We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Courmayeur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rifugio Walter Bonatti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We use the Refuge Bonatti for our clients who book on our trekking holidays in particular on the Tour du Mont Blanc. The feedback we have received from our clients this summer has been great... it has a fantastic location with amazing views, good facilities, friendly helpful service and lovely food. It is an amazing place , if you are doing the Tour du Mont Blanc you must stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montblanctreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 253 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Unlike some of the accommodation we stayed in on the TMB, Rifugio Bonatti was comfortable even when operating near full capacity. Others have described the many ways it delights, so I'll just add a note about the showers, which are unlimited in time but very limited in hot water. If you run hot water full blast, you'll use up your supply of hot water in about a minute. I recommend using lukewarm water at a trickle, and turning the water off when soaping, to prevent a freezing rinse.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank BasketWeaver2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

All the positive reviews on this page speak for themselves, but my personal favorite things:
1. The drying room. Amazing. How do other refuges not have this? It's just a tiny room with lots of heaters and clotheslines, our clothes were warm and toasty by morning.
2. The shower system. The token system is genius, and is a great way to ensure that everyone gets hot water.
3. The food. To die for. And it just kept coming!
4. The beds. Spacious, clean, and each with their own cubby, which is huge!
5. The staff. Very nice, very helpful.

My one negative:
1. There's a farmer who keeps his cows on this hill, and no ropes to keep cows off the trail. Let's just say I was really happy to be able to wash my clothes in their basins and then to have that drying room!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erawka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

charming refugio that had a spotless double room that was quite spacious. Really appreciated the drying room for our laundry. Lovely dinner and nice breakfast. The decor featuring the famous climber Bonatti was also really inspiring. The best refugio on the TMB! A great aspect with spectacular mountain views.

Room Tip: Loved our double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamaletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

One of the best reugio's we stayed in during our trip around mount blanc.

While it is big and full of people , the service was great.

we had a very nice and comfortable room.

the toilets and showers were very clean and good (we could do with more hot water)

the location is wonderful and the tables outside are great to sit at to have a drink and look at the view.

Dinner was very good - lots of food and tasty

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Lovely views all around the rifugio with tables and chairs outside to enjoy a drink and the spectacular views. The managers were very friendly and helpful. We booked a mixture of private rooms and dorms and everyone was happy with the accommodation. My room had a great view of the mountains and was very spacious with places to put our belongings - not always the case in some rifugios. Dinner and breakfast were also good and plentiful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandrabushwalker_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

As rifugios go, this was very good - indeed the best one we stayed in. It has an excellent position looking at the south side of the Mont Blanc massive and, if the sun is shining, it has a lovely sun terrace where it is possible to soak up the rays and have lunch. The family who run the rifugio are very efficient and helpful. There is a welcome drying room for wet or washed kit. The rooms are neat, tidy, clean and efficient. Dinner was better than the average rifugio and there was plenty of food. For me there were two downsides: first was the showers which ran off a token that gave you 20 litres of water. This involves getting wet, soaping up with the water off whilst getting cold and then wasking off. Not ideal. The other downside is that there wasn't any hot water in the washrooms in the morning.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good and none have much of a view anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
4.1 mi away
Auberge de la Maison
Auberge de la Maison
#2 of 42 in Courmayeur
558 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
#3 of 42 in Courmayeur
390 reviews
5.8 mi away
Super G - Italian Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Funivia
Hotel Funivia
#5 of 21 in Courmayeur
144 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Courmayeur Mont Blanc
4.9 mi away
Hotel Club Mont Blanc
Hotel Club Mont Blanc
#40 of 42 in Courmayeur
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rifugio Walter Bonatti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rifugio Walter Bonatti

Address: Loc. Malatra | Val Ferret, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Courmayeur
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing