We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Le Grand Chalet
Nearby Hotels
Locanda Belvedere(Courmayeur)(Great Value!)
$108
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Meuble Laurent(Courmayeur)(Great Value!)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$128
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel del Viale(Courmayeur)
$107
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Berthod(Courmayeur)
$117
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Walser(Courmayeur)(Great Value!)
$128
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge de la Maison(Courmayeur)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveler rating
141
38
5
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
38
5
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscable cargreat locationsauna and steam roomshort ski breakbalconygearlift
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 186 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I love courmayeur and have been a visitor for many years. It was the first year I took my partner and couldn't think of a place more perfect to introduce him to Courmayeur than the Residence Le Grand Chalet.
From the moment of our arrival to the inevitable sadness of leaving, we were taken care of to high standards. This was solely dependant on the positivity, helpfulness and care of all the staff and especially Marisa the owner.
The hotel as a whole was beautiful with its traditional Italian decor, giving it an authentic ski lodge feel. Our room was perfect when we arrived and was tended to throughout our stay. Our room was of a good size with more than enough space for the two of us. Also with a lovely balcony that we were able to have breakfast on in the morning with a view of the Monti Bianco and the village of Courmayeur.
Another attribute the hotel had that made our stay so enjoyable was the location, it was a stones throw away from the cable car that takes you up the mountain and a 5 minute walk from the centre of the village. Additionally the staff made it more than easy to get hold of up to date information about the area and especially the skiing and snow conditions.
I can't rate it more highly, and if your one for relaxing after a long day skiing. The Residance Le Grand Chalet also has a spa and pool within the hotel that is exceptional.

Many thanks to Marisa and her staff at the Residance Le Grand Chalet for making our stay one to remember!!
will we most definitely be back. See you next year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaffainiGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa M, Direttore at Residence Le Grand Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for your kind words about Le Grand Chalet. I’m so pleased to learn you were able to share your love of Courmayeur with your partner following your recent stay with us. Everyone here is dedicated to doing what we can to help you have a great holiday and to provide a relaxing place to stay after a hard day of skiing. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year. Ciao!
Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is our third ski holiday in Courmayeur and we are so happy to have found the only place we will ever stay in Courmayeur!

Residence Le Grand Chalet has everything you could ask for and more! You quickly see why it was voted #1 at Trip Advisor.

As far as star rating for Courmayeur hotels, RLGC should be more than a 3-Star. We have stayed at two, 4-Star hotels here and they do not compare to the cleanliness, spaciousness and the amenities available at RLGC.

I had previously looked into RLGC after walking by last year and thought it looked cozy. Unfortunately, they were completely booked. We had actually booked another hotel and paid a bit extra to have late cancellation (so glad I did). When I saw a room/apartment become available at RLGC last month, I booked it immediately and cancelled the other hotel.

My initial experience via email to RLGC with a few questions regarding our booking and throughout our stay could not have been better. It was such a pleasant surprise that person (Marissa) who responded to my inquires, was there to greet us upon check in. How often does that happen?

The hotel is very well maintained. The rooms are spacious and clean. Not to mention, every staff member we encountered couldn't be friendlier! There is also daily cleaning of the apartments, which wasn’t expected for renting an apartment and a pleasant surprise!

As far as amenities, the Turkish Bath & Sauna facilities are great! As adults, you will be glad children aren't allowed in the "pool" after 5 pm - - even though we have a 6 year old :-) There are also affordable spa treatments available. The ski room is clean and looks brand new - - a nice bonus of having heated wall-mounted ski-boot racks!

Should you decide to dine in, there is a grocery store within a two-minute walk, which has everything you could possibly need to cook a nice meal at an affordable price.

There are a ton of great restaurants nearby and the gondola is a five minute walk.

We couldn’t be happier with our stay at Residence Le Grand Chalet and have already requested a booking for next year!

Thank you Marissa and team for making our stay such an enjoyable one! See you next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viewoftheharbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa M, Direttore at Residence Le Grand Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Grand Chalet and for taking the time to write such a full review of your stay with us here. It still makes me smile to remember that at your arrival, on entering your apartment, you immediately booked for next year. Thank you also for your kind words about how much you love Courmayeur and how you choose to return year after year because you like our kindness, quality of restaurants, nice shops and to ski facing our Great Beauty, Mont Blanc. It is always a pleasure to welcome you. Arrivederci!!
Marisa and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Perfect and relaxable.The rooms are very nice and clean.It is close to the skiing area and the markets.The people there are so nice and joyfull.Specialy Marissa.I suggest you to go.It is a place that should be known.We loved it as a family...

Room Tip: Big rooms are more relaxable for families
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fahriye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa M, Direttore at Residence Le Grand Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Fahriye,
thank you for your great review and for choosing Le Grand Chalet for the second time. I am happy to know that you love our beautiful Courmayeur. It would be a pleasure to welcome you here again for your next winter holiday. My kindest regards to you and your family,
Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Thanks a lot to all the staff of Le Grand Chalet! We spent an outstanding week here. Daily cleaning (except kitchenette), towels and sheets changing - have nothing to complain about. Maybe the nearest residence to the Cable car - about 5 minuts by legs (downhill to the lift and uphill after skiing - prefered it was vice versa :-) ). 2 supermarkets in 2-3 minuts walking. Pedestrian area starts on the same street, all the glam shops can be found there if anyone is interested. Skiroom is preaty small and has nothing to sit on while changing boots but is equiped with modern bootsdryer. Kids sleges can be taken for no fee.
Swimming pool isn't for swimming, but for relaxing - not much space there. Two saunas. And competely nobody in spa zone. Puzzled me every time. Kids are allowed in spa up to 17 o'clock.
Our room had two balconies, one with Mon Blanc view - what could be better?
You'll love this place if you prefer careless sleep. The street is quite just as it could be, even after hard snowfall you won't hear any snowplugs. Still trying to guess how do they do it - the roads are kept clear of snow.
WiFi signal was weak but enough for news reading etc.
Near the reception books about Alpes and Aosta can be taken - never had time to try :-)
I doubt you can find something so cozy as this residence for this price.
Almost forgotten: I was very glad to find room plans on the site - they are absolutely correct.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myslyvslyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa M, Direttore at Residence Le Grand Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for taking time to write your long great review. I also thank you for listing many good reasons for selecting Le Grand Chalet.
We are very lucky to be located close to the main cable car that takes to the slopes and to the centre; our prime position means that guests can get aroung easily without needing to use a car.
I do hope that your travels will bring you back to our beautiful Courmayeur in the future, as it would be a pleasure to welcome you again.
Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Courmayeur is so good for a long weekend. We fly to Geneva on a Thursday afternoon, we've landed and done the car journey in 2 hours door to door! Really easy!

The welcome at the Grand Chalet always feels like we are coming home. Marisa greets us with a welcoming smile and this year a bottle of Preseco! Our fave. We stayed in an apartment so had a big bedroom with views of Mont Blanc and a massive lounge/diner/kitchen so ample room if you are travelling with a couple of kids.

There is a small spa unerneath which is always clean and nice for us to use, after a day up the mountain this gives welcome relief.

The bar in the hotel - is good, superb beers (a little pricey) but the drinks are always served with loads of really good Tapas of sorts so good value in the end. A short 5 minute walk into town.
We love the little town - full of beautiful shops and bars, it sounds daft but so unlike any of the resorts over in France. Its chic, very cool and has of course lots of great places to eat or just drink a coffee.
This is a great place for a long weekend if you have limited time but for a week would also be wonderful as theres lots of other resorts in Aosta to explore!

We always go for my wifes birthday - for great skiing and superb food on the mountain. You can really take it eay if you like, loads of good stuff on the mountain, there aren't any bad places and all seems really good value (the Italians don't put up with crap service and rediculous prices as seen in the other resorts).

We have booked again for next year and can't wait.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews