We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location”
Review of Hotel Croux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Croux
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Central Location”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Travelled to Croux in March. Location is very central which means it's great for the town but not so good for the main access lifts because they are both at opposite ends of the town even though they deposit you at the same spot on the mountain. Fortunately the hotel runs a taxi service so no need to walk if you don't want to. Ski and boot storage is up the mountain at £2 a day so that further reduces the hassle making Croux a good spot overall.

Hotel itself is of a decent standard and works on a B&B basis which allows for exploration of the local restaurants. There is plenty of choice but ask the hotel to recommend as they know the non tourist spots. Avoid eating on Via Roma as they are all the same and nothing like as nice as the hidden gems.

If you travel with Crystal beware their single room con. Two of us booked these and were charged a £70 single room supplement which implies under occupancy in a double or twin. The rooms ware both in fact singles with absolutely no way of taking an extra bed of any size so there is no justification for a supplement. We still await an explanation and refund

Lounge/bar area is comfortable enough but is part of the reception area and has no real bar atmosphere. Wifi works well on all floors but less well in the bar area...which is unusual.
Staff excellent and friendly.

Courmayeur ski area is pretty and varied but quite small so I advise you take the opportunity to visit La Thuile and La Rosiere which are on he pass for any two days in the week. It's only £4 return by bus, takes about 30 mins and leaves from just below the hotel and drops you at the main lifts in La Thuile. Town was quiet during our week so don't expect a rocking après ski scene.

Room Tip: If you book a single room with Crystal and they charge you a supplement challenge it unless they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    71
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
50
43
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

What a lovely hotel. Just back from a skiing trip staying here booked through Crystal Ski. We had a 1st floor room with a great view of the mountains. Room was large for as ski hotel, breakfast was good - great coffee - and the staff - particularly Mario - were very helpful. Good location. Very welcome steam / sauna area. May well return in the summer

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipmarl0we
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had a very good stay at Croux. Large comfortable suite for all the family with the children in their own bedroom.Good breakfast in the morning and easy car ride to the Dolonne Cable car to start the day on the slopes. Had a fantastic time the only minus was too much snow, there was more than 1/2 a meter of snowfall every day.Croux is a comfortable hotel with very friendly service and a few minutes walk from Via Roma the pedestrian cetre of Courmayer.

Room Tip: The two room suite with ensuite bathroom is great four a family of 2adults and 2children
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taby, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The staff at Hotel Croux was very friendly and helped us with any request. The hotel is situated in central Courmayeur and offer minibus service to the slopes. We got a room with a stunning view over the valley and the village. Unfortunately at snowfall it was quite noisy due to tractors shuffling away every inch of snow during the night.
The breakfast was good, with great cappuccino served.
The hotel also had as small relax area with steam sauna.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms towards the street, due to noisy snow removal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I have thought long and hard about how to describe this hotel, from the effortless (for the hotel staff) breakfast to the unfortunate coincidence of having to share the hotel with about 50 estate agents/property managers. The shoe box of a room with a single bed which an 8 year old would be scared of rolling out of; the lift which felt like it was in the room with me whenever it went up or down (I could unlock my door whilst still stood inside the lift) or being woken by someone falling out of the lift and breaking my door at past 2 in the morning. Instead, i will just leave you with the, erm, artwork that i awoke to each morning - i think it describes the place better than any words ever could.

I can only recommend them for the effort they showed to find me another hotel after the door was broken!

Room Tip: A room at the back will avoid noise from the church. A room away from the lift will avoid drunk est...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Pid76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at hotel croux for a week over new year and were extremely impressed. The staff were all incredibly friendly and went out of their way to help out and make sure we had an enjoyable stay. The hotel is situated in close proximity to the lovely town centre and a 5 minute drive to the Dolonne bubble. The hotel provides a shuttle to and from the lifts to save you walking which was great. Rooms were warm, clean and spacious. There is a lovely bar area where we were able to order drinks and play cards in the evening. The hotel even let us eat our own food there when we were unable to find a restaurant to eat in on New Year's Eve. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyjdarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Not the most luxurious place, but great value in a good location with more than adequate rooms. The real difference that makes Hotel Croux stand out is the people. There's a bunch of really nice people running the place and working there who were extremely friendly, professional and couldn't do enough for my family and I.

It drops a rating point because it's pretty noisy in the street outside from about 6 in the morning onwards (whoever invented the reversing horn for trucks needs to be made to suffer bad things - and I'm sure God doesn't want to be be woken up with church bells at the crack of dawn either).

Room Tip: Maybe a room on the backside would be quieter, but probably not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Berthod
Hotel Berthod
#9 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Crampon
Hotel Crampon
#13 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#4 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cresta et Duc
Hotel Cresta et Duc
#17 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bouton d'Or
Hotel Bouton d'Or
#1 of 42 in Courmayeur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal e Golf
Grand Hotel Royal e Golf
#10 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croux

Property: Hotel Croux
Address: Via Croux 8, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Courmayeur
#20 Romantic Hotel in Courmayeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Croux 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Croux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croux Hotel Courmayeur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing