We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Hotel Walser

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Walser
Ranked #6 of 21 Courmayeur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2012

A real little gem of a hotel, 3 star but with a lot of charm. Restaurant, good quality typical italian cooking. Plenty of hot water with good pressure. We went late in the season - 17th March for a week and it was very quiet. Only problem was Sauna and jacuzzi not really hot enough to persevere with! Very good position, 5 mins from cable car and a short walk to the town centre. Really recommend this lovely little family run hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a bath - most rooms only have a shower
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Walser
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 180 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2012

We had a fantastic holiday in Courmayeur thank you.
The accommodation was lovely, people friendly, food delicious !
Maurizio ,Gianni,Giuseppe Moina and Isa are the best and friendly hotel staff we ever met!
Definately will be back next year
Patrizia and Saverio

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrizia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Enjoyed our week staying at the hotel in late January, early February 2012. Family run hotel and staff are very friendly and helpful. Evening meals really nice and then relaxing in the comfortable lounge with a few Morretti beers is a good way to wind down at the end of the day. The vin brulee is excellent and was particularly welcome as the outside temperatures were well below freezing all week.
Room comfortable with good facilities. Only minor issue is traffic noise could be heard early morning from main road. Other sides of hotel away from road will be less affected.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Reception and staff were excellent; breakfast was good; plenty of hot water; rooms were not too cold with free satellite TV. Really close to mountains and city center; easy to find from highway. Beautiful views!

The only thing that I was disappointed about was the sauna/whirlpool. The website does not list the opening times (ONLY 4-8pm) or the fact that it costs extra (7€). I specifically booked this hotel for the sauna since we were going in winter but was unable to actually use it since it is closed most of the day.

There is internet access in the lounge but it also costs extra.

I also recommend parking in the underground carpark but it is really small so if you have a large vehicle, good luck getting it in there!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ielanguages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. Comfortable, good sized room. Small balcony with great views over Courmayeur. Short walk to the centre of town. Free wifi in the lounge, not in the rooms.

Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed five nights at Hotel Walser in Courmayeur.
It is a good hotel: spacious rooms, comfortable beds, simple but good breakfast, friendly staff, etc.
Price-performance ratio is OK, especially knowing Courmayeur is relatively expensive.
Wifi is available in the lounge, airconditioning is missing.
The restaurant's menu is very limited and deserves a quality boost.
The location of the hotel is fine for day trips in the beautiful Valle d'Aosta and Chamonix (to be reached via the Mont Blanc tunnel within half an hour).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JanNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Just returned from a week's ski-ing in Courmayeur and stayed at the Hotel Walser. On first impressions the Hotel looked lovely, old and traditional decor and nicely situated for the main gondola lift (approx 10 mins walk in normal shoes, ski-boots may be a bit longer). We travelled with Inghams and after being dropped form the coach in the middle of a busy roundabout we were escorted to our Hotel across the road. Room was not ready so we ventured in to the town for a bite to eat. Courmayeur is a lovely village with a lovely atmosphere and easily accessed from the Hotel (about 10 mins walk). On returning to the hotel we were told our room was ready and ventured on. Rooms are quite dark and the furniture is old but plenty of storage and space for ski-ing gear. First impressions were good and then I ventured out on to the balcony to admire the well publicised view of Mont Blanc only to hear the traffic noise from the main through road which was 50 yards away. Such a shame as the views of the mountains were amazing. I decided to ask for a change of room as I am a light sleeper and when you opened the window in either the bathroom or bedroom the noise of the traffic was awful. They agreed to move us the next morning as there would be availability so we agreed to wait. Breakfast was good, typical for ski-ing, but plenty of choice and coffee was good too. On returning from our wonderful day's ski-ing we picked up our new room key and they had kindly moved our cases which were all still packed. We entered the room and found the bathroom had a fair amount of mold above the shower cubicle and also it was black all under the window pelmet which ran alongside my bed not a pleasant sight when lying in the bed as you could see it clearly. I complained to the ski rep and she then spoke to the Manager who in turn said it was due to previous occupants who did not leave the window open when showering and therefore caused the problem. She asked if we wanted to move again, but we had unpacked by this stage and were not willing to repack and move again. My initial thought was that we should not have been moved to this room in the first place. I have to say that this was not one day old mold of any description and I also think that because the room was on the outside of the building on the end it probably did not help. However, the cleaner was tasked to try and clean the mold which she did during the day and we came back to a rather strong smell of bleach which lasted for 48 hours but it did not remove the mold to any great extent. That said, we did not want to let this spoil our holiday and the rest of the room was kept very clean throughout out holiday.

I would recommend this hotel on the basis that it is very well situated and also the staff were very warm and friendly, in particular the 2 lovely italian girls who served us with breakfast and evening meals each day, they were exceptional and looked after my husband and I extremely well each day, hats off to them for all their hardwork much appreciated. We did not use the sauna/jacuzzi as it was not switched on until after 4pm in the afternoon and did not get hot enough before you then had to get ready for dinner which was between 7.30pm to 8.30pm.

Courmayeur is a great resort but I would say that the ski-ing is not as vast as other resorts and thankfully there was an opportunity to ski Pila and La Thuille which I would recommend as they both offered excellent variety of ski-ing and the snow conditions were much better. Take a look at Bar Roma which is fab for a bit of apres and offers a free buffet through out the day but they compensate this with the drink prices, 8 Euros for one JD and Coke!

Please note that you have the option of leaving your skis and boots at the top of the mountain but there are other options at the base of the gondola for the same price. Just a thought to note as if you decide to ski elsewhere you then need to bring your gear down in the gondola at the end of the day. Inghams are very good at pointing their customers to the mountain option but it is just a shelf for your boots and your skis are not locked in place but left in a holding pod in the building overnight. Security was not an issue for us but when we viewed the other options they were locked in place with a specific key storage box.



Overall we had a great week of ski-ing and I would recommend this Hotel. I

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lainee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Berthod
Hotel Berthod
#8 of 42 in Courmayeur
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cresta et Duc
Hotel Cresta et Duc
#18 of 42 in Courmayeur
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#6 of 42 in Courmayeur
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Novecento Romantic Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal e Golf
Grand Hotel Royal e Golf
#12 of 42 in Courmayeur
413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
#3 of 42 in Courmayeur
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walser

Address: Strada della Margherita 8/A, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Courmayeur
Price Range: $97 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walser 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Walser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing