conditioning! We were delighted to always see friendly faces that were helpful with our every request. Even though they have their own restaurant they told us of other great places to eat. They went out of their way to locate an item that I wanted to buy and contacted me by email after I was back home in the USA. Need I say more?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyJanny68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Padua hotels
0.4 mi away
Maritan
Maritan
#3 of 46 in Padua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belludi 37
Belludi 37
#1 of 46 in Padua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Giotto
Hotel Giotto
#9 of 46 in Padua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca
0.1 mi away
Hotel Al Santo
Hotel Al Santo
#24 of 46 in Padua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Albergo Verdi
Albergo Verdi
#17 of 46 in Padua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Padova Casa del Pellegrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Padova Casa del Pellegrino

Property: Hotel Padova Casa del Pellegrino
Address: Via Melchiorre Cesarotti 21, 35123, Padua, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Padua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Padova Casa del Pellegrino 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Padua’s old town, a stone’s throw from St. Anthony’s Basilica, Prato della Valle and the Scrovegni Chapel.143 rooms, all, from single rooms to suites, equipped with shower, air conditioning, hair dryer, telephone and satellite TV.Parking lot2 meeting rooms for 45-50 people each for meetings and conferencesInternet pointRestaurant, Bar, Breakfast Room, Luggage storageChapel and TV/relax room24-hour Reception servicewe welcome both individual travellers and groups ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Padova Casa del Pellegrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padova Casa Del Pellegrino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing