We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding and great value”
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding and great value”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Came on a four day ski break with our sons. The hotel was perfect - clean and functional and very friendly. Highly recommended and we will be coming back. The bar was very pleasant but it was strange that we couldn't add drinks to the hotel bill. But apart from that there were no criticisms.

Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank daver1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    48
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
43
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed here with some friends at the end of January (one has already written a review) and I am mainly writing to commend her review. This place was friendly, clean and the rooms were spacious.

The staff were very accommodating even with our late (2am) arrival and came to pick up our luggage from the bus stop and took it back down to the collection point the day we left. The rooms were nice and spacious with lots of storage (we had the two rooms up at the very top of the hotel) and were warm without being a sauna (the last few years in Austria the rooms were almost unbarebly hot)

Breakfast was pretty basic but adequate and we were central for the restuarants and bars/shops. We were able to buy our ski pass from reception saving a lot of time and they also booked restaurants for us. Overall a lovely skiing holiday in a quaint cobbled town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norfy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss1953, Proprietario at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello!
thankyou for your kind words.
We really hope to have you girls all back one day.
Best regards

Diletta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Seriously, we couldn't fault it. Four of us have just returned from 4 days skiing in Courmayeur. We were booked into the Hotel Edelweiss and could not recommend it enough. It's brilliantly located right in the centre of town. Despite the town being a no car zone our luggage was picked up from our coach drop off and we made our way (all 3 mins walk) to the hotel.

It's a lovely picturesque alpine hotel, with a spacious (wifi friendly) bar and lounge and a bright open breakfast room. The rooms were clean and compact, we had a balcony looking out over Mt Blanc (Bianco). Absolutely lovely and helpful each morning to determine the weather for our day on the slopes. The only point I would make (and we did) is the hotel needs better pillows and possibly slightly longer beds for our taller companions. As soon as we mentioned it, fresh pillows arrived.

Breakfast was delightful - the usual continental with rocket fuel coffee. The highlight of our stay however was our host, Diletta (owner). She was a true star and for those of you who know how much there is to organise with ski trips, she could not have been more helpful. Diletta organised our ski passes, transfers to the lifts, our ski hire and several evening restuarant bookings. She made us feel so warm and welcome even keeping the bar open as we rolled in late one evening.

It's a brilliant 2 star and having travelled the world, staying in a variety of graded hotels I cannot fault the lovliness of this hotel. Thank you Diletta.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKRachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss1953, Proprietario at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hello!
Thankyou is all I can say for your kind words.
We all try to do our utmost to help our guests to have a hassle-free holiday and feel home away from home.
To know that we achieved the goal is the best reward.
We look forward to your next visit!
Regards

Diletta & c.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Myself and 4 girlfriends stayed at the Edelweiss on a 4 day ski trip at the end of January. We had never been to Courmeyeur before and chose this hotel mainly for its location and good value for money. Our room (triple) was spacious and comfortable. Our friends were next door to us which was perfect. The hotel is clean, comfortable and charming.

Great welcome and service from Diletta (who spoke excellent English) and organised ski passes and restaurant bookings for us happily. The rest of the team at the Edelweiss were also helpful and polite.

Highly recommend it and best wishes from Louise, Jo, Claire, Deborah and me for the rest of the winter season and forthcoming summer. We really hope we manage to come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss1953, Proprietario at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hello girls!
Thank you for taking time to contribute with these kind words.
We are glad to hear you had a good time at Edelweiss and we look forward to your return to Courmayeur.
We wish you all the best

Diletta and the whole crew @ Edelweiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just come back from a 4 day ski trip with my wife and 5 friends staying at Hotel Edelweiss. We've been to Courmayeur twice before and previously stayed at another central hotel offered by Ski Solutions. While all you really need for this kind of trip is a place to rest your head and a clean, comfortable room we were never that impressed with the service from the old hotel.

Having read the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to give Edelweiss a go and are so glad we did. It is still right in the centre of the old town with all the bars and shops close by and still only a short walk to the main gondola up to the slopes. The difference here is the service. The hotel is family run and the staff were just unbelievably welcoming and helpful.

Little touches like collecting all the skis and luggage from the bus stop on arrival, selling lift passes from reception so we didn't have to queue at the kiosk and booking evening restaurants for us all contributed to a really relaxed stay. There are other examples where they went above and beyond what I'd normally expect in order to ensure we had a great time.

The hotel is simple, but charming and has a nice usable bar area with a lounge and good atmosphere. Ourselves and other guests all enjoyed swapping stories over aperetifs and nightcaps.

All in all, I would heartily recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good value place to stay while skiing Courmayeur. We will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss1953, Proprietario at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hello Andrew!
Thank you for your kind words and for taking time to share your experience.
We are going to miss the late chit chatting at the bar!
We look forward to your next visit.

Diletta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

After a three days hike at tour du Mont Blanc, hotel edelweiss is a nice place to recharge. An typical small abuergo at mountain city, centrally located at the center. (though the town is small) Rooms are clean and tidy, the owner was warm and friendly, every staff are helpful. This is a very good deal to stay at this hotel. And I loved the 2 cats here, one of them was so friendly and slept next to me at sofa when I was sitting at the lobby. Loved this place very much!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during our Tour du Mont Blanc, as it was recommended in the guide book. Initially, I was discouraged by how far the hotel was from the center of town, but trust me, the walk is worth it! The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable (especially compared to the beds in the dortoirs that we were used to!). There was no A/C, but the balcony with mountain view was more than enough to make up for that. The hotel's breakfast was honestly one of the best on the Tour - they actually offered some cold cuts and cheese in addition to the usual bread, jam, and yogurt.
The absolute best part of the hotel was the service. All of the employees that we came across were very nice, but the manager was the best! When we first arrived in town, we ran all over looking for a laundromat - only to discover that the one in town was closed. Defeated, we returned to our hotel. When we told the manager the story he said "we have the laundry here!" I'll never forget it! He took us into his back garage and let us do all of our laundry- detergent included - for free! After several days on the trail this came across as the most amazing gesture ever.
All in all, great place, worth the walk up the hill! it was a hard place to leave!

Room Tip: Anything facing out toward the town is sure to be gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erawka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Crampon
Hotel Crampon
#13 of 42 in Courmayeur
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Berthod
Hotel Berthod
#9 of 42 in Courmayeur
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Croux
Hotel Croux
#19 of 42 in Courmayeur
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cresta et Duc
Hotel Cresta et Duc
#17 of 42 in Courmayeur
467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tavernier
Hotel Tavernier
#31 of 42 in Courmayeur
166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Novecento Romantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Property: Hotel Edelweiss
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 42, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Edelweiss 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing