We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food and top-class service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Excelsior Planet
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and top-class service”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our 6th stay at the Excelsior Planet. We were a family group of 9. We continue to be very, very impressed by every aspect of this family-run hotel. My wife and I were in a junior suite, facing the Matterhorn. The room was serviced twice a day and was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The five course evening meals are magnificent in quality, range and presentation, while the wine list is vast. Our party included two children aged 6 & 3 who were treated royally by all the staff.

The breakfasts have been enhanced with home-made jam while cooked breakfasts are also offered. The lounge area with a real log fire and a good bar service is very relaxing.

On one day, every lift in Cervinia was closed due to high winds but Valtournenche was open. The hotel minibus took us there, driven by one of the owners (20 mins & 5km on a winding mountain road) and then collected us in the afternoon. We offered to pay but they refused to take any money since Cervinia was closed. (Incidentally, although it can be windy in Cervinia, this was my first experience of a total closure in nine visits)

I remain surprised that this hotel is only ranked 7th in Cervinia - it really is outstanding. We plan to return again in 2014.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnScott48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIARA Z, Proprietario at Hotel Excelsior Planet, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you, Mr. Scott, for your gratifying review!
Your words are really appreciated by us, because we always try to do our best to make our guests happy and satisfied.
We are looking forward to welcoming you during the next winter season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    69
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
149
140
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is the first time my wife and I stayed at this first class hotel for a week skiing in mid January 2013 although the friends we were with have been five times before, so that says something.
It is a long time since we experienced such service, attention to detail, cleanliness and comfort levels especially when needed in a fairly poor weather week, where the delights of the hotel staff became truly evident. From the cleaner to the owner, they were magnificent and the dinners each night were cleverly thought out and masses to eat. The room was a suite, the bed enormous and so comfortable and everything worked in the room and bathroom. Towels changed several times a day, chocolates on the bedside, taxi service to all points and great restaurant and bar staff.

Room Tip: Ask for the front over the main entrance with the view of the mighty Matterhorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hampshireman1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIARA Z, Proprietario at Hotel Excelsior Planet, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your fabulous review!
It's an honor for us reading your beautiful words which help us to make our job with more passion and more attention. to our guests.
We also hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife I just spent 8 nights at Excelsior Planet in Cervinia. The Zanetti family and their excellent staff made our stay perfect. The location very nere to the chair lift, extremely good weather(not their responsability), very good and comfortable room, excellent housekeeping, very good and full breakfast and sublime dinner, and least but not last the hospitality from every one of the famile and staff made this holiday a special one. No need to mention the twice a day changing of towels, live music by the fireplace, staff at reception, wellness area with massage, and selection of wines in restaurant in ordre to strongly recommend the hotel for a future stay. We will be back!
Yours sincerely
Brandt Family

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

There were four of us that stayed here in January for a week with Crystal. All of us were in a deluxe room which had views of the Matterhorn from the balcony. I'll start by saying that everything is exceptionally clean with new towels twice a day and your bed being turned down whilst you are at dinner. The food is excellent (5 courses) although a little rich and after seven days you crave something plain, but you know what they say about too much of a good thing! Extensive wine list from €15-€500. Great little bar area with a friendly barman, wifi (even in rooms), log fire etc..

Would definitely return here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank allar0undthew0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013

As a developing skills skier this hotel proved to be a great base to be at. The facilities are great, rooms are clean and well kept and the staff are very willing to assist you.
You can get onto the slopes within a short walk and ski back to same place. But if the thought of skiing to a lesson in the first place is tough, then you can ask the hotel driver to run you up to the main gondola station to get yourself to Plan Maison where the ski schools all meet. For 2 euro pp/trip it's worth it!
I also had a massage in the spa facility which was very good and was really pleased that therapist (Francesca) took note of how I was feeling at the start and worked towards making those aches and pains go away gently.
The overwhelming feature of the hotel though is the food. A place definitely for those of a gastronomic persuasion. With a 4/5 course menu every evening to be marvelled over, one can easily put on weight (must ski harder and longer me thinks...) However, if you prefer more simple foods / dishes then you only have to ask and the chef will sort something out for you accordingly.
The staff also pride themselves over their wine stock (which is quite vast) and again are very knowledgeable if you cannot decide what to have.
Overall a great first visit and will definitely come here again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoT-Longshanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is the 4th year in a row we have stayed at this hotel. The location is excellent , only 100m from the first lift in the mornings. The rooms are very clean and all fittings are of a high quality. One of the strengths of this hotel is the staff , many who have been there for years and welcome you on your return. The are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is fantastic with superb meals every evening ( 5 courses if you include cheese. ). The Zanettii family treat you as a member of the family during your stay , and they really do. Will return again next year.

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms which face the Matterhorn rather than the car park , they also have a loun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Our family Christmas holiday at this wonderful hotel in Cervinia exceeded all our expectations. The location is perfect (no more than 50 metres to the nearest chair lift), the food sublime, the spa with its steam room and sauna and jacuzzi and dipping pool a welcome retreat, the rooms very comfortable..... But the attention to every detail by the excellent staff, many of whom have been beem there for years, really sealed this holiday for us. This is a family run hotel, with a convivial and friendly atmosphere, operating at a five star level. Towels are changed twice a day, rooms are tidied and beds are turned down in the evening. We looked forward to the gatherings by the fireplace, the delicious four course meals and the specatacular (and reasonably priced!) wine list every evening....and were never disappointed. We would not hesitate to recommend this excellent hotel to anyone.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breuil-Cervinia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bucaneve
Hotel Bucaneve
#17 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miravidi
Hotel Miravidi
#4 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sertorelli Sport Hotel
Sertorelli Sport Hotel
#11 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meuble Mon Reve
Hotel Meuble Mon Reve
#7 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#14 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Planet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Planet

Property: Hotel Excelsior Planet
Address: Via Planet 1, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
#3 Spa Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
#3 Family Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior Planet 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated, few steps from the pedestrian street and from the ski slopes. 46 rooms mostly with view to the matterhorn and jacuzzi; small pool, sauna, Turkish bath and professional massage. Taste our barman’s cocktails and discover our rich wine list our chef Fabrizio Reffo and his 10 cooks will welcome you with the best regional and national dishes; will be impossible to resist to the dessert buffet prepared by the chef Patissier Elvis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Planet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Planet Hotel
Excelsior Planet Breuil Cervinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing