We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgraceful for the price!”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disgraceful for the price!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Ok firstly let me start by apportioning some of the blame for this poor review to the tour operator Crystal Holidays, who were, quite frankly appalling throughout the whole process.
I would be very interested to see how much other reviewers of this hotel paid for their stay here. For what we paid through Cyrstal holidays we could have had a fully catered chalet in val'disere.
I dont mind the fact that the hotel had simple facilities etc, it was the fact the we had paid so much for our week there that I expected so much more.
I will start with some positives:
- the location is great, right next to the main gondola.
- rooms clean, simple, adequate in size with nice views of the Materhorn.
- Good ski and boot storage facilities under the hotel.
- Good breakfast food.

The negatives:
- Appalling food, I am a terrible cook, I think most of my friends dread coming to mine for supper, however this place made my cooking like like a gourmet experience!
- No consideration for guests sleep. The chef, judging by what ended up on the plate, had a delivery at 4am of goat carcasses, which he then proceeded to hack away at from 5-7am creating an awful din! I wouldn't have minded so much if when at supper time I hadnt been presented with a plateful of goat bones with a couple of strands of meat clinging on.
- Breakfast, although the food was fine, was served far too late. It didnt open until 8am every morning so with first lift at 8.30, the whole hotel would go at once, being self service this was a bit painful to say the least!
- The bar, overrpriced and unwelcoming. When we went in after dinner, we often felt unwelcome as if we were causing and inconvenience to be there.

I think we were badly ripped off by Crystal holidays for this place, I would need to look at a normal price list to see how much it usually costs to stay here directly as I cannot believe all guests pay what we paid.

I would actually stay here again, as the location is great and the rooms are fine, I would only want to do B&B though as I would never eat there again. and the price would have to be 50% of what we paid!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    54
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
66
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed at the Astoria Hotel for a week of spring skiing in early April. The hotel is ideally situated next to the Plan Maison gondola, something along the lines of a 100m walk from the front of the hotel onto the gondola. Even in April we could ski down to the gondola car park, although there are roughly 40 stairs to climb to get back up before you can walk to the hotel.

We booked the Astoria Hotel as half-board, and while we can see why some folks would take issue with the food we found that it was good home-style cooking. Every other night or so, we'd start out with a salad bar of sliced carrots, fennel, italian beans with tuna, tomatoes, and a mix of whatever was fresh. Meals consist of a starter (usually a choice of pastas or soups), a main (we had pork, lamb, beef, and a few vegetarian options), and a dessert (the panna cotta was our favorite). All-in-all, we were happy with the food, but expect something more along the lines of home cooked food rather than something from the nicer restaurants in Cervinia.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side face the Matterhorn, while rooms on the south side look over the mountain ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olive394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elide B, Direttore at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Google Translation
Ringraziamo e speriamo in un arrivederci
Elide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We went here as a large group, and will not be returning. The hotel is dated and utilitarian and not that cheap.

The food is awful, I mean really dreadful, if i could give this place minus 5 stars for the food then I would. Too much salt on everything...poor sauces and no care whatsoever on presentation. When you consider you can have a cracking meal in town for about 15 Euros a head (if that) it really puts the substandard level of the food in the hotel into context.

The location is its saving grace as right next to the main and fastest lift, however you will still have to walk about 150M when you get back in from a days skiing, up a steep hill. The rooms are plain, but adequate, however the walls are paper thin, so you will become very familiar with the couple next doors holiday too!

Overall if you can avoid then do...not that cheap, and no real extras offered, the bar is expensive and the food inedible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just returned from a week at the Astoria with 9 friends courtesy of Crystal Ski. Let’s being with the positives:
Great location, a couple of minutes walk from the main cable car and gondola.
Clean, comfortable hotel. Good beds, plenty of space for storage.
Above average continental breakfast. Make your own toasties, boiled eggs etc.
Ski and boot storage exceptional. Warm boots in the morning. Mmmm…
Staff – excellent cleaners, bar service friendly and efficient.

Now the negatives:
Evening meal. OMG. We weren’t expecting gourmet or cordon bleu but the entire group was less than satisfied with the quality of food. Most of us have worked for the NHS and will never complain about canteen food again. Example, omelette for main course (yes I said omelette) was so dense it could be used by a burglar to smash the glass of a triple glazed window. One meal was so salty that my nephew (who will usually chomp down absolutely anything with gusto) returned it to the kitchen. No fuss mind; it was replaced by a slightly more palatable plate. On a brighter note and to be fair, the pasta courses were OK but nothing more than what a amateur could knock up with a jar of sauce and packet of penne.

I don’t suppose it’s the fault of the hoteliers that some guests are @rseholes and it’s was unfortunate that the week we were staying at the Astoria coincided with a party of obnoxious braying donkeys. These toss pots were determined to wake everyone up between 1am and 5am most nights. It seems that the Astoria accommodates groups together on the lower floors so if you like to sleep before skiing I guess it’s worth requesting a room on a higher floor.

To conclude we had a fantastic week of skiing. Once we realised the food at the Astoria was not going to live up to expectations we made sure we had a late lunch each day in one of many excellent mountain restaurants. It’s a great base for bed and breakfast; just don’t build up your appetite for dinner…

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors at the back of the hotel are quieter with views of Matterhorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sideshowsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Astoria is in an ideal location. Almost next door to the lift station. The bubble lift and gondola take you to the first level where the ski schools meet.
5 minute walk from town.
The food at the hotel is excellent,buffet breakfast, evening meals very good and varied menu.
Rooms clean and spacious, plenty of hooks to hang up ski clothing.
Ski room has lockers and Heated boot hangers.Best ask when booking for lockers there did not seem to be a locker for every room, but there were first come first served heated boot hangers outside of the lockers also.
We asked for a view of Monte Cervino ,also called the Matterhorn outside of Italy, we were lucky the hotel obliged and we enjoyed the view all week.
Visit The Bar off red run 3 for great lunch and drinks,they had some great videos of radical alpine Skiing and boarding.
Also in town the Copa pan and the Dragon for great
atmosphere.
During your holiday you can ski the longest red run in the world 20km from the
glacier all the way to Valtournenche and visit the highest glacier in the world. Its great.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elide B, Direttore at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Google Translation
la vs. soddisfazione è per noi la ricompensa migliore
la direzione e lo staff ringraziano e sperano in un arrivederci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed here with my Dad and 2 sisters (we're aged 23-28 yrs) check in was very quick. The room was very big and spacious, and very clean. It is situated right in a little town which was very picturesque.
The food was really nice every night, we chose what we wanted for the evening while eating breakfast. It was 4 courses and once we had finished each course, the next one came out quickly, even though the dining room was full. Staff and waiters/waitresses were very friendly. There was wifi available which had a good strong connection (I used facetime on iphone and it didn't cut out)
The boot room was in their basement which was very warm, there were heated lockers but the room was warm enough to dry your boots out overnight.
The brochure we had said the lift was next to the hotel..that was a bit deceiving, you have to walk up the hill, which isn't far but is far enough when you're wearing ski boots and you have to carry your skiis and poles!! It was nice to have it so close compared to other resorts though. so I'm not complaining!
The snow was great, runs great, skiied to switzerland which was good. I'd say it's definitely more for intermediates, there were a few black runs which could easily have been passed off as reds!
all in all a great week! I would recommend this hotel for couples, groups of friends and families!

Room Tip: we had a room on the top floor so we had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicki206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elide B, Direttore at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Google Translation
la direzione e lo staff ringraziano per aver scelto l'hotel Astoria e sperano in un
arrivederci il prossimo inverno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Hotel Astoria is situated right next to the cable car lifts, and with a ski run returning to the lifts, it is perfectly located for skiing in Cervinia . We were 10 'lads' - well mainly Dads! - on a four day ski trip, and we were well catered for by the very helpful and friendly staff and entertaining patron. Big boot room. Spacious dining hall, and breakfast room with good Italian food. Not too fancy. Some chaps in rooms of four could have done with more luxurious accommodation - but we are getting on a bit now! I would highly recommend Cervinia for good red run skiing and great trip over to Swiss Zermatt slopes and spectacular cable car back from Zermatt, by the glorious Matterhorn. Overall an excellent hotel we would be happy to return to.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank anyoldiron2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elide B, Direttore at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Google Translation
la direzione e lo staff ringraziano e sperano di averVi ancora come graditi
ospiti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breuil-Cervinia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saint Hubertus Resort
Saint Hubertus Resort
#1 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#13 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#9 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Angel Hotel
White Angel Hotel
#20 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Planet
Hotel Excelsior Planet
#3 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Piazzale Funivie, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located 20 meters from the Plan Maison Gondola and 50 meters from the resort centre.The hotel completely renovated in summer 2012 in a simple but functional way.Welcomes guest in a warm and familiar ambience, offering spacious public areas: rstaurant, bar , reading room, pool room, ski room private parking and a large terrace from where you can admire a 180° view of the impressive Grandes Murailles chain and whereyou can enjoy a glass of local wine accompanied by salami from Valtournenche.We offer Typical Aostan dishes and also internation food.Free Wi Fi in all areas.The 26 standard rooms completely renovated and elegantly furnished (many of wich are adjoining), all have bathroom with shower, bathtub, telephone and tv-sat.if you are looking for comfort and total relaxation or a holiday with the family we have 4 suites available on the 3rd floor with beautiful balconies and a spectacular view on the valley or ski slopes.Each one has a large double bedroom and a living room with 2 more beds, a spacious bathroom, tv.sat., telephone and mini bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing