We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved every part of the hotel and Courmayeur”
Review of Hotel Courmayeur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Courmayeur
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We loved every part of the hotel and Courmayeur”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the lifts in the Courmayeur city centre, just opposite Bar Rome.

If you want to go to a wonderful part of Italy and enjoy sun & winter sports Courmayeur is an ideal place for you. But please note that there 70% of red traces there and only 2 green ones.
So you should be advanced skier or snowboarder to fully enjoy it.

The hotel is great, with a great location, outstanding staff and the best cook in the world!
Every day we had a different meal and honestly I have never ever eaten that much (it was mostly because we couldn't spot our selves as the food was so great)

Definitely the best hotel in Courmayeur and we suggest it to everyone!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the Back of the hotel and on the top floor as the street near the hotel is quite n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anastasia2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    77
    38
    3
    5
See reviews for
45
59
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Great place, good location 5 minute walk to cable car, service , food, location are excellent. Very accomodating to our ski group of 16 people. I highly reccomend it!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
296 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Cosy, communal areas making a great cafe latte. Room good, could be improved by a bit of updating and better lighting. Bathroom very small but with a good hairdryer and plentiful hot water. Maitre d'e a bit formal but reasonably friendly. Local wine excellent as was the pasta. Reasonable yomp to the ski lift but great location for shops and the main drag of the resort. Typical Italian food, which we love, simple and tasy. Basic continental breakfast, fresh juice, croissants. I would have loved more local cheese and ham and the evening food could have been better with the addition of a salad bar. I would go again.

Room Tip: Choose the local wine recommended by the waiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyBoo2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

This is a small, comparatively budget priced, well positioned 3 star Ski Hotel in one of Italy's most chic resorts and should be judged as such. Having stayed in some 5 or six different Hotels in the town, across the price spectrum, we feel that the 'Courmayeur' would be difficult to beat unless money was not a consideration.
Staff friendly and very helpful, if a little 'correct' at times. Rooms spotless and adequately sized with baths, good storage and huge double beds (if required!). Plenty of hot water! Food well prepared, if a little limited in main course choice, tho' they are happy to substitute an a la carte alternative occasionally ( officially for a small supplement but we were never charged!). It helps if you like veal! Comfortable but not luxurious bar/lounge area. Service available at all reasonable times. Perfectly positioned mid-way between the old town and the main lift, but could be a little noisy on rowdy nights if you are at the front. But you wanted to stay close to the action didn't you?

All in all an excellent Hotel to which we will undoubtedly return and do not hesitate to recommend, unless you insist on finger clicking service and unashamed luxury - but then you will pay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aston118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll and Bute
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Stayed for a week with Inghams skiing with a friend. Hotel was quiet but very clean and extremely helpful staff. As someone that travels considerably, I found the service in the dining room exceptional and something I have rarely experienced in various hotels I have stayed in regularly in the UK and Scandanavia. The menu was alittle limited but perfectly adequate. The room we had on the third floor (attic) was very clean but a little compact for two starigh guys!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikingArgyllandBute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

My wife and I have just come back from a week of skiing in Courmayeur, staying at this hotel. We chose on the basis of location, it being reasonably close to the main cable car (5 mins+ walk) and on the main shopping street (Via Roma), but we were also pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel itself.

Our room was very clean and comfortable, and the staff friendly and helpful. On two occasions they organised early breakfasts for us when we were being picked up to go to Pila for the day and when we left for the airport.

We were on a half board basis (not wanting to be caught out by high prices and a poor exchange rate like last year) and would say that the food in the hotel was good, if a little unvaried at times. A typical menu would consist of three courses - soup/consomme, meat & vegetables, dessert - and for a vegetarian it may have been a struggle to find something to suit beyond an omelette.

As respects facilities, the lounge/bar area was comfortable but quiet. We did not take a laptop as the brochure indicated that there was no internet access, but this was not entirely true as the hotel reception area/lounge was a wifi area which was provided free of charge. The hotel also has a ski room but we did not use this as we left our skis etc in the hire shop at the bottom of the cable car, which was more convenient.

Overall our experience of the hotel was better than expected; with a 3 star rating you are never quite sure what you are going to get but this one turned out to be very good and we would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boxpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire,England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Recently stayed half board at the Hotel Courmayeur after booking at short notice with Inghams. A lovely friendly hotel in the centre of Courmayeur. Great atmosphere and food. Courmayer is a wonderful place surrounded by mountains. We did not go particularly for the skiing but enjoyed some snow fun in a couple of nearby spots with free ski bus. There are some great walks around Coumayeur and excellent bars and shops (Hermes to name but one !) We went up the three cable cars to view Mont blanc (not cheap at 85 euros for 2 + child) but well worth it. We ate at the Pavillion Restaurant half way up which was excellent. (I would recommend the Mont Blanc Salad). We spent a day in Chamonix and were glad we didn't stay there. It felt like a tourist place (Macdonalds etc). My memories are of the proprietor of a cafe we were sitting in rushing out to move a couple away who had stopped to take shelter from the snow under her awning and of being served a burnt blackened pizza in another place. My complaints were met with a shrug of the shoulder which seemed to sum up the general attitude here. Stay in Courmayer for a great time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKH15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Courmayeur Mont Blanc
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Jumeaux Courmayeur
Hotel Les Jumeaux Courmayeur
#36 of 42 in Courmayeur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cresta et Duc
Hotel Cresta et Duc
#17 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#6 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Crampon
Hotel Crampon
#13 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal e Golf
Grand Hotel Royal e Golf
#10 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Courmayeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Courmayeur

Property: Hotel Courmayeur
Address: Via Roma 158, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Courmayeur 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Courmayeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing