We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with option of fabulous gluten free food”
Review of Hotel Aigle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aigle
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel with option of fabulous gluten free food”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hotel Aigle is a gem of a small boutique hotel in the quaint village town of Entreves about 1 1/2 mi north of Courmayeur. Alessandro, the owner/manager offers his guest a genuinely warm welcome and is extremely helpful in English with ideas and resources to make your stay more rewarding and fun. He is adept at finding solutions to a traveler's interests and concerns.
The hotel is reasonably priced and offers half board - breakfast and a delicious dinner that far exceeded our expectations.
What makes Hotel Aigle's food so additionally extraordinary is that both of us have difficulty with gluten. All of our meals were prepared gluten free at our request at no extra charge. We have never found a restaurant in the San Francisco area that made gluten free food at all comparable to the wonderful quality and taste available at this hotel.
The rooms were spotless, simple and modern with comfortable beds and ample storage areas. Some rooms have great views. Easy parking, low cost wifi, great staff.
We went hut hopping in the mountains above after our stay. Alessandro was happy to store our extra gear and car and greeted us with his warm hospitality upon our return.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a Mt Blanc view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    42
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
68
77
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rapallo, Italy
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Me and my husband, we stayed 2 days in this hotel, it is great for various reasons: The location (exactly in front of the Monte Bianco, you can see the beautiful Mountain from the entrance door, and in the back of the hotel you can see and hear the powerful river passing by. Just few minutes walk from the actual cablecar to the Monte Bianco. Easy to find if you arrive by car and the staff/team is really great, always nice and smiling, helpful (Alessandro gave us good advices on what to do or where to go), good food (I can say there is plenty). We enjoyed the back terrace. We had a really great 2 days vacation and from there you can go everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianna Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divide, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were hiking the Tour de Mont Blanc and wanted a rest day in Courmayeuer. On a recomendation from a manager at the Rifugio Elisabetta, we stayed two nights at the Hotel Aigle. What a wonderful hotel with very friendly and accomadating staff. The food was exceptional; our only complaint was that they gave us too much! The location is also very quiet and the terrace in the back next to the river provides a lovely atmosphere for relaxation. It is also easy walking from here to the Funivie Monte Bianco. We got a short bus ride the next morning from here to continue our hike. We would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Visited in June, so not in the ski season, but still a friendly and cosy feeling with clouds rolling down from the nearby Mont Blanc and th roaring river by the car park -an idyllic location. Rooms comfortable, with tv and Sky, Internet wifi codes available at the bar. Excellent food, both evening meal and continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prevost, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed for a week at Hotel Aigle in March for a wonderful week of skiing..We were greeted by Alessandro, the owner, who made sure we were very comfortable. We had not taken the half board but ended eating at the hotel 5 nites out of 7.The food was amazing and we are both epucireans...so you can just imagine how delighted we were..Do not hesitate to take the half board...for 5 services, it is absolutely sumptuous.. We definitely recommend this hotel. The accommodations , beds, size of room were very comfortable..and the hotel is close to downtowm Courmayeur and ski resorts making it a perfect location if you have a car...if not, I recommend staying directly in Courmayeur, as you would be closer to everything...Alessandro, grazie mille per una manifico viaggi....Ciao Ciao Linda and Camil

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubblemontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This little hotel was so good and all the staff their were so helpful I decided to write my first review!
They even kept the restaurant open for us really late when our flight was delayed and took our snowboards off us when we came in tired off the slopes.
Stayed halfboard and the food was brilliant.
Thanks all at the hotel for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank M4E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Great stay 1 week at Aigle hotel. Allesandro is a fantastic and serviceminded host and served us with tips for skiing , places to visit and last but not least, espresso and different types of grappas at the bar ! Fabricio cooked a fantastic 4 courses of local food for dinner which we really liked. And the desserts - mmmm - magnific! And for breakfast , warm croiasants ( Andreas recipy ?) , - we have to admit that we took 2 of theese every morning . ;-)
We travelled around to different ski resorts in the Aosta valley, enjoyed a lot and got a great skiing weekend !
/our best regards to Alessandro and the rest of "the team"
Ciao Elisabetta and Maria

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge de la Maison
Auberge de la Maison
#2 of 42 in Courmayeur
497 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Novecento Romantic Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vallee Blanche
Hotel Vallee Blanche
#7 of 42 in Courmayeur
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pilier d'Angle
Hotel Pilier d'Angle
#16 of 42 in Courmayeur
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Grange
La Grange
#14 of 42 in Courmayeur
115 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Berthod
Hotel Berthod
#8 of 42 in Courmayeur
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aigle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aigle

Property: Hotel Aigle
Address: Strada la Palud 5, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aigle 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aigle: look out of the windows and admire a view that goes from the top of the Monte Bianco to the peaks of the Dente del Gigante and to the Grandes Jorasses. Cosy modern family-run place with full comfort 12 rooms, private bathroom, telephone, TVsat, hairdryer, safe, etc. The wormy restaurant is completed with the living room, the bar and a large garden with a solarium near the river, deck chairs and umbrellas. Private parking. We suggest half pension accommodation offering international cuisine and typical traditional kitchen dishes; full buffet breakfast in the morning. Gluten-free and vegetarian menu, on demand. The Aigle Hotel can be a real starting point for every excursion to the high mountain refuges up to the spectacular glaciers. Here you can practise all kind of sport: trekking, climbing, rafting, riding, golf, parapende, mountain-bike. In only 5 minutes from the Hotel you can reach: Val Veny, starting point for the Domaine Skiable; Val Ferret, the Paradise for walking and cross country skiing; the New Mount Blanc Cable Car wich goes up to Helbronner Peak (3463 m. High) and leads to Chamonix with its famous "Glaciers Crossing" and the Vallee Blanche downhill skiing and freeride. The Mont Blanc tunnel (road link between France and Italy) is 1 km far and the centre of Courmayeur is 1,5 km far. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Aigle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing