We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and well run”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Just returned after a great week's skiing with 5 friends. From the moment we walked in we were made to feel welcome. Mateo looked after us well all week at the bar and the catering staff were just as attentive. Can't fault it. Grazie

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank whitefish_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elide B, Direttore at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014
Google Translation

la direzione e lo staff ringraziano e sperano di averVi ancora come graditi
ospiti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 175 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed here with 9 friends for a short skiing holiday. Outstanding value for money. Staff really friendly and helpful. Hotel spotless, food whilst not fine dining was good. The typical continental breakfast was excellent. The location was brilliant for skiing, 30m to lift and ski shop and 50m to the main street. The best boot room ever!

As far as skiing in Cervinia is concerned, if the weather is good this place is just fantastic. Good lifts, a wide range of slopes and being able to ski in Zermatt is great too.

The restaurants on the Cervinia slopes are the best I have visited in over 30 years of skiing.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank RogerLightfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elide B, Direttore at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014
Google Translation

la direzione e lo staff ringraziano e sperano in un vs. prossimo arrivederci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed for a week commencing 12th January, 2014. The hotel is well maintained, in good order and well run. The location next to the gondola is perfect. The views of the Matterhorn from our room window were stunning. There is a big basement with ski racks and heated lockers for your boots. For skiers/boarders it would take some beating.

The public areas are very pleasant and the staff all unceasingly pleasant and helpful.

I have just a few niggles. The hotel lacks atmosphere. We travelled as a couple and there were several other couples in the hotel. We were all placed at seperate dining tables. I'd like to have been on a communal table so that we could interact more readily. We did introduce ourselves gradually but with typical British reserve it took a little time.
The dinner courses did come across to me as a little random and often failed to live up to the owners wonderfully ornate descriptions. Don't get me wrong, there was plenty to eat and it was varied but it lacked a little imagination at times.

That's the moans out of the way and I wouldn't want to discourage anyone from staying at the Astoria overall it was a good experience.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back for views of the Matterhorn and the pistes. Don't bother asking for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BMassi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elide B, Direttore at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014
Google Translation

la direzione e lo staff ringraziano e sperano in un arrivederci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here the first week of April 2013 travelled with Crystal and were in room 208. Great hotel spacious en-suite rooms cleaned daily, every member of staff in the hotel were really nice and friendly and always very helpful. Nice food and welcoming bar and communal seating area. I honestly have nothing bad to say about this hotel. The location is great for the Gondala station about 50m walk which takes you straight up to the Plan Maison ski area. The ski room is heated and spacious with ramped easy access. It is a 200m walk to the town centre down some steps. Overall good quality great value with superb staff. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stunotdunroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time skiing in Italy and it definitely won't be the last. The Hotel Astoria was everything we could have hoped for and the family that run it extremely friendly and helpful. On the last day my daughter inadvertently left her games console at the hotel as we returned to England, but without delay the hotel owners returned it to us at their expense as quickly as possible. This was a fine example of the commitment to please that this hotel displayed and was the icing on the cake to what had already been our best skiing holiday so far .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharmexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is family run and is in the best location to get the gondola up to the slopes. The cleanliness in the hotel is impeccable and the rooms are very comfortable.
There was an excellent selection for breakfast and a good choice for dinner every night.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful, we could not have asked for a better hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TessaFus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elide B, Direttore at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you, your satisfaction is the biggest compliment we can receive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel has rooms at the rear which overlook the Matterhorn. It is a small and very friendly place to stay, only 2-3 minutes walk from the Gondola and cable car station which go up to Plan Maison. The boot room is huge!
We had half board: breakfast is the usual mix of cereals, breads, fruit, toast, hot boiled eggs and a very popular sandwich toaster. It is buffet service so there is no need to go hungry!
Dinner is a buffet salad antipasto foloowed by soup or pasta, a main course of meat/fish and then dessert. Dinner selections are made each day at breakfast and always very helpfully explained. We found the food to be homely, filling and varied.
The staff are helpful and very firendly. We plan on returning!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Longhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elide B, Direttore at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for having choser our Hotel.
Your satisfaction is the biggest compliment we can receive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breuil-Cervinia hotels
0.2 mi away
Saint Hubertus Resort
Saint Hubertus Resort
#1 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
376 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Angel Hotel
White Angel Hotel
#15 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meuble Mon Reve
Hotel Meuble Mon Reve
#7 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lo Stambecco Hotel
Lo Stambecco Hotel
#24 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#6 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
499 reviews
2 mi away
Les Neiges d'Antan
Les Neiges d'Antan
#2 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: Piazzale Funivie, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located 20 meters from the Plan Maison Gondola and 50 meters from the resort centre.The hotel completely renovated in summer 2012 in a simple but functional way.Welcomes guest in a warm and familiar ambience, offering spacious public areas: rstaurant, bar , reading room, pool room, ski room private parking and a large terrace from where you can admire a 180° view of the impressive Grandes Murailles chain and whereyou can enjoy a glass of local wine accompanied by salami from Valtournenche.We offer Typical Aostan dishes and also internation food.Free Wi Fi in all areas.The 26 standard rooms completely renovated and elegantly furnished (many of wich are adjoining), all have bathroom with shower, bathtub, telephone and tv-sat.if you are looking for comfort and total relaxation or a holiday with the family we have 4 suites available on the 3rd floor with beautiful balconies and a spectacular view on the valley or ski slopes.Each one has a large double bedroom and a living room with 2 more beds, a spacious bathroom, tv.sat., telephone and mini bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing