We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly hotel in possibly the best location in Courmayeur”
Review of Hotel Tavernier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tavernier
Ranked #30 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
178 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel in possibly the best location in Courmayeur”
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Just returned from a long weekend ski trip with friends and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.
Firstly, the location is superb - it sits on the opposite side of the main road and river from most of the other hotels and the centre of the resort. Whilst this might be viewed as a disadvantage, it actually works in your favour because you make use of the Dolonne cable up to Plan Checroui rather than the busier main cable car from the town. All the skiing starts at Plan Checroui and I'd recommend making use of 'Noleggio Sci Lo Chalet' (one of the ski hire shops) - you can leave all your gear at the shop at the end of each day, which removes all the slog in the morning with all your ski's etc.
Getting to the centre of resort from the hotel is no great problem - about a 5-10 minute walk.
The welcome from Edith on reception was great - nothing is too much trouble. Indeed, all staff are very helpful. A big plus was the offer of letting us all come back to the hotel in the afternoon on our last day to take showers and get changed - this meant we had another full day skiing.
The rooms we had were basic (which is absolutely fine for ski trips) but quite spacious with plenty of storage, hanging for jackets etc.
We had breakfast at the hotel (which was fine - rolls and cereals) but did not eat during the evening as we wanted to see more of the town at night.
However, we did spend quite a lot of time in the bar which was a nice place to retreat in front of the fire. It's also great value compared to the rest of Courmayeur.
Just a quick point on Courmayeur itself - it's a really lovely ski resort but if you like being pushed there isn't enough skiing for a week. It's a perfect weekend break resort but we'd done it all pretty much in a day and we're not that energetic! However, for a long weekend it's just about perfect.
In summary, the Tavernier is a great value hotel in a great spot for skiing. I'm already thinking about when I can squeeze in my next weekend away and this hotel will be my first choice wihtout a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeHibb666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    63
    30
    12
    6
See reviews for
36
68
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2010

We stayed for four nights in the Hotel Tavernier. Would definitely recommend it as a ski hotel. We ate in the restaurant twice - once the food was excellent, once average but overrall it is good value for the price. Rooms were excellent although TV was a bit small but if you on a skiing holiday you are not there to watch TV! In addition there is a nice sauna and spa in the Hotel.

The best thing about the hotel is the location - it is a five minute walk to the quick, modern bubble lift to the slopes. If you do no thave your own skis you can hire your skis once on the slopes which makes it even quicker.

The location is not that central for the shops, bars and restaurants of Courmayeur - it is about a 10-15 minute walk but most people would probably agree close to the ski lifts is more important.

One other point - if you are driving there (we came from Turin and it was an easy 90 minute drive) it is best not to park in their car park as it is very difficult to manouvre up and down the slope particularly if there has been snow. When you arrive try and park outside or close by to offload luggage and then leave the car in the public car park 2 minutes away.

All in all a very nice hotel particularly if you pay 100 EUR a night for a double which is what we paid (HoweverI think we did not go in peak season as we went end of Jan)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jona001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

We stayed at the Tavernier In Dec 2006, as a mini vacance with Interski, an excellent idea - you sort the flights by yourself - to Geneva in our case - then Interski do the rest , including pick up from the airport, insurance, ski and boot hire, evening entertainment if you want to get involved and food and drink vouchers to use during the day.

Courmayeur is a beautiful place with a fabulous ski area - part of which unfortunately wasn't open this early in the season - but later visits have confirmed its appeal...there are some excellent runs once you get to the top of the mountain.

The hotel itself is run by Edith - who seems to be everywhere and is a little gem - and has excellent facilities for its size. Every day really is memorable and both the staff and rooms are excellent.

Food is typically Italian - as you would expect - and delicious, lubricated by free wine...

The town has numerous bars including Bar Roma, one of the premium apres-ski bars in Europe - get there in time for the food about 5.30pm - but be aware that their prices get hiked between xmas and new year.

Enjoy!

  • Liked — Feeling welcome
  • Disliked — Having to go home
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Tavernier having booked a long weekend's skiing with Interski, the location is beautiful and really convenient for the Dolonne gondola. The food was outrageously good, and the staff were extremely kind in accomodating my vegetarian food requirements! I was sad to see that a previous poster said their wife didn't think that the food was "authentic", not meaning to be rude but i think that just shows a lack of understanding as to what Italians actually eat - it's not just pasta and pizza!

I'd recommend this hotel (and Interski, who are fabulous) without any hesitation!

  • Liked — Proximity to the slopes and the food!
  • Disliked — Nothing not to like!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pineapple_JoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

A lovely cosy hotel, with great spa facilities and very close to the dolonne gondola for skiing. Edith and her team are amazing, and, although we were staying over christmas, the food was excellent, with a 7 course meal both christmas eve and christmas day. Breakfast was fine- better than some hotels I've stayed at in the italian alps. The rooms were large and warm, so our ski stuff dried each night. The rooms opened out to a central courtyard, which was lovely. We would certainly return here again!

  • Liked — great location and good personal service
  • Disliked — the extra charge for the spa
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank braeholm_broadford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2008

The Hotel is well situated for both the town of Courmayeur and the nearby ski lift. the Hotel is relatively small and is cosy with some lovely views of the mountains. the Hotel has a small spa facility but i did not use it, however other travellers in the party enjoyed it. staff at the Hotel were very nice and could not do enough for you, they were amongst the best i have encountered. The Hotel and rooms were kept clean and tidy. The only down side was the food. I personally thought it to be average but my wife absolutely loathed it. I was expecting authentic Italian food with a lot of pasta however we seemed to get various meats such as chicken, rabbit, deer and pork shin. the food was very plain and uninteresting. all in all i would recommend staying there but don't expect the best food.

  • Liked — locality
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abrahamwinkleury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Triolet
Hotel Triolet
#29 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Vallee Blanche
Hotel Vallee Blanche
#8 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Glaciers
Hotel des Glaciers
#25 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Jumeaux Courmayeur
Hotel Les Jumeaux Courmayeur
#35 of 42 in Courmayeur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Crampon
Hotel Crampon
#13 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stella Del Nord Hotel
Stella Del Nord Hotel
#24 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tavernier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tavernier

Property: Hotel Tavernier
Address: Strada Dolonne Courmayeur 27, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Courmayeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tavernier 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well situated just before the new cable car at Courmayeur. The hotel which lies on the banks of the Torrent Dora Baltea has also a Fitness Center that applies the same antique philosophy as was used in Roman baths by means of modern technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Tavernier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavernier Hotel Courmayeur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing