We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent dining experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante La Terrazza

Ristorante La Terrazza
Ranked #3 of 108 Restaurants in Courmayeur
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Smart restaurant with local dishes and friendly staff. The lady serving us knew her wine and recommended some excellent wines. Posh without the price tag and well worth a visit though you do have to book.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,070
    612
    187
    82
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Courmayeur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Well, I don't understand the naysayers here..... They must have been after a fast food joint.

This was our best night out of many. The daily menu at €20 was a steal - and had choices good enough to make me ignore the a la carte.

The quality of the food, service and house wine were all good enough for us both and the whole experience was worth far more than the €55 bill for two, which included 3 courses, more than enough wine and limoncellos to round the evening off.

This will be the first restuarant we visit when we return to Courmayeur.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shenlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ginevra
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious, still dreaming of it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We have literally just finished tasting an amazing sample of 5 crostate - homemade desserts - and only this deserves a Michelin star! The whole dinner was simply amazing, from the fois gras with pear confit and red fruits to the simple barley soup, a simple dish made unique and tasty.
Also the service was excellent, well done to the entire staff!
Prices on the mid-high end but absolutely worth it, for Courmayeur average costs even very honest!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank silvia_battocchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food for reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have stayed in Courmayeur for 4 nights and came here first night based on reviews. We liked it so much that we ended dining here everytime (the menu is pretty big, so you can try something new each visit).
They offer Menu of the Day for just 20 euro which includes starter, main course and dessert. We tried it 3 times and it didn't disappoint. Also they have very good house wine, so if you are on a short budget these are great choices.
I would also recommend "Filet of “Fassone” beef, in mushroom and truffle cream" - it was amazing, pizzas, lamb and tiramisu.
Restaurant is very popular so you have to book in advance.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grigory_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA/Russia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Too Crowded Too Hectic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We read the raving reviews here on Tripadvisor so we were excited to try this restaurant. Boy were we disappointed! The tables are so close together, you're afraid you'll bump your neighbor's elbows. Getting a waiter or waitress to serve you is nearly impossible. We had to go to the bar several times to ask them to send someone over to our table. The food too forever to arrive. When it did arrive, however, it was really tasty! Too bad about the atmosphere.
The vegetable soup with toast and cheese is really wonderful!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mkouzmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Terrazza also viewed

Courmayeur, Valle d'Aosta
 
Courmayeur, Valle d'Aosta
Courmayeur, Valle d'Aosta
 

Been to Ristorante La Terrazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing