We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A highlight of my holiday”

Punta Helbronner - Skyway Monte Bianco
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Courmayeur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A highlight of my holiday”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was only in Courmayeur for a day whilst walking the Tour du Mont Blanc and this was certainly a great way to spend a day off from walking. It is worth allowing a few hours on the trip up the cable car as the opportunity to walk mountaineers out on the glacier is fascinating!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank emily t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,983
    311
    71
    24
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great ride.”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was one of the highlights of my trip, going on the cable car up to the top of the mountain! The views are amazing! I could have spent the week up there! The staff of Funivie Monte Bianco were very helpful. The first day I went up, was very cloudy and -2 degrees at 2pm, but so great! The 2nd day I went back again, it was sunny and much warmer, again another great trip. The food at the restaurant was very good and the alpine garden centre was beautiful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BendigoAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
207 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Spectacular View”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Tram is undergoing a renovation with replacement of the upper section with new infrastructure. When we visited in June 2012, it was not possible to go all the way to the French side. Nevertheless, it was a spectacular experience and well worth going out of your way to do if the weather is nice. There had been 15 inches of new snow the week before we visited so the glaciated cirques and arretes were beautifully covered. Food is available on the mountain. The italian style hot chocolate (very thick and not nearly so milky as the american version) at the top was a treat. We have a vacation home in the Colorado mountains and are not easily overawed by rugged terrain, but this is truely spectacular glacial terrain.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ancheviaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western new england
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Amid abundant sunshine, this is a must do if you are in the area. The construction of the new tram gets in the way, but it is still an awesome place. Hiking up the last thirty meters takes your breath away because of the altitude. This will be an even better place when the new tram is finished in a few years.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Globetreker1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice but a section is closed”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The third funivie that goes from the Torino refuge and connects to the Pointe Helbronner (which connects to the Aiguille du Midi) is out and not expected to be back in service until 2015.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank flygirlsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punta Helbronner - Skyway Monte Bianco also viewed

Courmayeur, Valle d'Aosta
 
Pre-Saint-Didier, Valle d'Aosta
Courmayeur, Valle d'Aosta
 

Been to Punta Helbronner - Skyway Monte Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing