We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good in parts not so good in others!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Maison Saint Jean
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
“Good in parts not so good in others!”
Reviewed February 21, 2009

Great location, nice hotel but we were on half board and the food was really very poor. often arriving tepid - not the sort of food wanted after skiing! You could go for the a la carte menu but very expensive. Very annoyed at the surprise extra cost for use of the pool at €15 pp in a party of 8 of us! The waitresses were accomodating . The wine list is excellent and the manager does come to his fore when it comes to helping with the wine. Needed to work on laptop and used their WiFi, again quite expensive €6 per hour.
Maybe we were just unlucky but would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    87
    18
    8
    1
See reviews for
47
67
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

We enjoyed a great Christmas ski holiday at this hotel. It's a family run hotel where the staff and owners could not be more helpful or courteous. The rooms are amply sized, we were in two families (one five people, the other three) and would recommend it to any family size or group whatever the purpose of your stay. The hotel is dead central relatively close to both the ski lifts and a two minute walk from the pedestrianised area including VIa Roma. Food was of a consistently high standard with local dishes featuring almost nightly. Have not had a better morning coffee anywhere. The owner has a very deep interest and expertise in wines the extensive wine list may be too extensive when thirsty, however the advice given about your choice was delivered sincerely and usually followed by a fine tasting wine.

  • Liked — They presented a higher service than you would expect from a three star rating.
  • Disliked — Lack of fantastic
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2008

We stayed at Maison Saint Jean for 7 nights in January and our experience here was amazing.

The staff were fabulous - they couldn't have been more accommodating. We were getting married in Courmayeur and they were so helpful and friendly, they really made us feel at home and part of their family.

Our room was just beautiful and the view from our balcony was breathtaking - the perfect background for some wedding photos and to wake up to every morning.

The food was delicious! Breakfast every morning before we went skiing and a 3 course dinner that was different every night. The staff's knowledge of wine was extremely comprehensive and they even stocked wine from Australia (where we come from).

We loved the hydromassage pool, sauna and steam room - it was great to have these amentities to help us recover after our days of skiing.

Even the bathroom amentities were great and included a lovely shower gel that was package in a size that lasted the duration of our stay and a package of products that included a hair-band and cotton tips, which were very handy.

The location was excellent - we could walk to the bus station, cable car and the main pedestrian area where a lot of the restaurants and shops are located. Their is a mini supermarket close by and fromagery diagonally opposite and next door was our favourite pizzeria - "du Tunnel"

My husband and I absolutely loved Hotel Maison Saint Jean and Courmayeur and would return to there in a heart beat. We were actually sad to leave and wish that we had extended our stay.

  • Liked — The staff and our hotel room
  • Disliked — No communal computer for internet access
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beck077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

For a 3 star hotel this was above average. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the staff very friendly and the food in the restaurant was of a high standard too. Importantly they really tired to accommodate the more restricted diet of our daughter so that each night she ate well. They also have a fantastic range of wines to suit every palate and budget. The pool and facilities were great, although i agree with the other reviewer that it would be better if the charge was included.

Altogether a lovely place and very good for families

  • Liked — the friendliness of the staff and their willingness to help
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyinScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2007

Stayed in this hotel for three nights with a large group. The rooms were quite nice and comfy. We even had the apartment with kitchenette which was convenient for morning coffee and snacks. Lovely furnishings. Felt like we were in a villa. The pool was an extra 13 euros to use per person on a daily basis. Didn't understand why, so decided against it. The meals were bland and unappetizing.
Would stay in this area again, but find other small hotels in nearby Dolonne, a medieval town a stone's throw across the river.

  • Liked — beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GoHiking_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Berthod
Hotel Berthod
#9 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Croux
Hotel Croux
#19 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Crampon
Hotel Crampon
#13 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meuble Laurent
Hotel Meuble Laurent
#32 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#6 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal e Golf
Grand Hotel Royal e Golf
#10 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maison Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maison Saint Jean

Property: Hotel Maison Saint Jean
Address: Strada Dolonne Courmayeur 18, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Courmayeur
#21 Family Hotel in Courmayeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maison Saint Jean 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Maison Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Saint Jean Courmayeur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing