We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic room, but a few improvements required.”
Review of Compagnoni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Compagnoni Hotel
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have just returned from a week skiing with Crystal. On arrival there is a short walk to the hotel with your case. The car park was extremely icy so care is needed. On arrival we received a brusque, but not impolite, welcome and were taken to our room. Room 25 is beautiful. Spacious with a balcony overlooking the village and with a bath and power shower. The room was always warm/hot with your own controls. The water is always lovely and hot and doesn't run out. There is a heated towel rail in the bathroom. There is a Cupid in a glass covered alcove above the bed! The beds are very narrow twins pushed together, but very comfortable. Breakfast is good, but fresh fruit would be good rather than just tinned. Plenty of choice, though - continental buffet style. On our departure day we had to leave before 6am. This is far too early to eat and there were no croissants to take away. Other hotels did a pack up and this would have been welcomed so we could eat on the coach as others did. The staff were not impolite, but we didn't feel wholly comfortable and we weren't the only ones who shared that view. We are polite and friendly ourselves, but just didn't feel as comfortable as at other family run hotels. On our first night we were asked to leave the lounge as the bar was closing. We felt uncomfortable so didn't finish our drinks. However, when we got in the lift to go to our room we did get an apology and were told we could stay. The bar lady hadn't realised we were residents. We didn't go in the lounge/bar again, though. Some games are needed - cards, backgammon or dominoes for example. Some maintenance is clearly needed as there was a handrail taped up with Sellotape and the tap in our room came off. The toilet cistern wouldn't stop flushing at one point and the plug in the bidet didn't work. It was, however, very clean and we had fresh towels daily. There are lovely soaps and shower caps in the bathroom. The spa area is private and very nice with hot/cold showers, a sauna, a Turkish bath (steam room) and jacuzzi which is a spa bath for one. We believed it was for half an hour so I went in for 15minites, but it then drained before my boyfriend had his turn. It was quite cold in the area and there was no water or herbal tea. We weren't shown that the lights dimmed and only realised this after so had our spa session in bright lights! Robes, towels and sandals are provided which is lovely. It did the trick and eased my aching muscles. The hotel itself is well located for the village which is very very pretty - especially with and after the large dump of snow we had on Thursday night. However, give consideration to the location to the slopes when considering the choice of hotel. The cretaz chair lift (fast, covered and comfortable) is a short walk. However the next lift (pancheron) doesn't always work and sometimes opens late and even then it's a trek over to plan maison for 10.00 ski school. We didn't know there was a red over to plan maison from the top of cretaz (a daunting prospect anyway on the first day) and we had to ski down the very long run 5 then walk uphill to the gondola station. Up 104 steps. Not easy TWe have just returned from a week skiing with Crystal. On arrival there is a short walk to the hotel with your case. The car
park was extremely icy so care is needed. On arrival we received a brusque, but not impolite, welcome and were taken to our room. Room 25 is beautiful. Spacious with a balcony overlooking the village and with a bath and power shower. There is a Cupid in a glass covered alcove above the bed! The beds are very narrow twins pushed together, but very comfortable. Breakfast is good, but fresh fruit would be good rather than just tinned. Plenty of choice, though - continental buffet style. On our departure day we had to leave before 6am. This is far too early to eat and there were no croissants to take away. Other hotels did a pack up and this would have been welcomed so we could eat on the coach as others did. The staff were not impolite, but we didn't feel wholly comfortable and we weren't the only ones who shared that view. We are polite and friendly ourselves, but just didn't feel as comfortable as at other family run hotels. On our first night we were asked to leave the lounge as it was closing. We felt uncomfortable so didn't finish our drinks. However, when we got in the lift to go to our room we did get an apology and were told we could stay. She hadn't realised we were residents. Some maintenance is clearly needed as there was a handrail taped up with Sellotape and the tap in our room came off. The toilet cistern wouldn't stop flushing at one point and the plug in the bidet didn't work. It was, however, very clean and we had fresh towels daily. There are lovely soaps and shower caps in the room. The spa area is private and very nice with hot/cold showers, a sauna, a Turkish bath (steam room) and jacuzzi which is a spa bath for one. We believed it was for half an hour so I went in for 15minites, but it then drained before my boyfriend had his turn. It was quite cold in the area and there was no water or herbal tea. We weren't shown that the lights dimmed and only realised this after so had our spa session in bright lights! Robes, towels and sandals are provided which is lovely. It did the trick and eased my aching muscles. The hotel itself is well located for the village which is very very pretty - especially with and after the large dump of snow we had on Thursday night. However, give consideration to the distance from the hotel to the slopes when considering the choice of hotel. The cretaz chair lift (fast, covered and comfortable) is a short walk. However the next lift (pancheron) doesn't always work and sometimes opens late and even then it's a trek over to plan maison - especially to get there for 10.00 ski school without being tired. We didn't know there was a red over to plan maison from the top of cretaz (a daunting prospect anyway on the first day) and we had to ski down the very long run 5 then walk a fairish way uphill to the gondola station. This included going up 104 steps. Not easy in ski boots and when it's snowy and icy. However, when it had snowed a lot we could ski almost fully back to the hotel. Red 3 is the quickest route off the mountain and is not difficult for those who feel competent on reds, although it can get a bit chopped up at the end of the day. Blue 5 is the blue route off, but is quite long and can get quite chopped up. All very easy, though, for those who are competent skiers. I would recommend the hotel to those wanting a spacious and very pretty room who don't mind a walk to the gondola station or a bit of a ski over to the main Plan Maison. Whilst we would stay there again, we would probably forego the style and stay at the Petit Palais which is much closer to the gondola station and is fully inclusive. Or maybe one of the hotels up the mountain on red 3 such as the Mon Reve. Eating out is very expensive compared to other nearby resorts so give consideration to this when deciding upon the value for money of each hotel.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lmcosts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Compagnoni Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 189 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is such a fantastic friendly hotel- .It was always very warm and the breakfasts were very generous.Location was right in the middle of one of the pedestrian streets close to the 2 lifts and yes the hotel had heated lockers for ski boots!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Sheena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Found this hotel over Internet. Very fast and helpful E-mail answers from the staff. Fantastic personnel, always willing to help, always smiling. Super location - a couple of minutes from the ski lift and right in the middle of the main street. Very comfortable and cosy junior suite. Felt like at home. Great value for money. Very good spa in the basement. The BEST hot wine in the Cervinia-Zermatt region (out of more than 12 others tested) made by special recipe of the owner. We have enjoyed our stay a lot, and definitely will come back!!! Very special thanks from our family to Valentina, Fernanda, Radika and other members of the hotels staff, who made our stay the most pleasant!

Room Tip: Great junior suite on the 3rd floor! Facing back side and small river. Good view to the mountains. A...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dmitry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Enjoyed the stay with Compagnoni over xmas. Room was very nice & big - this was great as we were staying for a week. The staff were great - very pleasant - despite some of the comments I read on tripadvisor. We only had breakfast one day as we have relatively specific dietary requirements and prefer lunch to breakfast, but if you like continental breakfasts it was very good. They even offered us an early breakfast on the day we were checking out - this was a nice touch.
The location in the town is fantastic. Our room was on the street side, but that didn't keep us awake (Cervinia is not a party town). We literally skied to the door on two days as it had just snowed, but even when there hasn't been recent snow you can still ski to within 20m of the hotel - brilliant. The boot room was great as they have secure lockers for skis & boots - with boot dryers fitted - these come on early in morning so when you go to get boots they are warm.
Used the spa on one day - it was a bit weird in that you book it privately - there were two of us and we therefore were the only ones in there - some people may like that, but we like the social side of chatting to people in the sauna about days skiing etc. There was a sauna, steam room & tropical shower - plenty of room for communal use. The jacuzzi was in reality a bathtub & was an extra €5 on top of the charge for the spa (1 hour). I think the spa should be opened up for communal use for free.
WIFI was €2 for 5 hours (which can be paused) but the speed was extremely slow - I also think this should be free (it is in lots of other hotels I stayed in).
Overall, very good & if I was in Cervinia again I would gladly stay here again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank DublinWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My sister and I arrived to stay here on 23rd December and left the resort on 30th December 2012. The hotel, flights and ski hire/lift passes were booked through Crystal.

I was very impressed by the hotel. As others have said in review the hotel is very centrally located and convenient for the many restaurants, bars and cafes based around the resort. I was not there to ski; but still found enough to do before my sister and I met up in the late afternoons and then later to go out to eat. I was happy enough watching other people skiing the slopes; taking photographs and walking around the immediate area. I found (with the help of the Crystal rep.) that there is a large (25 metre long) community pool based in Valtourneche (three villages further down the valley); which is a short ride away (cost at time of going this year 1.40 euros each way). Swimming pool is contained within the Palazzo del Sport (located within a car parking area off the main road through Valtourneche itself).

I felt comfortable spending time on my own during the day in the resort - I found lots to do and see. Most of the shops do shut for a few hours in the middle of the day - so best to do shopping earlier or later in the day. There is a largish supermarket going out of town on the left hand side.

Overall, I was very pleased with our choice of hotel. As others have said I found the staff very pleasant and welcoming. Senora Missoni really takes care of her guests (as do Valentina on Reception and other staff in the bar, those who looked after our room and the staff who looked after us at breakfast). We left early on the morning of departure (6.30 a.m.) and breakfast was still arranged for us at 6 a.m..

I would be very happy to stay here again; and will try to come back another time (and attempt to have some ski lessons, too!). There is also a 3 km run to ski "langlauf" or "Nordic" if you'd prefer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had our holiday arranged with Crystak Ski, spent 7 nights (16-23 Dec) for a ski holiday in this hotel. It was bed and breakfast with very reasonable price. I was told by the local that the week running to Christmas is considered low season and therefore it was ver good price.

The hotel is located at the main street. This is a very tiny town, two streets parallel to each other, 500m long. So, essentially, as long as the hotel is on any of these streets, you are very close to everything. Like other reviews, you will notice that this hotel is really less than 200m to the chairlifts, 500m to the gondola (bear in mind that you will need to climb up the stairs with about 40 steps, this can be tricky when you have ski boots and ski to carry and this is at high altitude). If you arrive by bus, this hotel is 100m walking from the station. You have to walk out on your ski boots to chairlift or gondola. But you can really ski in back to the hotel.

Upon arrival, you will have to provide your passport for check in. They won't return your passport right away, but don't worry, come back in 30 mins later, they just need it for verification. It is a family run hotel, very quick and friendly check in. You need to give them 20 euro deposit if you want a locked ski locker, this will be refund upon check out. The ski room is at basement.

There are many many ski rental shops on the Main Street, really within 1min walking distance. Restaurants, mini markets, shops are all available on the main streets, very very close by.

We have our room on 3rd flr, almost at the end. We can see the Matterhorn from our windows when the weather is good. The room was very clean, spacious, the bed was very comfortable and they have additional pillow if you need one. There is also a safe in the room, which is helpful. The room is clean everyday with fresh towels. The staffs are so friendly, you can see and feel they really care about your comfort and every aspects you need.

The breakfast is good. They have selection of cereal, egg, sausages, ham, cheese, bread, and fruits. We didn't eat at their restaurant for lunch or dinner, But, we had hot chocolate at the lounge once, it was a Real hot chocolate, highly recommended. The lounge is beautifully decorated, a nice place to chill out in the evening.

Overall, it was an excellent experience, we will go back again when we are at Cervinia next!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Joey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My Girlfriend and I have just come back from an outstanding holiday in Cervinia. We stayed in the Compagnoni hotel from 16-23 Dec 12.
The hotel is in a great location on the main street of the resort so was close to all the bars shops and restaurants. It was also 2 mins walk to the chair lift and 5 mins walk from the gondola and because of recent heavy snowfall it was possible to ski back to hotel.
The Compagnoni was run by Italians and the Staff were very friendly helpful and spoke good English and gave some good tips on where to eat in town.
We stayed in a standard room on the 3rd floor, which was spacious spacious, quiet, beautifully designed, cleaned daily with fresh towels and bedding.
Breakfast consisted of a good selection of bread, meats, cheese, cereal, yoghurts and fruits as well as hot and cold drinks with plenty available, the quality of the individual items was acceptable.
We both thought the ski room was fantastic it had heated lockers, easy access from the back of the hotel.
If I were to think of any minor criticisms they would be that we payed separately for internet but only 2 Euros for 5 hrs so the cost was negligible, more a frustration at having to type in your code every time you log on and having to remember to log out again after, there was a computer in provided in the bar with internet access. Also I thought that the policy of not allowing guests to eat or drink in their own room was unusual, that being said the staff were accommodating in allowing us to eat food from elsewhere in the bar.
Overall a great hotel in a great location would be keen to stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breuil-Cervinia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#11 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#6 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
492 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meuble Gorret
Hotel Meuble Gorret
#10 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miravidi
Hotel Miravidi
#4 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#15 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lyskamm
Hotel Lyskamm
#22 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compagnoni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compagnoni Hotel

Address: Via Carrel Jean Antoine 15, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
#12 Spa Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
Price Range: $175 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Compagnoni Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Da Compagnoni" is located right in the heart of Cervinia, it collects Achille Compagnoni's mountain memorabilia of his conquest to the K2 summit in 1954. Completely refurbished in the last years, it aims to offer his guests a pleasant and relaxing stay: -A cozy bar and comfortable sitting room for a drink -A breakfast room for a rich continental breakfast -A wellness centre with sauna, Turkish bath, emotional showers and jacuzzi -A ski deposit with individual heated lockers -Large and elegant bedrooms decorated in mountain style with a special touch to make your stay unforgettable -Free WI-Fi in the lobby and in all the rooms -Chairlift at about 50 mt. -Cable lift at 5 min. walking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Compagnoni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compagnoni Hotel Breuil Cervinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing