We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing views friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vallee Blanche
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
256 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“amazing views friendly staff”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Situated at the foot of Mont Blanc only minutes from the cable car, this is a great option if you're making your way up to the top of the mountain. I had a single room with a window looking out onto the mountain. The room was big, clean and very comfortable. The staff were also very friendly and I enjoyed my stay there very much. I arrived there in bus and it was very easy to get there. They also give out a discount card for surrounding restaurants for dinner as they don't have their own restaurant. This was good value for money and I was very happy with my stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoMapNoWorries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico L, Proprietario at Hotel Vallee Blanche, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile ospite,
La ringrazio per il suo bellissimo commento. Ci fa piacere ricevere complimenti anche dall’ altra parte del mondo. Sperando di poterla un giorno riaccogliere
Cordiali Saluti
Federico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    78
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
55
82
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leamington spa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

we stayed for 4-nights during a short ski holiday in April. Definitely a very pleasant experience.
we had a family room (x3) which was good size, nice views of the mountains.
Breakfast was very good with really top quality ingredients, and even offering freshly squeezed orange juice!. Reception personnel extremely helpful with always very useful tips.
Overall, very pleasing stay.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DimG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico L, Proprietario at Hotel Vallee Blanche, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Google Translation
La ringraziamo sinceramente per la sua recensione. Ci fa piacere che abbia apprezzato la nostra colazione, nella quale puntiamo molto. Sperando di poterla presto avervi nuovamente con noi
Cordiali saluti
Federico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kouvola, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights beginning of March. Overally everything was okey! Staff were friendly and very helpful, an example Mr Maurizio helped us kindly when I had a broken leg. He picked up from traumatology in Courmayeur with his car when taxi-services were poor...
We had family suite room for three, two rooms with one bathroom. Enough for us who spent all daily time in mountains. Skibus service is close enough.
Breakfast was pretty good, one small thing.. nothing fresh tomatoes or salads wasn't available. Cooked eggs was just perfect, just remember ask!
Motorway and Mont Blanc tunnel generate a lot of traffic, in terrace that could be minus for someones.
Remember utilize La Palud restaurants, they are offering special prices for hotel clients!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iku63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico L, Proprietario at Hotel Vallee Blanche, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Iku,
Grazie per il suo commento su di noi. Siamo contenti che lei sia rimasto soddisfatto del sua vacanza nella nostra località nonostante il suo inconveniente.
La aspettiamo per il suo prossimo soggiorno da noi!
Cordiali saluti
Federico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
185 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We booked a superior room well in advance but when we arrived we were shown to a family room. With two single beds plus a double bed it meant there was no room left for any furniture and the room lacked any kind of superior ambiance, We complained that we had booked a superior room but the owner stated that as far as he was concerned a family room and a superior were the same to him.The owner then showed us to a standard room which despite being smaller at least had some shelves to put things. At first he tried to charge the same rate for the standard room as the superior room because we had pre-booked but then agreed a slightly lower rate but refused to give the 5 % pre-booking discount. I find it extremely disappointing when hotels don't honour the bookings they take .

The rooms are basic and seem to be plastered in some kind of gravel and painted white. It is also a long time since we have stayed in a hotel with brown blankets instead of duvets. The sound proofing is non existent and the hotel extremely noisy. You can hear conversations and people in bathrooms in other rooms very clearly. The electric blackout roller blinds are very effective but the be prepared for the noise they make, as you can hear everyone's going up and down. The shower cubicles are tiny and our shower needed a new shower head. The TV does not have any English speaking channels. Maybe the superior rooms are much nicer but I couldn't comment as despite booking one over a month ahead we were not deemed important enough guests to have our booked honoured.

The public rooms lacked any atmosphere with a brightly lit bar and no music or atmosphere. The owners and staff are polite but not particularly friendly. No one advised us in breakfast how anything worked but we found out we could order eggs by seeing others do so.

We used the bad weather as an excuse to leave a day early. We more or less paid the rate of the superior room we never had by the time the owner juggled the figures when we checked out.

In short a basic place to rest your head ( on their very hard pillars) for one night but not a place I would want to return too. All in all, very disappointing. I don't write many reviews these days but I felt annoyed by our experience here. I felt the owner definitely favoured locals over oversea guests.

It is only fair to say the place is spotlessly clean, with immaculate sheets and towels.

Room Tip: Double check when you book that you will get the room you expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merryweather29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico L, Proprietario at Hotel Vallee Blanche, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Merry,

Innanzitutto ringraziamo per il tempo ci ha dedicato a scrivere anche se purtroppo la Sua esperienza da noi non risulta positiva.

Per la camera prenotata confermiamo che le nostre camere Superior sono più ampie, dispongono tutte di un balcone vista montagne con una differenza (che riteniamo giustificata) di € 5,00-€ 10,00/notte rispetto alle matrimoniali standard (più piccole e non tutte con balcone).
Essendo più grandi, all’interno è sempre disponibile un letto singolo apribile a 2 letti a castello in caso di necessità motivo per cui è anche proposta come family con occupazione a 2 adulti+2 bambini ad un prezzo imbattibile per le famiglie e con un buon confort.

Le è stato proposto una camera matrimoniale Deluxe ancora più grande della Superior e con balcone panoramico orientato est-ovest con vista a 360°C ma che ha rifiutato poiché c‘era una differenza di € 20,00 rispetto alla Superior (che aveva prenotato inoltre scontata grazie ad un offerta per prenotazioni dirette effettuate sul sito internet ufficiale dell’Hotel Vallee Blanche).

Quindi per quello che ci riguarda riteniamo invece di aver mantenuto quanto lei ha effettivamente prenotato: offriamo un eccellente rapporto qualità-prezzo sulla località di Courmayeur che tanti nostri ospiti sanno riconoscere e ci prenotano di conseguenza e crediamo che il reale motivo della sua scontentezza, sia di non avere ottenuto una camera Deluxe al prezzo scontato della camera Standard.

Teniamo comunque conto di tutti gli altri spunti indicati per migliorare sempre e ringraziamo per i complimenti in merito alla cordialità dello staff e della pulizia della biancheria.

Ci dispiace di non essere riusciti a farle trascorrere un buon soggiorno nel nostro Hotel e che ogni tentativo di farla sorridere è rimasto purtroppo invano.

Cordiali Saluti.

Federico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel is typical ski chalet style with lots of wood and a wood burner in the breakfast room. The surprise is just how beautiful and accommodating it is in the summer. It's clean, friendly and perfectly situated to explore both Mont Blanc (cable car in the car park about 100 yards away!) and Courmayeur. The latter is a great little town with lots going on but it's expensive and seemingly a little 'up itself'! That's why it was great to head back to La Palud and this little hotel after an afternoon in the town. Three local restaurants provide easy access to excellent food. We'll be going back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EzandCri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico L, Proprietario at Hotel Vallee Blanche, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile ospite,

La ringraziamo sinceramente per avere lasciato un suo commento su Tripadvisor, tanto più che è riuscito a descrivere quello che siamo sottolineando la nostra posizione più tranquilla rispetto al centro di Courmayeur ma anche il fatto di essere un ambiente semplice ed accogliente adatto alle persone che cercano autenticità.

Siamo inoltre lieti che abbia trovato di suo gradimento i tre ristoranti con cui l’ Hotel Vallée Blanche è convenzionato. La aspettiamo per il suo prossimo soggiorno da noi (magari in un'altra stagione).
A presto

Federico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
257 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We love Courmayeur in summer for the hiking and scenery. This hotel is my favorite of the three I have tried and I always return here because the owner Mauritizio is so friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable with lovely views from the balconies. There is a cozy bar and attractive patio. The breakfast is a tasty buffet with a good assortment of food. Several good restaurants are close by and for those without a car, buses to hiking or to the city are convenient. We have found Mauritizio a reliable source of advice for beautiful hikes and restaurants. The hotel is family friendly, but also a nice getaway for a couple. I look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico L, Proprietario at Hotel Vallee Blanche, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Anna,
La ringrazio a nome di tutto lo staff per le belle parole. Rispecchiano alla perfezione quello che siamo e che facciamo per rendere piacevole il soggiorno ai nostri ospiti : soddisfarli è in effetti un nostro motivo di orgoglio. La aspettiamo per il sua prossima memorabile vacanza da noi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

It was like staying with family without the irritation or obligation. They were lovely to us and we will definitely be back! It was a comfortable stop on a long road trip between Yorkshire and Venice but we were tempted to extend our "rest"! Thanks again~ we'll see you next time we are in the area!

The restaurant further down the hill is an additional gem!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_dilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico L, Proprietario at Hotel Vallee Blanche, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile ospite,

Innanzitutto La ringrazio per i complimenti. La nostra famiglia conduce ormai l’Hotel Vallée Blanche da tre generazioni. Essendo una dimensione a noi vicina, è un nostro moto ospitare al meglio le famiglie, offrendo camere adeguate ad un prezzo giusto ed un ambiente tradizionale, accogliente e sereno.
La ringrazio anche per aver sottolineato la nostra posizione “strategica” per chi, come voi e molti altri attraversano l’ Europa e ci hanno scelti per una pausa ai piedi del Monte-Bianco.
Sperando di poterla rincontrare presto,

Federico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergo Dente del Gigante
Albergo Dente del Gigante
#11 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge de la Maison
Auberge de la Maison
#2 of 42 in Courmayeur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Berthod
Hotel Berthod
#9 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#6 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
#3 of 42 in Courmayeur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Novecento Romantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vallee Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vallee Blanche

Property: Hotel Vallee Blanche
Address: Strada la Palud 38, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vallee Blanche 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Courmayeur at the foot of Mont Blanc, Hotel Vallee Blanche welcome guests in a traditional atmosphere guaranteed by the attentive family management. A perfect place for those seeking convenience and peace in direct contact with a unique alpine environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Vallee Blanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing