We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, very poor service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, very poor service.”
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Great location, right next to the lifts. However, the rooms are very bare and with poor lighting. The service is really poor - very surly and non-personal. You feel like you are doing them a favour staying! As other reviewer said - they hand you an envelope at the end of your stay to request a tip - outrageous!

Avoid. Head for another hotel further from the lift, and just get the hotel shuttle bus up... much better option!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldtrav82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    53
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
66
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Hotel Astoria is the most wonderfully situated hotel in Cervinia - the ski lift and ticket office and a ski hire shop are just next door.
I took a group of 33, the majority from our Young Farmers Club. The hotel suited all our needs perfectly. The rooms were spotless, as were the bathrooms and the beds were really comfortable. The boot room was enormous and the only critisism I have is the food portions could have been a bit bigger. I would highly recommend The Astoria to anyone taking a large group as it had everything we needed within our budget.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeanieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

We stayed at the Astoria in December. We found the staff friendly and the hotel clean and bright. I believe has has had a refit in the last couple of years.

It was right next door to the cable car which is great as when you are staying down in the village the cable car is at the top of a lot of steps.

Food was plentiful and OK. Not world beating but certainly fine.

We will be going back there next year!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxonBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2009

Excellent care for my third trip to this hotel. We did not arrive until late, the dining room was kept open to feed my family of 5 ( 3 children 4-8-12years). The Astoria is located very close to the cable car so you are removed from the agony of transporting 3 children in boots + ski's etc. over long distances to get to the slopes. Two inter-connecting rooms gave us the facility to look after the children were excellent & well equipped, nice and warm & with good showers and a view of the Matterhorn
Half board accommadation provided us with a good breakfast a choice of tasty evening meals with an Italian flavour & an extentensive wine list.
Would I go back to the Astoria - I have already booked 2010

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymanIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

Ideally placed but.... the rooms are quite spartan with some bathrooms very small with uncomforatble baths. Very poor lighting . Food is average and drinks are extremely pricey. Make sure you stay at the back of the hotel as guests return in the middle of the night and can't remember the code to get in so you turn into the night porter of the hotel in order to stop them shouting their heads off. Service is NOT very friendly, you feel you are 'processed' and the envelope left at the end of the stay to demand a tip is the final straw.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mango2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Stayed in the Astoria for 6 days.
The location is wonderful - just cross the road and go up to the main cable car.
The room that we stayed in was great - a suite with a wonderful view, a modern, clean and spacious bathroom and even a work corner.

The food was good, sometimes very good. Ample breakfast - croissants, toast, yogurts, cereals, sausage/ham, cheese and boiled eggs.
For dinner we always had a choice of 3 starters and 3 mains + a self service bar of salad (lettuce, tomatoes, fennel, carrots) and a dessert.

The staff was nice, helpful and friendly.

A closed parking costs 10euro/day, but there is a free parking lot 200 meters from the hotel.

No boot warmers in the ski room
No wifi

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imdfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2009

I was there the first week in February 2009 with friends, the hotel is marvellous, it is next to the main lift station so there is no mucking about in the morning when it comes to ski-ing time. The staff were very friendly,the food in the hotel was ok, bar two nights early in the week when it was below average. The ski-ing was absolutely fantastic, Cervinia may only have 15 lifts but they are they are big lifts! The run down to Valtournenche was immense, though it has to be said in later season it could be absolute nightmare with spring snow etc. It is well documented elsewhere that if you are pre-booking a lift pass that it is best to get a local area pass, this is correct as the week we were there the the link over to Zermatt was only open one day. I'm lead to believe the week after that the link wasn't open at all. In fact, with the way the exchange rates the way they are it is far better to pre-book your lift pass.

The resort wasn't too busy the week we were there, Brits were probably the most common in resort, closely followed by the Russkies. We went out for a meal one night at Jour Et Nuit which was excellent, the chap who ran the place, Luka was an excellent host. Unfortunately, he got nagged to death by his wife.

Drinks were the same price wherever you went i.e. 3-4 Euro's for a vino, 5 euro's for a beer & 8 euro's for a cocktail. Needless to say the various Happy Hour's around the place were very popular. The Happy Hour's were between 4-5.30pm.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuanDavienarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breuil-Cervinia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saint Hubertus Resort
Saint Hubertus Resort
#1 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#10 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#9 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Angel Hotel
White Angel Hotel
#20 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meuble Mon Reve
Hotel Meuble Mon Reve
#7 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Piazzale Funivie, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located 20 meters from the Plan Maison Gondola and 50 meters from the resort centre.The hotel completely renovated in summer 2012 in a simple but functional way.Welcomes guest in a warm and familiar ambience, offering spacious public areas: rstaurant, bar , reading room, pool room, ski room private parking and a large terrace from where you can admire a 180° view of the impressive Grandes Murailles chain and whereyou can enjoy a glass of local wine accompanied by salami from Valtournenche.We offer Typical Aostan dishes and also internation food.Free Wi Fi in all areas.The 26 standard rooms completely renovated and elegantly furnished (many of wich are adjoining), all have bathroom with shower, bathtub, telephone and tv-sat.if you are looking for comfort and total relaxation or a holiday with the family we have 4 suites available on the 3rd floor with beautiful balconies and a spectacular view on the valley or ski slopes.Each one has a large double bedroom and a living room with 2 more beds, a spacious bathroom, tv.sat., telephone and mini bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing