We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly family service”
Review of Hotel Berthod

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Berthod
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Hotel Berthod is brilliantly located in the heart of beautiful Courmayeur and an easy walk from the cable car up to some of the best skiing in the Alps. We stayed 8 nights and became converted fans of this hotel.
The room (we had a room located in the "new" building) was roomy, quiet despite being right in the heart of town, with a brilliant view of the hills (which you could see lying in bed, not like some hotel "views" where you have to crane your neck at a 63 degree angle!), all mod cons, very comfortable beds and a little verandah of its own. The room was perfectly clean.
The hotel breakfast was Italian style and included plenty of variety with fresh fruit salad, cereals, cheeses and cold cuts, boiled eggs and breads and cakes of all shapes and sizes. That plus great coffee. Got our mornings off to a lovely start.
The "wellness centre" is not exactly luxurious, but good for a sauna and spa after a day of skiing. My only wish would be that they would ban kids- but thats just me being a grumpy old woman.
On top of great amenities, the lovely family service made our stay a real pleasure.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and I hope that we will have the opportunity to return.

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mareelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 315 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2012

We had a great experience at Hotel Berthod...we called in on short notice and stayed for 3 days than added another 3 then 1 more..... What a great place, rooms are good size, family friendly and helpful and its situated in a great position to walk everywhere.

We will return as its such a great town with such a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jetty74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This is a family run hotel and everyone is so very welcoming. It is always kept immaculately clean and it is warm and comfortable. It is an easy 3-4 minute walk to the main cable car and you are 30 seconds from the Town.

I cannot rate this place highly enough

Room Tip: Keep below floor 2 if you want a good wi-fi signal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulBurne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This hotel is one of a kind. Great and friendly staff especially the Lady who welcome us. We got the last room with Balcony infront of spetacular view of Mont. Blanc. This hotel is located in the heart of Courmayeur center that you can find everything. Breakfast was excellent. We really enjoyed our stay and want to come back again and again. Good luck guys for an excellent services.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabethb1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Great service, reasonable pricing, fantastic breakfast buffet! The only slight disappointment was the 'wellness centre' which has a tepid jacuzzi, a lukewarm sauna and doesn't fit more than about 8 people comfortably, so without any sort of booking/priority system it's very much pot luck as to whether or not you come away feeling refreshed from your day on the mountains.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Great location close to shopping and restaurants. All family members are very hospitable and welcoming. The rooms very comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was excellent.
Great views from the breakfast room. Would only ever stay here again. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JM1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

This hotel is nicely situated in the town center, within an easy 5 minute walk to several restaurants as well as a market. Hosts are very friendly and gave us a nice orientation when we checked in. Room was large, bed was comfortable, balconies have beautiful views of the mountains and the breakfast was excellent. We were very happy with our stay here and would recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
1.8 mi away
Auberge de la Maison
Auberge de la Maison
#2 of 42 in Courmayeur
567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
#3 of 42 in Courmayeur
401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#7 of 42 in Courmayeur
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Au Coeur des Neiges
Au Coeur des Neiges
#5 of 42 in Courmayeur
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cresta et Duc
Hotel Cresta et Duc
#19 of 42 in Courmayeur
503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Courmayeur Mont Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berthod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berthod

Address: Via Mario Puchoz 11, 11013, Courmayeur, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Courmayeur
#5 Business Hotel in Courmayeur
#6 Romantic Hotel in Courmayeur
Price Range: $137 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Berthod 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Berthod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berthod Hotel Courmayeur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing