We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dei Camosci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Dei Camosci
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic stay at Dei Camosci. We were in a party of 3 couples on a half-board ski break with Crystal Holidays. This hotel ticks all the boxes: well kept, nice bedrooms with a comfortable king sized bed, decent shower with plentyful hot water, good food, free shuttle bus to and from the Dolonne gondola, free wifi and very helpful staff. I am a vegetarian and the chef was exceptionally accomodating - a lovely 4 course meal every evening. Would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a decent, value for money Courmayeur hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenDickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    80
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
55
77
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have just got back from a week at the Hotel Dei Camosci and it was a great week. The hotel is a little way out from the centre of Courmayeur, but they run a mini bus shuttle to and from the hotel to the ski lifts and the town centre.

The hotel is very clean and always very warm so great when returning from the slopes. The staff are also very helpful and made the stay very pleasurable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lost_4_8_15_16_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We are staying here at present and one of the best value deals we have had for a long time; excellent staff and the management cannot do enough for you. Food portions are huge and there are pick-ups and drop off's at very convenient times.
Highly recommended ++++

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiv P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport, gwent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

A very agreeably pleasant stay and the eating is still as good as it was six years ago.The staff were friendly and most helpful,especially as i was very recently diagnosed with coeliac disease(wheat intolerance).The manager immediately saw the chef and they worked out some mods on the food,so I was able to select some courses from the menu each day. There's a good selection of wines on their list and on display.We loved the local white wine , especially the Aosta valley chardonnay. Together with a great weeks skiing weather and super snow conditions (21-27 Jan '13) all this really made my week.Thank you so much.

Room Tip: We preferred the room in the north annex of the hotel as theres a modern lift and there was no ornat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikenewportgwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were a party of two couples and stayed New Year week 2013. The hotel is a good choice if you want to be out of the town which was extremely busy at new year. The hotel provides a shuttle bus to the Dolonne gondola which gets you into the main ski area and picks you up at the end of the day, so distance from lifts was unimportant and it meant no long walks. The driver will also drop you off at the bus station if your travelling to another area and pick you up if it's not too late (last pick up 5pm). We had a day out at Pila and caught a taxi back from the Courmayeur bus station and it was 10€. The rooms are not massive but adequate for two people. The hotel bar is well priced compared to Courmayeur centre however they only serves bottled beer no draft, but on the plus side, they will also stay open as long as someone wants serving. The food in the hotel is very good and be warned, the portions are very large, in fact the pasta course is almost a meal in itself, they tend to offer some local specialities which can be interesting, but given the choice and volume of the food you will never leave the table hungry. This is good hotel for couples and small parties. We found the town centre busy and the apres ski was not over evident, the bars we visited were full but no 'carry on' as one might expect in a slope side apres bar or Austria, it was all very wine and small beers, fur coats and small dogs, so we ended up in the hotel most evenings, maybe we did not go to right places, overall the town was expensive for drinks expect French prices (at least 6€ for a large beer and same for a small glass of wine). The skiing in Courmayeur is limited (50km), the slopes are all medium/hard reds and a couple of blacks but you can ski them out in a couple of days, I would not recommend Courmayeur for begineers. We went to Pila (70km of slopes) which has great views from the top and easier slopes, a day is enough, worth going on the away day though with the reps. Much better we thought was La Thuile (160km of piste) which is a short free bus ride away and covered by your lift pass, a bit of everything here, big wide blues for cruising, easier reds and some blacks for more of a challenge, thoroughly enjoyed our day they there and highly recommended, if you have time you can get over to La Rosiere in France.

Room Tip: No lift in original part of hotel so if stairs are a struggle request the extension or 1st Floor in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hryzko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seyssins
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

For the second time we spent few days in this hotel. Again high level of satisfaction: friendly, great food, nice hotel and bedroom, cleanliness, and good service. I don't want to forgett the price which is excellent for all you get. One of the best quality/price ratio that I found yet. We'll stay there again as soon as we visit Courmayeur and Aosta valley which is one of the best place of the Alps.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had a great ski trip here at the beginning of April. The rooms are fairly basic but very clean and the beds are comfortable. The staff were absolutely first class. They are happy to drop off to the ski lifts and pick you up when you ask. Nothing is a problem for them. The food is fantastic as it is definitely local fare with dishes such as venison hare and local cheeses. We have every intention of returning. The weekly skipass whilst not cheap does allow you to ski at the nearby resort of La Thuile for 2 days which has some great black runs that are not heavily used.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sausage40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
1.0 mi away
Auberge de la Maison
Auberge de la Maison
#2 of 42 in Courmayeur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
#3 of 42 in Courmayeur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#6 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cresta et Duc
Hotel Cresta et Duc
#17 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.2 mi away
Albergo Dente del Gigante
Albergo Dente del Gigante
#12 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Berthod
Hotel Berthod
#8 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Camosci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Camosci

Property: Hotel Dei Camosci
Address: Fraz. La Saxe, 7, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Courmayeur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Courmayeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dei Camosci 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dei Camosci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camosci Hotel Courmayeur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing