We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is not a hotel but a home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Berthod

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Berthod
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Certificate of Excellence
Brasil
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“This is not a hotel but a home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

This is not a hotel but a home away from home. Alessio, his mother and sister hosted us as if we were family. The family's cordiality and affability earns this place the highest marks with its impeccably clean and welcoming facilities. The hotel also offers high quality wireless internet. I certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrasilNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    104
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
70
126
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
IL
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

the location is great - right at the center, the hotel is clean and simple.
the breakfast is great compare to italian standard, and the caffe is great.

did not use the spa, but it seems ok.

shower facility a bit old, the shower head can be replaced

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoshe007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

We have just come back from a 3 night stay at this hotel and would recommend it for famillies who need an apartment rather than a hotel room. we stayed on the lower ground floor opposite the boot room. We were the only people at this level. The apartment had a room with 3 single bed and a double bed in the main room which also had a kitchen dining area and sofa and chairs.

It was quite large and perfect for our familly of 3 kids and 2 adults. The pictures on thier web site are not of this apartment which seems bigger and better than the rooms they have shown. We fed the kids each night in the apatment saving us a fortune in restaurants. One night the hotel arranged a baby sitter for us so we could go out.
Breakfast was good but the bread could have been fresher.

The spa area was nice and the jaccuzi was more like a small swimming pool which the kids loved.

Very central location. A bit of a walk to the box car which takes you up the mountain but this was not a problem as we were hireing skis from the shop at the bottom of the lift.

Flights on ryan air are very early out and late back so you can get 3.5 days sking for a 3 night stay.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthewbbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2007

Stayed at Hotel Berthod with my husband, and our son and daughter-in-law, for a few days skiing following recommendation by their friends. Amazing value for the price - we chose B&B in superior rooms for 65 euros per person. Had a comfortable room with the biggest bath ever, and an excellent, varied breakfast. The family were very friendly and obliging, particularly Signora Berthod, and the man who looked after the bar in the evening was delightful, even helping us find the ball bearings we kept losing from a wooden spinning game! We also loved the local sparkling wine at 16 euros a bottle. There is a sauna and plunge pool available at extra cost, which looked nice, and the hotel has free parking.
The only downside is that the hotel is a good 10 minutes walk from the cable car, (you can leave skis at the top of the lift) but it is only about two minutes from lots of good restaurants and bars. Also, like so many hotels, the lighting in the bedroom was poor, and made reading difficult.

  • Liked — Friendly family and staff running the hotel
  • Disliked — Poor lighting in the bedrooms
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fifibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2006

This was our second visit to Cormayeur and on our first trip we stayed at the Hotel Select which we found inadequate so we looked at other Hotels and found the Hotel Berthod. It has an excellent location just off the via Roma and as such is close to restaurants, bars and shops and a 5 minute walk to the gondola (we leave our skis and boots at the on mountain storage which is highly recommended). The Hotel is family run, very clean and serves a good buffet breakfast. The rooms vary from small to some slightly larger suites. We opted for the suite which comprised a small lounge area and separate bedroom. Good value for money. Good views of the mountains and, best of all, a lift which is always a welcome addition in Italian Hotels. The management were friendly and helpful. Our only complaint was that the sauna and spa does not open until 4:30 pm which is a shame if the weather is bad. An improvement to the Hotel's service would be to organise a better value transfer from Milan. We find the transfer from Milan airport to Cormayeur using ATS to be good but each time the return trip has been chaotic, cramped and late. We have booked again for 2007.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — hours of sauna/spa opening times
  • Tips/Secrets — always leave skis and boots on the mountain - cheap and efficient
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Ausskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#6 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.8 mi away
Auberge de la Maison
Auberge de la Maison
#2 of 42 in Courmayeur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
#3 of 42 in Courmayeur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bouton d'Or
Hotel Bouton d'Or
#1 of 42 in Courmayeur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cresta et Duc
Hotel Cresta et Duc
#18 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Vallee Blanche
Hotel Vallee Blanche
#7 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berthod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berthod

Property: Hotel Berthod
Address: Via Mario Puchoz 11, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Courmayeur
#5 Business Hotel in Courmayeur
#6 Romantic Hotel in Courmayeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Berthod 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berthod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berthod Hotel Courmayeur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing