We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dei Camosci - Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dei Camosci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Dei Camosci
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dei Camosci - Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

Have recently returned from a great skiing trip to Courmayeur.
The hotel was truly excellent and terrific value. Although situated a little out of town Luigi would take you the 5 mins by Minibus to the Lift Station every half hour and also into the centre at night.
However the atmosphere in the hotel was great so subsequently we only went in to town at night once. The hotel bar was very convivial, everyone mixing in well.
The food was very good. Breakfast an adequate continental, Dinner always a tasty event with a choice of 3 starters, 3 main + desserts or cheese. I had pasta every evening to start, often Veal, Chicken or Fish, then Cheese - delicious! My son & nephew also recommended the Italian Ice Cream! The beer & wine were also excellent at a reasonable price.
All in all the Dei Camosci is a great choice for a skiing holiday. The rooms are clean, the food tasty & plentiful and Luigi and his staff very friendly. You could not wish for more!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neillyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    80
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
55
77
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

We have just returned from a family skiing trip and stayed at Hotel Dei Camosci. We were delighted with this family run hotel. Rooms are not enormous and fairly basic and our had a small window but scrupulously clean with hot powerful showers. We found the owners and staff welcoming and friendly with very good service. The food here is excellent, sign on the door says they were recommended for the Michelin guide. Breakfast is continental - no hot option but cereals, cold meats, cheese, croissants and a variety of cakes plentiful. We were on a half board option with Crystal and chose our starter and main in the morning from a selection, always good and plentiful - the starters are like a main course! - One of our party is a vegetarian and the chef catered for him although it is probably worth an email directly to the hotel to advise them before you go of any special diets. We drank the house wine most evenings which was very drinkable and asked the waiter to recommend a local bottle a couple of times and were not disappointed with his choice, delicious and not expensive. Gondolar is a 10-15 minute walk away but the hotel runs a free bus which drops you right outside if you don't fancy the walk. All in all a very welcoming, lovely hotel.

On a separate note, Courmayeur is a beautiful resort with excellent skiing and facilities but I personally would not go here if you are a skiing beginner which I am. There are no real nursery slopes, a very small area at the ski school that you can only use with your instructor but then straight onto an 'easy' blue - not at all easy for a complete beginner and a big step from the area at the ski school. There is nowhere gentle to practice on your own. However, if you're not a beginner this resort is excellent and kept other skiers and boarders in our party very happy.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dotty8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leamington spa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

We have just come back from a skiing trip in Courmayeur and more by luck we were booked into the Camosci. It is a small family run hotel and even though out of town this was not a problem at all as they shuttle you in and out and drop you right at the main gondala, nothing seemed to much touble for them. The hotel is great to come back to and relax in after a days skiing and the drinks reasonable priced with good house wines to have with your meal. The room we satyed in was not big but very comfortable and spottlessly clean. We will definately be returning next year could not fault it all.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dobsonwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Dei Camosci for a weeks skiing back in March 2009 and thought it was a great little hotel. Very traditional interior, really clean and pleasant rooms with lots of space for two people.

The food was the real winner, dinner was 3/4 courses and was always excellent with plenty of choice on offer. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. And beer is cheap in the bar!

Lifts in to the town are available on a regular basis in the morning and on the way back from the piste in the evening. They'll also run you in to town in the evening.

The town itself is lovely, traditional alpine feel to it with a wide range of shops and boutiques.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2006

The staff are most friendly. Room very clean and towels changed daily all meals were excellent. Made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2006

Booked through Crystal.
Good Value - we paid £289 including flights for week.
Food, basic but good and staff attentive. Menu a bit repetitive. Nice bar, not too big and chance to relax.

Wine was served with meals and was OK and not expensive.
Rooms kept very clean.
Seperate (secure) room for ski's and boards etc.
Lots of hot water and bathroom very clean.

Manager quite prepared to run people into town and pick them up on a night.
The only issue I could find was that it was a 20 min walk into the town/ski lift.
Town was nice, people friendly, enough to look at for a week and thats about it.


Would I stay again ?
Yes.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2005

This hotel is also known as the DEI CAMOSCI. I have stayed there two years running.

It is a quiet, family run hotel that is outside the town centre. Approx 10 minute walk. The owners run a minibus to the main lift in the town and this takes 4 minutes. The minibus runs every half hour - but you can ring the owners for a pickup - which they are more than happy to do. They will also take you into town on the evening if you ask.

The food is good and there is plenty of it, so you won't go hungry, and the service is good. There is a supermarket across the road, but for restaurants you have to go into town.

The rooms are well maintained and come with ensuite and tv. I really enjoyed staying there due to the quietness of the hotel and the friendlyness of the staff.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Geckz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
1.0 mi away
Auberge de la Maison
Auberge de la Maison
#2 of 42 in Courmayeur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
#3 of 42 in Courmayeur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#6 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cresta et Duc
Hotel Cresta et Duc
#17 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.2 mi away
Albergo Dente del Gigante
Albergo Dente del Gigante
#12 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Berthod
Hotel Berthod
#8 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Camosci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Camosci

Property: Hotel Dei Camosci
Address: Fraz. La Saxe, 7, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Courmayeur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Courmayeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dei Camosci 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dei Camosci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camosci Hotel Courmayeur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing