We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional for a long weekend skiing”

Hotel Centrale Courmayeur
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Centrale Courmayeur
Ranked #41 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Functional for a long weekend skiing”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was used as the accommodation for a quick ski break as a long weekend, arriving Thursday night and leaving Monday late afternoon. The hotel is on the edge of the old centre of Courmayeur. It is a bit of a walk to the main lift station if you are wearing boots but you can leave skis and boots at the top and wear normal footwear. We had two single rooms which were quite basic but then we didn't spend much time in them. The bathrooms had been refurbished and were actually about the same size as the bedroom. The bedroom sported a small single bed with a single rather hard pillow. In fact I slept quite well on it. The walls are paper thin so you hear anyone opening a door or talking in the corridors. Hot water nearly gave out on the Saturday evening but stayed just hot enough. I did not find the rooms cold. While this may sound a bit negative, the rooms were functional and perfectly alright. Breakfast was typical continental and again perfectly alright. Water for tea needed to be nearer the already reduced boiling point. The lounges and bar areas are much smarter and very comfortable. Service was polite, helpful but somehow rather distant.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    25
    15
    6
See reviews for
8
15
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here as a family for 4 nights and after reading previous reviews hadn't expected a lot, but as soon as we arrived we were taken in by the attractive 'Alpine' lobby and we're met by a friendly concierge who had waited up for us as our flight was late, this brilliant service continued throughout our stay with restaurant bookings etc. very sad to leave and would definitely return

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timtimtimt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend skiing with my work colleagues. It was a great location for the evening exploring of the central street and very close to all the restaurants and bars! I thought it was very close to the lifts but my more experienced colleagues with families felt it was too far away if you have kids (I guess that's a matter of opinion!).
The rooms were big but the floor was quite noisy. But the value is great and you pay for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OMG0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Rooms were cold and bed was very hard like sleeping on a board. Really disappointing to have this basic degree of comfort missing in the hotel

Breakfast was OK but the coffee was unpalatable :((

The lounges could use with some reformation as everything looking tired and drab.

The Hotel is in very good position in centre of town about 50 steps from via Roma

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I fully agree with some of the other reviewers. A good hotel with a perfect position just off the main street. Very kind and helpful staff and a nice large room ( family room).
We asked for a late checkout on the Sunday, ready to pay for it, but they gave it to us for free. Very kind and certainly helped after a days skiing. The breakfast was ok, nothing amazing but nice. Coffee was extremely strong.
But please, please change the pillows!!!!!
They are like rocks!!!! A duvet would be nice too and perhaps a bit more heating..
We will come back next year though and just to make sure we sleep well, I shall pack my own pillows....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

It's actually quite encouraging to see that other reviewers have come to the same conclusion as us. It gives credibility to TA's other output and allows me to endorse other reviewers of this hotel.

The minuses:
* beds are hard. Very hard. In the middle if the night, the floor is a genuine alternative!
* bedding is sheet and blanket with a solitary lumpy pillow. Sounds fussy but after a day's vigorous skiing (or golf in the summer) it doesn't seem much to ask for something soft.
* there is no food served in the evenings,
* some of the staff can appear a little off-ish

The plus points:
* great location, in the centre of pleasant town and yet just off the main street to avoiding the inevitable late night frivolities. Cable car to Plan Checroute (main ski area) is just 5 mins walk away.
* breakfast was good 'continental style' as we brits would call it. Anything cooked is extra. Coffee industrial strength if you like that kind of thing. Hot chocolate you could honeslty stand a spoon up in ...again, for those that like
* sauna / exercise / shower area very pleasant and new
* staff are genuinely pleasant and will help if asked nicely. Night manager particularly helpful with restaurant bookings.
* rooms; clean, simple, cleaned daily. Nothing fancy.

Overall, this is an inexpensive 3 -star hotel ....if you want plush with the trimmings you are in the wrong place! If you want a good base to ski from, spend time with friends and crash out before doing it all again, the Hotel Centrale is perfectly adequate.

TIP: bring a spare pillow!

Note to hotel: The only thing that stops your hotel being a very is the beds. Go on, you know it makes sense! You could even charge a euro or two a night for a duvet...!

Room Tip: There are a number of combinations available. A few rooms share a bathroom. Rm 201 (1st floor despit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark&Kit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

i spent only one night for a short ski weekend. Hotel is good and in the centre, so no need to use the car and hotel is offering a free park. Staff is helpful. Breakfast is good to get ready for your skli day. Let me say room were not really warm so I could have probably better asked to check the heating

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meuble Laurent
Hotel Meuble Laurent
#32 of 42 in Courmayeur
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Croux
Hotel Croux
#19 of 42 in Courmayeur
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cresta et Duc
Hotel Cresta et Duc
#17 of 42 in Courmayeur
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Berthod
Hotel Berthod
#7 of 42 in Courmayeur
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ottoz Meuble
Hotel Ottoz Meuble
#34 of 42 in Courmayeur
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Crampon
Hotel Crampon
#13 of 42 in Courmayeur
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale Courmayeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale Courmayeur

Property: Hotel Centrale Courmayeur
Address: Via Mario Puchoz 7, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale Courmayeur 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Centrale Courmayeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing